We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gracious, helpful, delightful staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ta Som Guesthouse

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Ta Som Guesthouse to your Saves list
Ta Som Guesthouse
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   268, National Road Number 6, Siem Reap 63000, Cambodia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #101 of 231 Hotels in Siem Reap
Dallas, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Gracious, helpful, delightful staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2010

Accommodations here are simple but very clean, conveniently located and staffed by a family who radiates "welcome, and what can we do to make your stay wonderful". We were arriving on my husband's birthday which I had indicated in an e-mail to Meng, the owner. When we arrived he had arranged for a beautiful little cake which the staff presented singing Happy Birthday in English, plus the room had flowers and balloons. We took advantage of the very reasonably priced 3 day Tour Package through the hotel -- the Guide was very knowledgeable and accommodating to our wishes and questions, the tuk tuk transportation was fun being close to everything with unobstructed views, and the tours were comprehensive. In the small cafe on site there was choice for the included breakfast and we had 2 well prepared with fresh ingredients, low cost meals there. To top all this off we were invited to their large family and friends New Year's Eve celebration/party. These wonderful people made our Cambodia experience a personal highlight.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    83
    20
    5
    3
See reviews for
16
77
30
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2010

Nice hotel with friendly staff and good food. Prices are good too.
Slightly out of the main town but only 10 min walk to the busy centre.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2010

Ta Som is a lovely place to stay. Conveniently located near the market hub and even Angkor is a tuktuk ride away ( Ask for Mr Wanda) The place i think is government affiliated , as the bus from the border drops you directly at the guest house. The manager/owner is hospitable and helpful and guided us during our stay. The rooms are bright and airy with large attached bathrooms. We enjoyed our stay here.

  • Stayed December 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2010

When we first arrived, there were some confusion with pick up from airport and they didn't realise it until we called them. The staff at the guesthouse (mainly family members) more than made up for the confusion. They were friendly and very helpful. Food at the restaurant was good. The accommodation is basic and very clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendal
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2010

A real gem of a guesthouse. Great value for money, nice clean rooms, friendly staff and a really good location. We really enjoyed our stay at Ta Som and our visit to Siem Reap was all the better for staying here. The highlight of our stay was our day at the temples - thanks to our driver, Maury, organised through the guesthouse. A great way to support the local economy in Siem Reap. Thank you for being so hospitable. Helen and Rachel - Liverpool, UK.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2010

The Good:

Transfer and checking in. The hotel arranged a free transfer for us from the Mekong Express bus station which was a bonus. Upon arrival we were given a lovely coconut welcome drink for free. We were then introduced properly to our tuk-tuk driver (Mr Phoann I think – lovely guy) who would be assigned to us for our whole stay should we need him and they told us about the different options there were for visiting the Angkor sites. Not once did we feel pressured into doing a particular tour.

The Room. We requested a quiet non smoking room and they honoured that. We had a room on the top floor that was big and bright and very clean. The room was exactly as described on the website.

The staff. Both before and during our stay, the staff at Ta Som were excellent in their communications and were very friendly at all times. One member of staff who deserves a special mention is Lin who works on reception. He helped us with queries about buses to Ho Chi Minh before we even arrived at the hotel and was always very friendly and approachable when we were there. This is amazing considering he is also the night man and sleeps in reception so is awoken all through the night by people coming back drunk and being noisy (which there were a handful of whilst we were there!) and was taking exams the next day!

The breakfasts. There was a choice of hot breakfasts each morning which was cooked on demand and came with some fresh fruit. The breakfasts in general were above average for Cambodia in our experience

Internet access There were two PCs downstairs that were free for guests to use and there was also free wi-fi in all the rooms. It was generally very quick and reliable.

The Not So Good:

We always try to write a biased review so the only thing we can think of that was not so good was the hot water on the last day. It was very cloudy whilst we were there and on the morning of departure we tried to have a hot shower but there was no hot water. Lin informed us that the water is solar heated so unfortunately there was no hot water available due tot he previous day's weather. This is not uncommon in Cambodia however most hotels we have visited had a back up for times like these but this did not appear to be the case. So we just had a cold shower.

Oh and the location. The guest house is in what is considered the town centre of Siem Reap but a little way out from the main tourist restaurants and markets. It is only a 15 minute walk to the start of the touristy area and the roads are well lit so we did not mind but I know it was a little further out than some people expected.

Overall:

A lovely spacious and very clean hotel with lots of little extras and great value for money. We would not hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2010

I chose this guesthouse for me, my sister and my friends because of the reviews I found on the net and their quick reply to my inquiry. I wasn't disappointed because from pick-up to our last day, they were great.

$15 for a triple A/C room, spacious enough for me, my sister and a friend. our other friends stayed in another room. They cleaned the rooms every day and replaced linens (except for the comforter) and towels every day. They gave us extra towels, too---needed more because it was VERY dusty in Siem Reap, took a bath twice or thrice a day. We stayed longer than the days I originally asked a reservation for, they transferred us to a double room because they needed the triple room for someone else. They gave it to us for $12 which was alright.

On the way to Siem Reap, we met someone on the bus who needed a place to stay, so we told her that we had reserved a room and someone was picking us up. We took her with us and she decided to stay for 2 nights at Ta Som before she left for Thailand.

Food was good and service was great. We called the front desk at 530 in the morning to give our friends a wake up call because they wouldn't pick up their phones---we were at Angkor watching the sunrise--and Mr. Meng (owner) himself went to their rooms and knocked till they answered.

Location was alright. We took tuk-tuks, rode bicycles and walked to get to places.

Will definitely recommend this place to people. Price was amazing for the place and the service.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ta Som Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ta Som Guesthouse

Address: 268, National Road Number 6, Siem Reap 63000, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #101 of 231 Hotels in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ta Som Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New traditional Khmer-style villa with nice balconies, comfortable, clean, spacious rooms. In the heart of Siem Reap, 200 metres from royal residence and park. 5 min to old market, 8 min to airport, 12 min to Angkor Wat. All room rates include daily breakfast. Free pick up and transfer from airport/bus/boat. We provide tour arrangements and garden restaurant & bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ta Som Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ta Som Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.