We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden treasure in siem reap” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sonalong Boutique Village & Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Sonalong Boutique Village & Resort to your Saves list
Sonalong Boutique Village & Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Street 27 | Wat Bo Village, Sala Kamreuk, Siem Reap, Cambodia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Direct Booking Offer
Ranked #48 of 244 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Hidden treasure in siem reap”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here for 3 nights over a weekend and had an amazing time.
The staff were extremely courteous and always on hand to help with anything we needed.
The hotel itself is absolutely beautiful. When you first walk in, you only get a glimpse of the amazing surroundings. To reach your room you walk through beautiful well kept trees and greenery. The rooms are very clean and have all the amenities you need.
All in all, we would recommend this hotel to anyone looking to spend quality time in siem reap. We will definitely be sending our friends here if they visit.

Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    235
    108
    20
    3
    1
See reviews for
74
145
39
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
194 helpful votes 194 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

'Wow' was the only word each person in our group repeated as we entered through the gate to this lovely property. Lush, green plants and trees, beautiful flowers, nice pool and outdoor restaurant, private balconies with two storey bungalow buildings all situated in a very serene setting in the busy city of Siem Reap. We were welcomed by the owner Mr. Hak and some of his staff, who brought us cold face cloths and glasses of orange juice. What a nice touch especially after a long day of travel to get there!

We spent three nights here while visiting the temples and local area highlights. It was about a 15-20 minute ride in good traffic to the gate of Angkor Watt and a 10 minute walk into the main market and restaurant/bar areas. There were always a few tuk tuks waiting outside the hotel entrance to take us anywhere we wanted to go.

The rooms were large with nice beds (mattresses were on the hard side though) and very clean. Daily bottles of water were supplied and an extra stock of soft drinks and more water was in the room fridge for purchase. The AC worked well with the overhead fan and the balcony was very private to relax on after a day of sightseeing. We also took advantage of the beautiful pool and went in for a dip and swim daily.

The included breakfast had both Western foods and local dishes to choose from on the two sided menu which featured everything from eggs and fruit to noodles and rice. We enjoyed everything that we ordered and were very satisfied. We also had one evening meal here and it too was very good but later in the night when there were only a couple of staff working so it took longer than we anticipated to get our food. The other evenings we walked to the market area where there is no shortage of very good restaurants and ate out to try some different options.

Our only issue with our room was a slow flushing toilet that plugged up a couple of times. When we reported it, the maintenance staff came prepared with the plunger. It worked for a day then not even water could be flushed without it almost spilling over. The same happened with the shower not draining properly on a couple of occasions and the water spilled into the main bathroom. It too got plunged and then worked well. We were on the second floor and had been told that it seems common. Our daughter stayed in a room on the ground floor and had no problems with the toilet or shower draining. The staff were very friendly, helpful and efficient in meeting our requests and serving at the restaurant.

All in all, I would definitely recommend the Sonalong Boutique Hotel, and given the opportunity, we'd stay here again!

Room Tip: check the toilet and shower (maybe the AC too as some didn't work so well for our group) to ensu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siem Reap
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This boutique hotel was referred by a friend. The hotel has a set of 10 villas with two units per villa. The gardens are beautiful with mature trees and orchids and all the plants and tree are labelled. There is a beautiful fish pond with fish food available to you can stop on the bridge and feed the fish on your way in or out. The breakfast was delicious and had a good variety of food. The staff were lovely and the manager was on hand to offer any assistance.

Room Tip: Upper floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siem Reap, Cambodia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here for 4 days during the power cuts in Siem Reap. An amazing oasis with wonderful separate rooms and beautiful garden. The staff was lovely and all the food and drink very reasonably priced. Will be staying here many times in the future. A great place. The best thing is they had power while Siem Reap was dark. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff. Great pool as well.

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton & Waikato Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here for three nights and were so pleased we made this choice (after a friend recommended it). We stayed in an upstairs room with a balcony and great chairs that fully reclined. The room had a safe, tv, amenities such as shower gel, shampoo, conditioner, dental kit, shower cap and soap. The water heater in the bathroom meant that we needed to leave a few minutes between us showering so that we could both have hot showers but this wasn't a major issue. The shower was huge and had a rain shower head attached. We were also supplied two 500ml bottles of water complimentary each day. The minibar was also well stocked and very reasonably priced. While our air conditioning didn't cool as well as I would have expected there was a fan to turn on which helped to distribute the cooler air, which was fine. The bed was on the firm side but after a day of being out in the heat I hardly noticed.

The staff were all super friendly and attentive. We made use of the pool bar and the restaurant and enjoyed our meals and drinks. We thought the food was fantastic at the hotel. Breakfast was included in the room rate and ranged from pancakes to omelettes (I saw that some guests from Asia had Asian style breakfasts such as noodles so the hotel seems to be very flexible in catering for different nationalities tastes in breakfasts). The pool area was beautiful, nice and close to the rest of the hotel but quite private. It was cleaned daily and there were plenty of loungers. It was a welcome treat to beat the heat. As other reviews have said it's an easy 10 minute walk into the markets/pub street. Or you can take one of the tuktuks ($2). Considering it's so close to the town centre it was very quiet and private. I would definitely recommend this place and stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights while in Siem Reap, big and clean room. Staff is very friendly! Gorgeous lush grounds and great pool area! Hotel is very close (8min walk) to old market and Pub Street! Great value for price! Truly recommend!

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Very nice hotel in the center of a big en noisy city. The rooms are good, a little aged. Very beautiful garden. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Nice coctails in the poolbar. I would gladly stay again in this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sonalong Boutique Village & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonalong Boutique Village & Resort

Address: Street 27 | Wat Bo Village, Sala Kamreuk, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#25 Business Hotel in Siem Reap
#33 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
#35 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sonalong Boutique Village & Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Run by a friendly khmer manager who speaks excellent English, Sonalong Village is situated in a quiet area within walking distance of the main shops, restaurants and Old Market area in Siem Reap and just 15 minutes drive from the International Airport and the Ankor Temple complex. Surrounded by beautiful flowery tropical gardens there are 8 double and 8 twin rooms, each with free Wifi, shower, A/C, ceiling fans, mini bar and private balcony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Sonalong Boutique Village & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonalong Boutique Village And Resort
Sonalong Boutique Village Hotel Siem Reap

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sonalong Boutique Village & Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.