We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic for family” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Kool Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Kool Hotel to your Saves list
The Kool Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   18 National Road 6 Tapaul Village | Svay Dangkum Commune, Siem Reap, Cambodia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #65 of 244 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Fantastic for family”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

We travelled on a budget and this is one of the finest places we stayed. Our boys (13 and 14 years old loved the place and wanted to stay).

Service was great, we loved our rooms, enjoyed the pool and billiards, and ate at the restaurant everyday. A very welcoming and restful atmosphere.

As some of the reviews state, some of the staff are new and inexperienced. But that never stopped them from being kind and respectful. If their English was dodgy they found someone who could speak more fluently - but honestly, it was not a problem. We found the staff pleasant and always very eager to please.

It is not right at the downtown market but a tuk-tuk to and from was quick and reasonably priced. The manager of the hotel offered great advice and assistance with this.

Actually, the manager was a singular individual. Knowledgeable of his trade, his country, his city, his history and always kind and pleasant. We had many lengthy and detailed conversations - I learned a lot.

Our only regret is that we could not have stayed longer. I would stay here the next time I am in Siem Reap.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

631 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    454
    142
    31
    2
    2
See reviews for
76
268
111
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
143 helpful votes 143 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

The hotel overall is built pretty well, though a bit far from the main market, but the inexperience of staff members may create problems.

We reached there at a time when there was a power cut in whole of Siem Reap due to some road accident, this in a way aggravated the problems. The generator that they had was a small one and was not enough for the whole hotel. Similarly, other stuff like Wifi etc. were also not working properly. It took them 3 days to arrange a big generator which can be used for the entire hotel.

The pool looks pretty picturesque, but I never saw anyone using it, moreover the water was also not so clean (again may be due to the power cuts).

We were promised a tuk tuk to take us to the Angkor Wat temple for sunrise, but it never came. We had to go on our own during noon. The rooms do not have a telephone to contact the reception, so you will have to go on your own if you want anything. The supervising lady can even operate the credit card machine for payment.

I give two stars because regardless of being so inexperienced, the staff was very courteous all the time and tried to solve our problems somehow!!

Though it would always better to take a hotel in the Old Market area!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

My daughter and I stayed here in January. We had a lovely stay and the people were all very helpful.The pool was great after a long day round the temples. Only a couple of glitches, our bath had a crack in it, not the best when you are standing having a shower and the wifi was iffy, though I dont think that was a fault of the hotel. We had to get a tuk tuk into town as it is a little far to walk, there was always one available but it is an added cost every day if you are on a budget. The hotel will take you but only at certain times. The breakfast was great, nice selection, but the coffee was awful, but I found this all over Cambodia. Would we stay again, yes it was a great hotel and good value for money.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iwakuni, Japan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

We spent three nights at the Kool Hotel in Siem Reap while we were exploring the wats. The friendly and accommodating manager was the highlight of our stay. He helped arrange a driver for our trip.
A few surprises:
*We checked to see if there would be airport transfer to the hotel when we arrived and they confirmed. Our driver was timely and friendly and met us at the airport, but we had to hold onto our luggage in the tuk tuk. We're American, so it felt incredibly unsafe and poorly planned.
*The toilet stopped flushing the day we left.
*The shower had not been cleaned before we arrived. There were hairs and water stains visible.
*The air conditioning had not been turned on before our arrival. The room was terribly hot and sticky.
*We had a small balcony in our room overlooking some of the city.
*The breakfast was sufficient. We were able to order omelets each morning and there was coffee, tea, fruit, and a few pastries out each morning.
*The pool was filthy. I didn't go in it.
*WIFI was abundant. I had no problem getting a signal with the provided password.
*Towels were mismatched. This detail makes the hotel look unprofessional.

Room Tip: There is no elevator. If this is a problem for you, request a low floor or choose another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

This hotel is good value at under $40 a night for a nice modern room. There are glitches such as our toilet not flushing and needing to be fixed which remind you that this is a somewhat budget hotel price wise - as since the decor is very nice you tend to forget you are paying so little. The pool is nice after a day at the temples but the water wasn't the cleanest on our first day but was better on the other days (we stayed 4 nights). All the staff try their best though many of them have very rudimentary English - there doesn't really seem to be a clear manager or authority figure around so you get the younger staff joking around at reception and similar - this isn't annoying just a bit unprofessional. The place is a bit far out from the town but they have a shuttle bus in the evening and a tuk tuk in or out is only a dollar or two and about 5-10min ride. The compound has an air of calm about it and the staff smile so you couldn't really ask for much more for the price you are paying. We got a tuk-tuk from the hotel to tour the temples - his name is Phalla and he is a bit older than some of the tuk tuk guys and is quite intelligent and kind so would recommend him to anybody staying there. He has glasses, a rarity for Cambodia, so you will know him when you spot him. The review may sound a bit negative but I'm just trying to show both sides and if they ironed out their minor problems I'd happily give them a five and even as is would recommend the place to anybody.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

There is little to fault about this hotel. It is beautifully decorated with a beautiful pool and garden area, the staff are incredibly friendly and helpful and you are spoilt for choice with breakfast. It is a $2 tuk tuk ride to town or you can take their free shuttle. It was nice being outside of downtown, as it can get quite noisy in the evening. The local cuisine in their restaurant is also some of the best in town.

They will organise tuk tuk drivers to take you around the temples for a pre-arranged fare, which is below the normal fare. Their drivers are also very attentive and provide water and soft drinks for you throughout the day.

Rooms are clean and spacious, but beds could be a bit more comfortable. Otherwise, it was great and would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

My boyfriend and I are from Australia, and traveled to Siem Reap in late Novemeber of 2012 to see the temples. We found the Kool Hotel through TripAdvisor and secured accommodation for 3 nights directly from their website, as I found prices did not differ much between sites like hotel.com etc. It costs us about AUD$40/night, and confirmation and email correspondence was prompt and polite. I also arranged my airport transfers with them which costs US$7 each way, this was a complete disappointment.

When we arrived at the airport, no one had come to greet us and we waited about 45 minutes before deciding to take a taxi instead, which costs the same price, US$7. The hotel was very apologetic when we arrived, and said that they did not have a record of our airport transfer requests...the email correspondence that perkily confirmed that we would be picked up still sits in my mailbox. We were very put out as the airport was small and hot and flying in itself is taxing..We were worried about the rest of our experience here..However, I can happily say that this was our only negative experience with the service at the Kool Hotel.

The room was spacious and tastefully decorated. It included 2 beds (twin room) with light bedding (thin quilts, fitting of the Cambodian climate), a small sofa and coffee table and an analogue tv with cable. There was also free wifi and the air-conditioning was adequate. The bathroom was slightly dated with a shower on top of a bath tub and a one-soap-cleans-all dispenser on the wall. But this was not a problem for us as it was clean and spacious. One day our toilet did not flush and the manager sent someone to the room right away and it was fixed within 15 minutes. We were very happy to come home to our large cool room each day after exploring the temples. And we took a dip in their pool before dinner each night.

Apart from the comfortable rooms, we really enjoyed our meals at the hotel and found them to be the best meals we had in Siem Reap. They were great value at US$4 a dish, and it was nice not having to forage for food after a long day exploring.

I also organised my temple trips through the hotel, which was easy, convenient and competitive. I found the prices to be about the same to organizing my own transport/tour guide. I booked my tour during my stay, and while transport seemed very easy to arrange, you might consider booking your tour guide ahead of your stay. I was lucky enough to secure one while I was there - he was polite, friendly and knowledgeable. The hotel has a list of about 10 tour guides that they have used and have received good feedback, if they are not available during your stay, I was informed that they would not blindly hire anyone else.

During my stay the service was excellent. The staff were always friendly, attentive and very polite. And to make up for the mix-up at the beginning of our stay, we received a complimentary trip back to the airport.

Bottom line: Great value, comfortable, and convenient (accommodation, meals, tours).

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Kool Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kool Hotel

Address: 18 National Road 6 Tapaul Village | Svay Dangkum Commune, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Best Value Hotel in Siem Reap
#45 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
#56 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Kool Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kool hotel is located on a quiet lane yet in the heart of Siem Reap town, close to transports and the airport, minutes away from the world's famous Angkor temples, shops, and restaurants. We offer immaculately clean, good value for money, chic, friendly, mid-range luxurious accommodation with modern facilities, also featuring Khmer, Thai, and International fusion restaurant, massage, tours, and pick-up. Our personalised services during your stay sets us apart from others. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your The Kool Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kool Hotel Siem Reap

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Kool Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.