We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relax with nature” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Phnom Kulen National Park

Phnom Kulen National Park
Siem Reap, Cambodia
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 78 Attractions in Siem Reap
Type: Religious Sites, Mountains, Waterfalls, Outdoors
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Siem Reap, Cambodia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Relax with nature”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Just one hour from town and drive up to mountain. along road big tree, standing and wall stone. a big Budda stone very fantastic, the water fall are great and good price of food are available at there.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    164
    91
    35
    8
    9
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
38 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“Very nice all day trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

It takes about 2 hours to reach the top of the mountain.
Ensure you spend at least 1.5 to 2 hours here to do justice to the place, visit the Giant reclining Budha temple, get a good English speaking guide who can explain everything and the History to you to make the trip memorable, that is, provided you like history.
Must see the 1000 Sivalingas and the beautiful waterfall.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“great day out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We pre arranged a trip in a viet war jeep..(by exotimisso) early start bumpy fun very dusty. Up the mountain to a fantasy type temple Wow!! Gorgeous walk through the jungle via river then the amazing waterfalls picnic lunch inc. Then back through remote places then beng melea. Nice quiet temple(indiana jones) on the way back to siem reap epic downpour. We did other stuff too.it was our last day and it was fantastic even though we were stained red from the dust. Really recommend this trip. Look at exotimisso s site..They have offices in phnom penh and siem reap. The jeep makes it better and you will make a tourguides day!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“AWESOME”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Obviously weather permitting and being in the right seaon (not wet) as we were, made this one of the most enjoyable places to go of our entire Cambodia tour.
Absolutely beautiful. Loved every minute of it.
We hired a orivate car at $60 and also it cost us $20 each x 3 for entry. Well worth every cent we paid.
When we first arrived there were tourists everywhere that came in on buses. About 1.30 minutes later they were nearly all gone. So well worth hiring a private vehicle then you can take as much time as you like.
The other sites in the area can be seen in a matter of 1.30 minutes total so don't leave the waterfall early in order to see them. Go to the falls first, then do the others. If you find that you have stayed at the falls longer than expected and miss out on the other sites, then so be it. Certainly don't worry yourself over it.
Certainly a must do (on a nice sunny day) if your visiting Siem Reap.
We will return.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Really nice day trip away from the crowd”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Phnom Kulen national park is less than 1 hour away from Siem Reap but not as crowded as the Angkor archeological parc, especially in high season. Kulen is superb, it takes about 45 minutes to walk to the river where you can take a bath, don't forget your suit... In the dry season (march-May) it can get pretty hot there and not so much water in the river, best season would be the beginning and the end of rainy season.
There is a few small local restaurants around but no accomodation, you will have to come back for the night in Siem Reap
Excellent day trip

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Phnom Kulen National Park also viewed

Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 

Been to Phnom Kulen National Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Phnom Kulen National Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.