We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxed stay at bargain prices, staff genuinely friendly” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Angkor Spirit Palace

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Angkor Spirit Palace to your Saves list
Angkor Spirit Palace
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Phneachey Village | SvayDangkom Commune, Siem Reap 2000, Cambodia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #98 of 244 Hotels in Siem Reap
Antwerp, Belgium
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
144 helpful votes 144 helpful votes
“Relaxed stay at bargain prices, staff genuinely friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

What a find for what they ask ! I paid around 15 Euro pool, wifi, airco, breakfast and free tuk tuk rides to airport and city centre !!! Amazing value for money. On top of that the hotel has a beautiful garden and it is very relaxed hanging by the gorgeous pool. The building itself was a former Apsara dance school built with wooden and stone material with local Khmer carvings. It looks antique ! Rooms are modern and are very clean. Airco is OK, the only minor point I found was the shower wich was a bit weak of water but who cares. The best however is its quietness at night, it is at a busy road but at night there is almost no traffic, compared to all the guetshouses in the center, one can have a nice sleep. THe staff are all wonderful, not very well educated in service because their English skills are not very good except for the two recepionists but it all adds to the feeling it is a place where the poor can learn their skills. They try so hard to do their best and will be so sorry if they make a mistake due to their English...Luckily most of the tourist who visit Cambodia can understand this ! Do not have any doubt staying here, yes it is a little outside but by bicycle or free tuk tuk one is in Pub Street in ten minutes only ! And as a plus one can have nice bicycle rides on the countryside where u will be the spectacle of the day ! Thanks to all the staff and hope they will be very successful in the future !

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    218
    106
    27
    5
    4
See reviews for
64
137
49
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Olympia, Washington
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

The architecture is in style of the ruins and is fun to scrutinize. The rooms are good size, spotless and well sound proofed. The restaurant is on the third floor and the last flight of steps was not made for western sized feet, but not impossible. Worth the climb for the serene breakfast.
We had issues with several amenities including the hot water, air conditioner, and safe, but all were quickly repaired by the attentive staff. When there was an issue that could not quickly be resolved, they made arrangements to make us comfortable.
The temperate pool is set in a extended garden and has a nice bit of a deep section. They seldom remember pool towels and need a basket in which to deposit them.
This hotel is very family friendly with grounds where kids can run around.
Because it is a bit out of the central hubbub the hotel keeps several tuck-tucks on hand to ferry you back and forth to town for free. We chose to pay the slight fee for a tuck-tuck for our excursions to the Ankgor Wat sites as well as other side trips. The fee is about $15 a day, more if you go a long distance. $27 was the most we paid for a day of six or seven hours. We ended up with Be as our driver and he was wonderful! He had communication skills in English, knew the area including restaurants well, had sense of humor, and made our six day stay much more enjoyable. He is an asset for the hotel and worth asking for.

Room Tip: I liked being downstairs close to the pool, but the backside may have had less traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

I absolutely loved this hotel - by far my favourite in Cambodia. The staff are amazing, so friendly and the hotel is beautiful. It is by far the best value for money hotel i've ever stayed in. I would highly recommend he Angkor to anyone staying in Siem Reap.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

Let's start with the few negatives. Angkor Spirit Palace needs some updating. There were some stains on the wall from what appeared to be a fixed roof leak. The place was a bit dusty, but the rooms were clean. The shower was missing a sliding door which caused some water to cover the bathroom floor. The furniture was a bit outdated, but we were not looking for modern luxury comforts. The hotel exterior and surrounding has a beautiful charm to it, and we enjoyed exploring the hotel almost as much as the temples! The pool was also very clean and was refreshing after a hot day of exploring around Siem Reap.

The staff were extremely helpful and greeted you every time you passed by. Breakfast is included, the fruit and yogurt were amazing (I have a very sensitive stomach and did not have any problems with anything I ate here). There is a free tuk-tuk pick up from the airport, also until 10 pm, a tuk-tuk driver will take you to and from the town which takes about 10 to 15 minutes. One of the drivers, Mr. Bea, also took us by tuk-tuk, for the whole day to Angkor Wat, Ta Prohm, Bayon, Killing Fields, and a few other places. I'm not sure how much a tour would have cost, but all we needed was transportation as we have books. Wi-fi was not too bad!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

People make a place and the staff at Angkor Spirit Palace hotel couldn't have been more delightful. I don't think Mr. Sochea, the manager, ever slept. He certainly always seemed to be there, smiling, no matter what happened (a power outage one evening for example). The sweet, kind breakfast staff couldn't do enough for you. I arrived with my ipad and the attendant rushed to find an extra chair so I didn't have to clutter the table while I was eating. Everyone spoke a bit of English and even if they didn't, they so clearly just wanted to help that a little non verbal communication went a long way.

The location of this hotel is actually quite a bit outside the town of Siem Reap and that's a good thing! It made it more of an oasis and since the hotel provided tuk-tuk transport to town anytime we needed it, it was the best of both worlds. They also arranged for drivers and guides and tours as needed, very concerned for customer satisfaction. And there's a pool! A good one! Is there anything better than a swim after hours spent in awe and dust inside temples?

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kanpur
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

Angkor Spirit Palace exceeded the expectations by leaps and bounds. This is a very peaceful hotel just outside the city, not so far from it at the same time. The amount of greenery in the campus is amazing. It is perfect and most ideal to relax and rest after having spent a really tiring day at the Angkor Archaeological Park. Touring the temples can be really tiring as they are huge and there are a number of stairs that need to be climbed, which makes it all the more important and required that the hotel be nice and quiet. Angkor Spirit Palace is all of these. Not very far from the airport too. Takes about 20 minutes by tuktuk. Almost the same time to reach Angkor Archaeological Wat.

Room Tip: Room numbers 106-109, on the side of the swimming pool are amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

My family of five stayed here and loved it. The pool is superb after a day of temple hopping or sight seeing. Food is great and the staff are very helpful friendly.
Far enough from the rat race for some peace but a short tuk tuk into the main part.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Angkor Spirit Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Angkor Spirit Palace

Address: Phneachey Village | SvayDangkom Commune, Siem Reap 2000, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#64 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
#73 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Angkor Spirit Palace 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Angkor Spirit Palace is a uniquely styled hotel featuring traditional Khmer architecture. It is close to downtown, the temples and airport. You won't be able to resist taking pictures of the building. Relax in our tropical gardens, swim in our saltwater pool and enjoy Khmer hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HostelBookers and HostelWorld so you can book your Angkor Spirit Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Angkor Spirit Palace Hotel Siem Reap
Angkor Spirit Palace Siem Reap

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Angkor Spirit Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.