We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel, attentative and helpful staff, excellence service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Anantara Angkor Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Anantara Angkor Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Anantara Angkor Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   National Road No. 6 | Khum Svay Dangkom, Siem Reap 17252, Cambodia (Formerly The Sothea)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Early Bird, Save 20%!
Ranked #11 of 244 Hotels in Siem Reap
Shanghai, China
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Beautiful hotel, attentative and helpful staff, excellence service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

Stayed with this hotel for our spring break with my wife and 2 kids. The décor and overall environment is very nice, as it is fairly new hotel.

The location is not exactly downtown of Siem Reap (about 3-4K away from night market/pub street etc), however, given their complimentary Tuk-tuk service to restaurants downtown, the distant wasn't an issue at all. In fact, the hotel's Tuk-tuk is much newer and cleaner than the ones you find one the street. The driver is also hotel staff, so gave us peace of mind we won't be ripped off. It is the kids highlight to ride of tuktuk every day. The location is actually a plus for us as I prefer a more quite environment away from the hustle.

On the day of departure, the hotel's guest relationship manager arranged late check out for us (without us asking).

The staff is certainly the highlight here, as we were swimming at the pool, the staff will bring us cold water and fruit skewers as refreshment (free of charge). First time ever.

Breakfast has good selection , though the onsite restaurant Sothea is so so for dinner. I already expected higher price for 4-5star hotels, but had expected a much better food quality. As it turns out, it was one of the less "tasty" dinner we had. Certainly stay away from the beef, super chewy.

Overall, I would highly recommend to stay with Anantara, though would avoid their restaurant next time.

Room Tip: The ground level rooms are awesome as they have a balcony that connects to water fountain that you c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Socrates_Alvaro, General Manager at Anantara Angkor Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 6, 2014
Dear Guests,

Chum Reap Sou!

Thank you for taking your valuable time to share your experience of Anantara Angkor Resort & Spa and I am delighted that you had a wonderful stay.

Your recognition of our team's effort is most valued. Our team always strives to ensure that we take care of your specific needs and that we are able to contribute to a lovely holiday

I note your feedback on the culinary front and this is most useful indeed. Overall, we receive very good feedback and in particular the Khmer cuisine that we offer. I am sorry that we were not able to provide a memorable dining experience on this occasion but will work with our Chef to ensure that we do better

Our location is certainly ideal, not in the middle of the hustle and bustle but close enough whenever you wish to visit the Old Market, Pub Street and surrounding areas.

Thank you for choosing to stay at Anantara Angkor Resort and Spa and should you have future plans for return visit, please feel free to contact me directly

Warm regards

Socrates
Socrates Alvaro
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    217
    26
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
60
103
16
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

Our families stayed at Anatara resort for 4 nights. We had an awesome stay.

The service received throughout our stay was great. The guest relations manager looked after us really well and she was really approachable and friendly. Her Restaurants recommendations were all really high standard and delicious :)

Anantara resort also does really good lunch :) their orange blossom chicken salad is refreshing and flavoursome. Their lunch buffet offers an excellent range of breakfast options- which was great :)

I have to speak highly of the spa treatments we received. It was Top quality. 6 of us went to the spa, each of us came out of the spa treatment with very positive feedback.

Very spacious and nicely designed room. We Highly recommended this resort to everyone !!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Socrates_Alvaro, General Manager at Anantara Angkor Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Dear Guests,

Chum Reap Sou!

Warm greetings from Anantara Angkor Resort & Spa

Thank you for taking the time to share your wonderful experience here in our resort.

With so many choices available for dining, I am pleased that you enjoyed the culinary offering of our resort and indeed our talented Khmer Culinary brigade.

We are pleased that our personal recommendation for outside dining worked out well.

Our spa team will be delighted to receive your feedback and certainly the therapist provide exceptional spa experience.

Please feel free to personally refer any of your colleagues/friends/family directly and I will ensure that we provide the warmest of hospitality and welcome

Thank you for choosing Anantara Angkor Resort & Spa

Warm regards

Socrates
Socrates Alvaro
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

Upon check in to the hote, l was very well received by the front office staff presented with a nice bunch of lotus flowers to show it's warm hospitality!

Staff are very friendly and attentive to answer my enquiries and helpful to ensure my needs are met.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Socrates_Alvaro, General Manager at Anantara Angkor Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your valuable time in sharing your experience with us.

I am delighted that our team created a memorable experience for you during your recent visit.

Thank you for your recognition of the service and warmth provided by our resort team and that we were able to create a lovely stay for you

Should you have any future plans for a return visit, feel free to contact me directly and it will be my pleasure to welcome you back

Warm regards

Socrates
Socrates Alvaro
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

I have stayed in this hotel and was really impressed with the staff and the spacious rooms they have to offer. swimming pool is great and service is very good. I would for sure stay there again if i had the chance to go back to Siem Reap.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Socrates_Alvaro, General Manager at Anantara Angkor Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Dear Guests,

Chum Reap Sou!

Thank you for taking the time to share your valuable feedback here on trip Advisor.

I am pleased to learn that you had a lovely stay here at Anantara Angkor Resort & Spa and that you enjoyed in particular the beautiful and elegant rooms we have situated around our lovely swimming pool.

Your comment will be shared with our team and thank you for choosing to stay with us

Please feel free to contact me directly for future return visit to this great destination

Kind regards

Socrates
Socrates Alvaro
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

I have to say that we had a very pleasant surprise as we had never been to Siem Reap and we didn't know what to expect but what we discover was a very beautiful hotel with an incredible soul that almost motives you to stay there and write a book. The rooms had a lot of personality and the size was great. The staff like almost everywhere in Camboddia are incredible friendly and they can make everything possible as it seems that nothing is to much. We meet the GM several times as he seem to everywhere making sure that we had a good stay. Food was great specially in the first day went we had dinner at the khmer restaurant what was great to taste Khmer food.

Room Tip: If you have a GHA Loyalty card thsi will get you WIFI and and better service
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Socrates_Alvaro, General Manager at Anantara Angkor Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Dear Guests,

Chum Reap Sou!

On behalf of the resort team and I, thank you for sharing your wonderful experience here at Anantara Angkor Resort & Spa.

We are very proud of the lovey. elegant and most spacious rooms here at Anantara Angkor Resort & Spa, but most important of all, I am pleased that our team met your expectation relating to service and that we took care of your stay with their heartfelt hospitality

Our culinary team in particular would be very pleased to learn of your experience and feedback on the Khmer cuisine on offer

Please do provide my contact for any of your colleagues or friends that wish to travel to lovely destination and should you plan a return visit, it would be my pleasure to welcome you back

Kind regards

Socrates
Socrates Alvaro
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

I recently traveled to Siem Reap solo and chose to stay at the Anantara. It was the best decision. I have traveled across the world and stayed in all top luxury hotels so I know what high level service is and the Anantara delivered on every single front. The staff was excellent, the rooms were beautiful and comfortable.. Most have private pools which was delightful. The hotel is in a great location.. 10 min from airport and 10 min from central. Furthermore, the guest services manager Olivia gave me a personal welcome and added a wonderful personal touch to the entire experience. This is the place to stay in Siem Reap!!!

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms all have sliding doors out to private pools and then the larger hotel pool. Simpl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Socrates_Alvaro, General Manager at Anantara Angkor Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Dear Guests,

Chum Reap Sou!

Thank you for your wonderful feedback on Trip Advisor.

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for choosing Anantara Angkor Resort & Spa as your retreat of choice here in Siem Reap.

I am pleased to read that you had a most memorable stay with us and that our resort associates were able to deliver your expectation and more

Your comments will be shared with our team

My best wishes

Socrates
Socrates Alvaro
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014 via mobile

We're checking out today and just wanted to say we had the best time staying at the hotel! The hotel staff could do nothing more. Our lovely room complimentary upgrade was really well received, as well as the champagne and chocolates! There's a complimentary tuk-tuk to the town and back which is useful. Feel totally relaxed! Thank you!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Socrates_Alvaro, General Manager at Anantara Angkor Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Dear Guests,

Chum Reap Sou!

Thank you for your lovely comment and for taking the time to share your experience here at Anantara Angkor Resort & Spa

The resort team and I are delighted that we were able to contribute to your holiday and make it a memorable one.

Thank you for recognizing the service our team provides and it is our pleasure to have hosted you in Siem Reap.

Please free to contact me directly for future requirements

Warm regards

Socrates
Socrates Alvaro
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Anantara Angkor Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anantara Angkor Resort & Spa

Address: National Road No. 6 | Khum Svay Dangkom, Siem Reap 17252, Cambodia (Formerly The Sothea)
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
#6 Luxury Hotel in Siem Reap
#7 Spa Hotel in Siem Reap
#12 Business Hotel in Siem Reap
#14 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Anantara Angkor Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just moments from the International Airport & Angkor Wat Complex, Anantara Angkor Resort & Spa is an exclusive retreat, in the style of a Royal Khmer villa, with exquisite rooms and suites overlooking a beautiful courtyard and freshwater pool inspired by ancient royalty. Gain a rich taste of our captivating destination with signature Khmer spa, dining and cooking class journeys in the luxurious surrounds of our resort, and take advantage of Siem Reaps most largest, luxuriously appointed bedrooms. Step behind the tourist scenes and delve into Cambodia's cultural treasures. Investigate vibrant markets on a private tour with our Streetwise Guru. Discover the age old local life and French colonial influences of Siem Reap and the legends of Angkor Wat from knowledgeable local guides, or savor a relaxing picnic in Angkor Thom's historic grounds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, HotelTravel.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Anantara Angkor Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alila Sothea Hotel Siem Reap

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anantara Angkor Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.