We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Happy Guest House

Save Saved
You added Happy Guest House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Happy Guest House
0134 Phum Wat Bo, Khum Salakomreuk, Siem Reap 063, Cambodia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 325 Siem Reap B&B and Inns
Winnipeg
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Lovely”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

reserved a room for two people, but arrived with three, this was no problem. Staff was very nice. we got to know them over the week we stayed, and were helpful when we asked them about tours and tuktuks. Food was delicious, we ate at the guesthouse quite a lot. Wifi is good and the courtyard is great to meet other travellers.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

318 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    217
    91
    6
    4
    0
See reviews for
11
106
60
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013 via mobile

We arrived at 4pm and warmly welcome with a smile. They did not have a double bed room for the first night, but bed was big enought for 2 and we got secong towel and pillow. The nest 3 nights we moved to a fan doubled bedroom which was more spacious to spread our belongings. Owners ans staff are very friendly and helpfull. Chill out zone is great with good wifi and good food. Loved their mixed fruit shake.
We also did the dancing show evening they offer and we got very good table. Buffet was excellent way to fill you up for cheap and good.
Big + of the GH, 3 computers and few bikes are available.
Highly recommended it

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

We stayed in a twin room with a bathroom. It was a clean and pleasant room with a big window. It was quite so we slept well. The room was far too hot with just the fan, it's worth paying extra for air conditioning. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The food is delicious and well priced. We really enjoyed our stay and would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

Fantastic value and location. Lovely staff and great restaurant downstairs.

The room was clean, spacious a d had a big bathroom. Very comfy beds.

Hostel can arrange everything from activities and sightseeing to transport.

Very happy to stay here for 4 nights and would highly recommend.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

I highly recommend happy guesthouse. The staff are very friendly and were very helpful, assisting with booking bus rides, tuk tuks to the temples and organizing other activities. My boyfriend and I have a private double which was $11 a night for the both us us, this was an aircon room and was very spacious. They even do currency exchange at the guesthouse which is very convenient and gave a better rate than other places we went to for currency exchange. The location is good, away from the noise but a close walk or bike ride to pub street (about 5 min on bike). When visiting the temples it cost $14 for the day (for 3 of us) to rent a tuk tuk (for the short tour...about 5 hrs depending on how long you take with each temple), the tuk tuk driver we used was through the guesthouse and was fabulous he even had cold water for us in a cooler under the seats. The food at the guesthouse was good and fair prices (although there were a couple times things were forgotten) but there is also many places to eat close by you won't go hungry! There is wifi which didn't work in our room but works in the main reception area/restaurant. They have a laundry service $1/1kg and bike rentals are available for $1 for the day. Overall a great experience =)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013 via mobile

First of all, I'd definitely recommend this guest house. Staff is really kind, rooms are great along with the price.
However, at least during our stay, the staff was very disorganized. They didn't know where things where (even 5mins after you gave it to them). At the restaurant we hardly got what we ordered, although this wasn't a problem as they'd change it right away.
But the thing that was a problem is that one of the people of the group needed a visa to Vietnam, so we did it with them. We asked when was the visa arriving and if we could book a bus to Vietnam that same day. Everything was going to planned, although that when we got our friends passport back with the visa to Vietnam, the lady confused the dates so our friend wasn't allowed to go into Vietnam until two days later!!!! Even after booking the bus with them, she confused the dates. So our friend had no choice but to stay there until she was allowed to get into Vietnam. (It's also worth mentioning that those who did take the bus that night, we're not told that we had to switch buses! So if it wasn't for another passenger who told us, we would've continue with the bus to somewhere else)
So just a tip of advice, CHECK everything with them twice so u make sure things are in order)
I only think that with a little more hard work, this could be a perfect guesthouse!
I'd stay there again, that's for sure!
Cheers

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013 via mobile

Rad little place, basic but caters for all your necessitys. The team are really good and full of knowledge and over helpful! They do anything for you and make sure you are looked after. Really cool atmosphere and vibe!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Happy Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Happy Guest House

Address: 0134 Phum Wat Bo, Khum Salakomreuk, Siem Reap 063, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 325 B&Bs / Inns in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a Khmer family-run business that aims to provide our guests with a home away from home. The stuffs are friendly and my family members can speak English, French and Vietnamese. Pay less but get more services like you stay in a more expensive guesthouse because the rooms are clean with private bathroom, shoes, soap, toilet paper and provide a water on arrival day, room cleaning service. My family will give you the best and the most honest advices about your stay in Cambodia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelBookers and HostelWorld so you can book your Happy Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Happy Guest House Hotel Siem Reap

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Happy Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.