We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“quiet location, pleasant staff” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Kool Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Kool Hotel to your Saves list
The Kool Hotel
18 National Road 6 Tapaul Village | Svay Dangkum Commune, Siem Reap, Cambodia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #50 of 230 Hotels in Siem Reap
California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“quiet location, pleasant staff”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011

An average hotel experience. Clean rooms but a little worn around the edges. Staff incredible polite but most lack English which limits their ability to help most of the guests.WHile their incredible smiles and attitude make this easily forgiven, the hotel definitely lacks a bit of service b/c of this.
Location is a $2 tuk tuk away from Pub Street/Old Quarter and an enjoyable bike ride to Angkor Wat. Quiet except for the wedding somewhere in the neighborhood one night and barking dogs another night - but I'd say quiet by Cambodian standards. I'd stay here again but would first look for a more interesting place or better value

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

629 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    453
    141
    31
    2
    2
See reviews for
76
267
111
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Penang Island, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2011

I went to Siem Reap for my short vacation alone and I stay there from 30th Oct-3rd Nov 2011 (Apsara King).I really enjoyed their hospitality.however,the food in the restaurant is not so tasty.the hotel is strategically located about 20-30mins walk to pub street,central market n night market.Overall,is simply worth it!!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2011 via mobile

Its really good and resonable hotel around the siam reap town. The hotel crew are really polite and helpful. The enviroment are really quite and free from the vehicle noise.The breakfast with less choice and eventhough its really nice with light breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2011 via mobile

An absolute gem of a place. Much better than any of the big hotels in siem reap for the price you pay. Very clean, lovely rooms. All the staff were very friendly, helpful and couldn't do enough for you. They were very flexible - organised breakfast for us when we had to leave early and let us use the pool well past the time it was supposed to close.

We have to mention our tuk tuk driver Denny- who went out of his way to make our holiday special- a very genuine person whom myself, two sisters and friends would highly recommend to anyone staying at the hotel.

Will definitely return and stay at this hotel.

Michelle, Lynn, Joanne, Karen and Sophie

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westwood Los Angeles County, California
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

Great value. Hard to imagine finding a better value in Siem Reap. Nice hotel with a friendly staff. The rooms are fairly large and clean, just keep the windows closed otherwise the mosquitoes will invade. The hotel is located about a 15-20 min walk outside of the old city centre so it's not particularly a central location. However, on the week I was there, the entire old city was flooded and fortunately, this hotel was far enough outside the city centre that we weren't affected by the flood.

Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2011 via mobile

My boyfriend and I booked to stay for 3 nights and extended our stay to 10. From start to finish we were looked after in every possible way, given the best advice on where to visit, eat, how much to pay for things and what to avoid. The hotel is beautiful and just far away enough from the town centre that you can sleep with perfect quite. After long hot days sight seeing we loved lounging by the pool and playing some pool on their outdoor table. We will definitely be back again!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2011

We stayed at the cool hotel for a short visit in September and found it to be great.
The rooms were a good size, clean and comfortable, with TV, coded safe, fridge (we kept well stocked with 7/11 goodies)
The pool was a great bonus, refreshing after a long day of temples...
The breakfast was tasty, your selection freshly made for you, not sat stewing in a baine-marie.
The staff were courteous, friendly and helpful - at all times of the day.
The bus service into town was useful for trips to pub street and the night markets, and if you want to stay later its only around $2 by tuk tuk back to the hotel.
The tour company joined with the hotel is also fantastic and provide a great service!
We would definately stay here again on a return trip to Cambodia.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Kool Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kool Hotel

Address: 18 National Road 6 Tapaul Village | Svay Dangkum Commune, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#43 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
#51 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kool hotel is located on a quiet lane yet in the heart of Siem Reap town, close to transports and the airport, minutes away from the world's famous Angkor temples, shops, and restaurants. We offer immaculately clean, good value for money, chic, friendly, mid-range luxurious accommodation with modern facilities, also featuring Khmer, Thai, and International fusion restaurant, massage, tours, and pick-up. Our personalised services during your stay sets us apart from others. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Kool Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kool Hotel Siem Reap

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Kool Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.