We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite good place close proximity to Angkor Wat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Anantara Angkor Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Anantara Angkor Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Anantara Angkor Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   National Road No. 6 | Khum Svay Dangkom, Siem Reap 17252, Cambodia (Formerly The Sothea)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Early Bird, Save 20%!
Ranked #10 of 232 Hotels in Siem Reap
DC
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Quite good place close proximity to Angkor Wat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

This is a very nice hotel near Angkor Wat, city center and close to Siem Reap International airport. It was a very short stay of three days for a business seminar but really worth of everything. I enjoyed the place very well.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    18
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
34
75
11
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
roma
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Spacious and elegant suite, lovely swimming pool but especially an uncomparable service and customer care better than a 5+++ hotel. From the general manager to the housekeeping every one was taking care of us. Spent 2 nights of our honey moon here and they just made it really special. If you come to Siem Reap , whatever is the reason, this is the place to be. No doubts.

Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

Stayed here with friends at the start of our IndoChina tour. We were collected from the airport by a delightful lady from the hotel who gave us a full breakdown of facilities on our short trip to the Anantara. Staff at this resort are faultless but a little too attentive sometimes. Breakfast was an amazing feast and we also had one evening meal during our 3 day stay which was very delicious. We hired a guide through the hotel for our visits to Ankor Wat, his name was Han. Don't hesitate to ask for him as he was one of the best guides we have ever had. Superb information, extremely polite and very entertaining.
This Anantara is under new management, literally the day we arrived, and I am sure it will soon be perfect, but during our stay we had issues with the safe and air conditioning. Eventually we were moved to another room, just a bit annoying considering the quality and cost of the resort. Our thanks go to all the staff who enhanced our stay.

Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

A true boutique hotel close to all amenities. The service was very attentive and the room large and great.
Very helpful employees.
The chocolate croissants in the morning are a must to have.
It's definitely a place to come back.

Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We took a flight from Kuala Lumpur at 6.50am and we only had 4 hours of sleep. We were tired but upon arrival at Anantara Angkor around 9 am, we were warmly welcomed by the hotel staff and Peter (operations manager). The hotel staff immediately checked whether our room was ready and we were allowed to check in despite being early.

We stayed for 4 nights at this hotel. The hotel staff were extremely warm, attentive and helpful. Arrangements to visit the night market with tuk-tuk and cruise to" floating village" through the hotel was done with ease. For the "floating village" cruise, the driver of Tuk Tuk (who is also a hotel staff) accompanied us all the way for the entire cruise and we felt "safe" as we heard of scams by local operators at the floating village. Instantly, we knew that all of us are in good hands. Very thoughtful of the hotel staff.

Restaurant arrangements plus booking prior to arrival in the city as recommended by staff was good and efficient. A table was reserved for us already the moment we stepped in despite the large crowd.

Room is quiet, cozy, clean and comfortable. Stayed on the ground floor which was easily accessible to the pool side for my kids. Overall, we enjoyed our holiday and we hope to visit Anantara Angkor in the near future. My compliments is extended to all the staff of Anantara Angkor. Special thanks to Peter, Chris, Justin, Ms Soviet, Polly, Venky and Fung for their hospitality.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We stayed 3 nights at Anantara Angkor and we loved it, a nice boutique style hotel with around 30 rooms.
The establishment looks very new, has a luxurious colonial style architecture and a relaxed atmosphere, exactly what we were looking for when visiting Siem Reap.
The Hotel is conveniently located between airport, city center and most of Temples. Anantara offers a complementary and very convenient tuk tuk service to/from city center, the tuk tuk's are owned by the hotel and the drivers dressed in hotel uniform, a truly limousine tuk tuk service that we found very convenient, fun and enjoyable.
We found the rooms comfortable and well appointed, they are decorated in a colonial style with a small balcony facing the pool, rooms are spacious and quiet, beds have good linen, feather topper mattress and feather pillows (the below mattress is quite hard for my taste, for others may be just perfect).
Besides the nice bathroom with french windows opening to the bedroom, a shower, vintage tub and separate cubicle there is also an inviting outdoor rain shower that we didn't use due to lack of time.
The rooms are also equipped with a good size Samsung flat screen TV and DVD player, small fridge, safe, daybeds and coffee table, chairs at the balconies, etc...
We found the service extremely attentive, non intrusive and very helpful, good English from front desk staff to tuk tuk drivers (we did not have any language issues), on the second day most of the staff knew our names and they were always ready to please and make our stay enjoyable, buffet breakfast with not too many choices but good, there is no q's, croissants are crispy like in France and your choice of eggs served on your table. First morning we left very early for sunrise Temple viewing (at 5am) and they surprised us with a nice complimentary breakfast picnic basket, that was a very nice treat. We also had dinner one night, outdoor BBQ theme dinner with Cambodian dancers and we found it quite good and enjoyable. The Management is doing a very good job here and we truly recommend Anantara Angkor to everyone.

Room Tip: I would chose the rooms at first floor, only premium rooms have outdoor showers and they are a bit m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Beautiful hotel, nicely designed rooms, lovely Spa, but above all; Great staff. All of them are friendly and attentive. We have spent 2 days visiting the Ankor Wat area with a Tuktuk driver from the hotel, who were both very nice. The Operations Manager Peter arranged a late check out after het learned we had a late flight. Would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Anantara Angkor Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anantara Angkor Resort & Spa

Address: National Road No. 6 | Khum Svay Dangkom, Siem Reap 17252, Cambodia (Formerly The Sothea)
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Siem Reap
#7 Spa Hotel in Siem Reap
#9 Business Hotel in Siem Reap
#14 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
#22 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Anantara Angkor Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just moments from the International Airport & Angkor Wat Complex, Anantara Angkor Resort & Spa is an exclusive retreat, in the style of a Royal Khmer villa, with exquisite rooms and suites overlooking a beautiful courtyard and freshwater pool inspired by ancient royalty. Gain a rich taste of our captivating destination with signature Khmer spa, dining and cooking class journeys in the luxurious surrounds of our resort, and take advantage of Siem Reaps most largest, luxuriously appointed bedrooms. Step behind the tourist scenes and delve into Cambodia's cultural treasures. Investigate vibrant markets on a private tour with our Streetwise Guru. Discover the age old local life and French colonial influences of Siem Reap and the legends of Angkor Wat from knowledgeable local guides, or savor a relaxing picnic in Angkor Thom's historic grounds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Anantara Angkor Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alila Sothea Hotel Siem Reap

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anantara Angkor Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.