We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel in Seim Reap” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Kool Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Kool Hotel to your Saves list
The Kool Hotel
18 National Road 6 Tapaul Village | Svay Dangkum Commune, Siem Reap, Cambodia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #48 of 229 Hotels in Siem Reap
Qalat, Zabol, Afghanistan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Best Hotel in Seim Reap”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Absolutely the best place we stayed throughout our entire journey in S.E Asia over the course of two months! Here's what and my group liked!

Staff: Absolutely beaming with happiness, and it's very sincere unlike the Thai's... thank you! You were all very helpful and willing to answer any questions we had! You even found a private car for 30 dollars to the Thai border. If we took a beer out of the fridge (we became rather comfortable there as you can ask anyone, and they'll wait on you) the staff were borderline running to supply us with a very clean glass and peanuts.

Rooms: Very spacious, extremely clean and wonderful furnishings.

Pool/Grounds: The pool was very clean and refreshing as was the grounds very peaceful and nice to relax in after exploring all day.

Location: Some people say that your not close enough pub street but in all honestly I thought it rather close. Maybe a two minute free Tuk Tuk ride.. gasp! Almost close enough to walk if one wanted too. Lots of good restaurants pretty close. Just go outside the gate onto the main road and to your right.

Value: I'm from the United States and everything very modestly priced we got more than we payed for!

Management: I met the owner and his family the last night of stay. He was very nice and sincere.

Thanks you guys are great!

Room Tip: We enjoyed a corner room with a balcony seem all rooms are pretty equal though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

628 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    453
    141
    30
    2
    2
See reviews for
76
266
111
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

A nice, laid back hotel a short tuk-tuk ride from the temples or pub street. Speedy in-suite wifi and a very charming and helpful staff. Also, a pool! We stayed for three days and would happily stay there again. The room was clean, large and bright and the staff managed to arrange everything we wanted including sunrise/sunset temple viewings and massages.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sleaford, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

We were very happy with this reasonably priced, comfortable hotel, in what is a touristy town, we could have paid a lot more for somewhere that gave us no more in service. It is tucked away from the busy main street, but is only a short tuk-tuk ride from everything in town. The staff were exceptional, (they sorted us out a taxi for our onward journey at a very good price), led by the owner/manager who is a hands-on can-do kind of guy. He apologised to us for the work going on next door, which was a little noisy during 1 day of our stay, but there was nothing more he could do about it, having already negotiated with his neighbour to keep the disturbance down to a minimum. There is indeed a pool, contrary to a review I have read on this site, & it is quite pretty, with tables overlooking. I would have given it a 5 apart from the breakfast which could be better for western tasted, but still offers plenty of fresh fruit, eggs etc. The rooms are large & comfortable, all in all a very good experience.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

The room prices are very interesting considering the fact that the hotel has a nice little pool. But I would not recommend this hotel for more than a very short stay because of several little inconveniences that made us not really feel comfortable during our four days stay although the staff was friendly and helpful.
- close to the hotel there are several dogs in a court yard that like to bark extensively even at night or early morning
- AC installed right over the bed, about 1m distance from the head -> got sick
- wifi never really worked during our stay
- no safe box in our room
- communication with staff in english mostly difficult
- cleanliness of towels and sheets could be improved
Maybe also interesting to know:
- city center not really in walking distance after a day of temple expedition. There are a few shuttles from the hotel but they stop at 9 pm so you will need to take a tuk tuk
- if you are travelling with a small child or not comfortable with stair walking, you should know that there is no elevator

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013 via mobile

We are group of family and friends that stay at Kool hotel Dec 30- Jan 2 and back from HCMH,PP Jan 4-6. From airport pick up down to hotel transfer to airport we can feel the excellent service that the hotel provided. We personally meet the owner Mr Dara Sour when we arrived from PP who personally assist us room check in even taking our orders for dinner that night,now I know why they have excellent service :-) Mr Sothy personally drive us to mekong express terminal when 9the van that was suppose to pick us up got problem. Their restaurant have great food we ate twice and the price is reasonable, lowest from our tour from SR,HCMH,PP. Got extra service at no extra charge when they extended our room till 8pm as our flight is 10:30pm (lucky for us that no group check in for that day)

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Had a very nice stay here. Went for 3 nights. The staff were amazing they would bend over backwards to help you. Lovely big and clean rooms. The pool was great and the food was also very good. Its a little way from town but tuk tuk drivers are waiting outside at all hours and will take you into town for $2.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

The Kool Hotel is a nice and laid back place. It's for those who travel on something of a budget, but want more than a no-frills place. The rooms are basic but clean and the breakfast is very nice, with a wide choice from a menue and the service is friendly and attentive, although there are language barriers to overcome.

The Kool has a pool, which is really valuable in the Cambodian weather, especially after a day of temple-viewing. Same goes for the in-house restaurant - as the distance to the city center is a bit longer than what would be optimal (although there are always tuk-tuks outside and we're only talking 5 minutes and 2USD), it is nice not to HAVE to go out for dinner. Everything is 4USD.

During our four-night stay, we got the feeling that the Kool primarily attracts couples and the odd families with smaller kids. No tourist groups or on-a-shoe-string-back-packers. The setting is such that conversations are easily initiated but there is no forced socializing. (This aspect is really quite important and makes the hotel stand out from the arguably more comfortable big five-star establishments.)

Would absolutely visit again, although we found the location less than optimal.

Room Tip: Opt for a garden-facing room, optimally close to the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Kool Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kool Hotel

Address: 18 National Road 6 Tapaul Village | Svay Dangkum Commune, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Best Value Hotel in Siem Reap
#38 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
#47 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kool hotel is located on a quiet lane yet in the heart of Siem Reap town, close to transports and the airport, minutes away from the world's famous Angkor temples, shops, and restaurants. We offer immaculately clean, good value for money, chic, friendly, mid-range luxurious accommodation with modern facilities, also featuring Khmer, Thai, and International fusion restaurant, massage, tours, and pick-up. Our personalised services during your stay sets us apart from others. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Kool Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kool Hotel Siem Reap

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Kool Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.