We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay at Anantara Ankor” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Anantara Angkor Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Anantara Angkor Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Anantara Angkor Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   National Road No. 6 | Khum Svay Dangkom, Siem Reap 17252, Cambodia (Formerly The Sothea)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Early Bird, Save 20%!
Ranked #11 of 244 Hotels in Siem Reap
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Wonderful stay at Anantara Ankor”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I rarely leave reviews on TA, out of laziness more than anything else, if I be totally honest. However, our recent stay at Anantara Ankor was so wonderful, I thought I would do it this time. It is a beautiful hotel in a somewhat understated way and its slightly out-of-town location gives it a real sense of peace and serenity. It made a lovely change to have breakfast freshly cooked to order each day, rather than the heaps of standard fare that you could get anywhere. As it was low season, I had the pool pretty much to myself on most days. From arrival to departure, the staff were incredibly attentive and organised all our tours, little evening trips into town and restaurant reservations. Siem Reap is one of the most fascinating places we have ever been to and I must also mention the amazing food. We are already planning our return trip next year, which will most definitely include Anantara Ankor!

Room Tip: We found the Anantara suite absolutely perfect for us. It didn't have a balcony, which didn'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    218
    26
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
61
103
16
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I just left Anantara Siem Rep to continue my holiday in Bangkok. Staff are very friendly and greet my family by name and made me fell very friendly. And they gave lots of traveling advice to us. I booked a full day tour to Angkor Wat temple and 2 other temples in hotel. But after the early morning tour to Angkor, my daughter felt tired and I have to cancel the afternoon tour. But staff are very helpful and only charge us half day charges without any issue. Swimming pool is good. Environment is nice.
The only less satisfied point I had was the breakfast was bit overcharged at US$60 for breakfast for 3 as my room rate not covering breakfast. This price for a nice dinner in good restaurant is around US$60-80 for family of 3. Besides, there were mosquito in room that was very annoying and caused some bits to my little daughter.
Raymond

Room Tip: Bring anti-mosquito spray is important in Cambodia.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I can only share other peoples comments that this is an outstanding hotel by all definition. Great professional management, fabulous rooms with separate rooms for the bath, shower and toilet. It just oozes confidence and style. Perhaps for such a small hotel its not a good idea to offer a smallish buffet breakfast - let people order individually. The location is on the main Airport road so is hot and dusty. Dont let these 2 minor gripes put you off, i recommend this hotel to all that visit Siem Reap.

Room Tip: Choose Ground Floor Rooms With Sit Out
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel has arranged to pick us up from the airport. It was not just any ordinary airport transfer service. We were impressed with the driver and the services offered the moment we stepped into the car. He offered us cold towel to clean our hands and a variety of refreshing drinks to choose from.

When we arrived at the hotel, the Front Desk staff & manager were very attentive. Even though it was hours away from our check-in time, the manager has kindly checked us in at 9am and allowed us to have a good rest noting that we must have got up early to catch the 2 hours flight to Siem Reap, We were very appreciative of their kind gesture.

We thoroughly enjoyed the attentive services provided be it to arrange for site seeing tours, transport to visit the town, restaurant bookings, and even when we chilled around by the pool.

Every hotel staff is well trained to provide excellent service and sweet smiles to their guests. Keep it up! :)).

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin P, General Manager at Anantara Angkor Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Dear Sueleetoh1,

Warm greetings from the Kingdom of Wonder.

We appreciate your time in sharing your experience with us and the Tripadvisor community. I am always proud to read about the special levels of care and attention our wonderful team strives to provide.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

With best regards,

Justin J. Pitt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

my husband and i spent a really impressive vocation in anantara. It was our second time to choose anantara spa & resort. Since our travel agent had noticed the hotel that it is our honey moon this time, anantara gave us a suprising decoration at the first night, with champagne and tasty chocolate cake.

Breakfast is so good here: various choices with Khmer soup noodles, egg bar, fruit juice, breads, yogurts, etc. All the foods are fresh and cooked well. And we slept well every quiet night with the chirping of some insects. ( but do not open the window after mid-day cuz such a lot of mosquitos in Angkor)

The hotel also provides free Tuk tuk to the city town, which is so convient to get there.

The service here is wonderful. All the staffs here will remember your favorites and plan clearly, which makes me feel warm. Also, they will try to solve any problem u have and their suggestions are helpful. I will still choose Anantara next time.

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin P, General Manager at Anantara Angkor Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Dear Didizhong,

Thank you for your feedback shared with the Tripadvisor community about your recent honeymoon stay with us.

We are very pleased you have chosen our hotel and that we could make your celebration and memorable one.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel very soon.

Best regards,

Justin J. Pitt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed at Anantara for 5 nights in April. All the reviews on Trip Advisor are glowing for Anantara and we would have to agree with them. We were travelling with a two year old, so had special 'needs/considerations' and the Anantara still measured up, despite not being positioned as a 'family hotel'.

- The rooms are very big and aren't overcrowded once a cot is added, the king sized bed was very comfortable and there is a lovely ornate bath for bathtimes. The balcony affords a quiet space overlooking the pool for evenings once the little one is asleep.
- A big worry when travelling with kids is their food. Though no kids menu, the restaurant was happy to serve half portions and they also provided steamed rice and steamed veges for our toddler when she was 'sharing' our meal. Though breakfast was for two, they were generous to provide enough for our toddler.
- Overall, the food at Anantara is excellent. We dined out regularly in recommended restaurants, but have to say that the food at the hotel was consistently better. Excellent Amok Fish, pork ribs and yellow noodles. The western dishes we tried were also excellent.
- The resort is really beautiful, peaceful and serene. The pool is exquisite and was perfect for quiet and relaxing afternoons.
- The service is very friendly. Upon arrival we were greeted with 'welcome home' which set the tone for our stay. The Anantara provided some little extras to us that made our stay more relaxed and special. Some we asked for and some they proactively provided. All were much appreciated and made a difference to our holiday.
- Complimentary return Tuk Tuk each day is a great service. One driver kindly took the long route home one night so we could see the buzzing night market and drive along the river. Another night they sent a car instead, as it had started to rain. We felt well taken care of and were made to feel the hotel and staff were thinking about us and our comfort at all times.

Room Tip: For families with young children, the rooms with the additional outdoor shower have frosted glass do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin P, General Manager at Anantara Angkor Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Dear Caragh,


Thank you for your feedback about the Anantara Angkor Resort & Spa.

We are pleased to learn about your experiences with us and such positive praise will surely further inspire the team to take the extra step in servicing our guests.

We hope to welcome you back to the hotel and the Kingdom of Wonder very soon.


Best regards,


Justin J. Pitt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enfield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My wife and I always have our reservations about any hotel before we really arrive there and experience the property. Anantara Angkor has exceeded our expectations in respect to all facilities, especially the hospitality, food, spa, swimming pool. The management went further and put things right for us with the mistakes made by our travel agent. We were looked after as part of the family and one do feel at home.

Room Tip: We were given ground floor room close to reception and the pool and so very convenient for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin P, General Manager at Anantara Angkor Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Dear Chrysantha T,


Warm greetings from the Anantara Angkor Resort & Spa.


Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences with us, we are happy to learn your time in the hotel and The Kingdom of Wonder was so enjoyable.

We hope our paths cross again and please do contact me for any assistance required.


With best regards,


Justin J. Pitt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Anantara Angkor Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anantara Angkor Resort & Spa

Address: National Road No. 6 | Khum Svay Dangkom, Siem Reap 17252, Cambodia (Formerly The Sothea)
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Siem Reap
#6 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
#7 Spa Hotel in Siem Reap
#11 Business Hotel in Siem Reap
#14 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Anantara Angkor Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just moments from the International Airport & Angkor Wat Complex, Anantara Angkor Resort & Spa is an exclusive retreat, in the style of a Royal Khmer villa, with exquisite rooms and suites overlooking a beautiful courtyard and freshwater pool inspired by ancient royalty. Gain a rich taste of our captivating destination with signature Khmer spa, dining and cooking class journeys in the luxurious surrounds of our resort, and take advantage of Siem Reaps most largest, luxuriously appointed bedrooms. Step behind the tourist scenes and delve into Cambodia's cultural treasures. Investigate vibrant markets on a private tour with our Streetwise Guru. Discover the age old local life and French colonial influences of Siem Reap and the legends of Angkor Wat from knowledgeable local guides, or savor a relaxing picnic in Angkor Thom's historic grounds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Anantara Angkor Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alila Sothea Hotel Siem Reap

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anantara Angkor Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.