We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Long journey, but worth the travel.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Phnom Kulen National Park

Phnom Kulen National Park
Siem Reap, Cambodia
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 78 Attractions in Siem Reap
Type: Religious Sites, Mountains, Waterfalls, Outdoors
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Long journey, but worth the travel.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

I went by motorbike.

The road has improved much, that travelling by car is not the only method.

Very scenic drive to get there and another interesting ride up the mountain.

The reclining buddha, temples and monks make for a interesting visit. The 1000 lingas and if you walk a little further the "quick sand" pit is quite impressive.

The walk down to the base of the waterfall is a little dodgy and not for everyone, but well worth a swim underneath the falls.

Very beautiful

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    163
    91
    35
    8
    9
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rolleston, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful day out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

We just got back from a tour with San Park and I contacted him based on the advice written on trip advisor by Miachu . Thnx Miachu because we had a fantastic day we went to the Phnom Kulen National Park with San Park and it was AMAZING. It is off the beaten track and a bit of a hike to the big waterfall but so worth it. On the way home we called in to see two wonderful temples. I cannot recommend San Park - Angkor temple guides any higher it made our day very special and his rate was very reasonable.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“An unforgettable day!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

From Siem Reap's night market I booked a moped and driver for the day hopped on the back and enjoyed the 2 hour journey through the Cambodian countryside, rice field and up the mountain in Phnom Kulen. I visited the small village and up to the temple then went to the natural spring that travels all the way back down the 2 hour moped ride to Ankor Wat.. I saw the ancient carvings made under the river and then last but not least swam in the most amazing waterfall ever.. This area is where the rock came from to build the temples which obviously begs the question.. How did they get it there??? A truly unmissable feature of Siem Reap which is over looked by many.. Highly recommend this fabulous day out.. its as important as visiting the temples.. A MUST IF YOU ARE IN SIEM REAP.... GO!!!!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epsom
Top Contributor
241 reviews 241 reviews
90 attraction reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“Super waterfall,, great to swim in the pool. And the temple further down the mountain is fascinating.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012 via mobile

Super waterfall. The campsite has lots of nearby catering facilities and the toilets are western style. As you go down the mountain the temple is very interesting.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
193 reviews 193 reviews
76 attraction reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“Excellent day out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

This is well worth adding to your itinerary while in Siem Reap. It takes about an hour and a half to get there. My hotel arranged a driver for the day, great if there are a few of you as you can share the cost. We stopped at a local cafe and bought our lunch of chicken and rice and drinks for a ridiculously cheap price, but you can buy plenty of food at the falls. There are lots of restaurants all touting for business. We visited the temple first, had a walk to see the river carvings and then drove down to the falls. The waterfalls are beautiful and a perfect way to cool off on a hot day. You can even hire bathing attire...don't expect style though, its board shorts for men and 'sundress/smocks' for the ladies. We picniced on a large boulder and played with the local children. It was a lovely, relaxing day out and I recommend it to people with kids too.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Phnom Kulen National Park also viewed

Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 

Been to Phnom Kulen National Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Phnom Kulen National Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.