We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really adventurous” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Phnom Kulen National Park

Phnom Kulen National Park
Siem Reap, Cambodia
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 103 attractions in Siem Reap
Type: Religious Sites, Waterfalls, Mountains
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Really adventurous”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

Being in city was a waste we decided to go to national park to camp. We hired a porter to help us to carry surviving things. It was amazing. We camped at the site in late afternoon. Make fire and enjoy the natural breath. Drinking local wine. The only thing negative was mosquitos. They are so bid. You can avoid it by bringing insect repellent neither did we

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    121
    75
    31
    8
    6
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Long journey, but worth the travel.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

I went by motorbike.

The road has improved much, that travelling by car is not the only method.

Very scenic drive to get there and another interesting ride up the mountain.

The reclining buddha, temples and monks make for a interesting visit. The 1000 lingas and if you walk a little further the "quick sand" pit is quite impressive.

The walk down to the base of the waterfall is a little dodgy and not for everyone, but well worth a swim underneath the falls.

Very beautiful

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rolleston, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful day out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

We just got back from a tour with San Park and I contacted him based on the advice written on trip advisor by Miachu . Thnx Miachu because we had a fantastic day we went to the Phnom Kulen National Park with San Park and it was AMAZING. It is off the beaten track and a bit of a hike to the big waterfall but so worth it. On the way home we called in to see two wonderful temples. I cannot recommend San Park - Angkor temple guides any higher it made our day very special and his rate was very reasonable.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“An unforgettable day!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

From Siem Reap's night market I booked a moped and driver for the day hopped on the back and enjoyed the 2 hour journey through the Cambodian countryside, rice field and up the mountain in Phnom Kulen. I visited the small village and up to the temple then went to the natural spring that travels all the way back down the 2 hour moped ride to Ankor Wat.. I saw the ancient carvings made under the river and then last but not least swam in the most amazing waterfall ever.. This area is where the rock came from to build the temples which obviously begs the question.. How did they get it there??? A truly unmissable feature of Siem Reap which is over looked by many.. Highly recommend this fabulous day out.. its as important as visiting the temples.. A MUST IF YOU ARE IN SIEM REAP.... GO!!!!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epsom
Top Contributor
215 reviews 215 reviews
88 attraction reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Super waterfall,, great to swim in the pool. And the temple further down the mountain is fascinating.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012 via mobile

Super waterfall. The campsite has lots of nearby catering facilities and the toilets are western style. As you go down the mountain the temple is very interesting.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Phnom Kulen National Park also viewed

Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 

Been to Phnom Kulen National Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Phnom Kulen National Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Phnom Kulen National Park to your Saves list