We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great friendly guesthouse” 5 of 5 stars
Review of European Guesthouse

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added European Guesthouse to your Saves list
European Guesthouse
#0566, Group 2, Banteay Chas Village | Slorkram Commune, Siem Reap, Cambodia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Deals for groups
Ranked #94 of 370 Siem Reap B&B and Inns
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“great friendly guesthouse”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed in a great price dorm, in a relaxing friendly clean guesthouse....
and to complete this, all the staff are more than friendly.., food are great : make it easy too enjoy your stay in Siem Reap, will definitely recommended this place to everyone...

Stayed December 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    51
    14
    9
    0
See reviews for
8
29
40
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is maybe the best place to stay when you hire an E-bike in Siem Reap. While in another Hostel I was not allowed to charge the battery of my bike, it was no problem at the European Guesthouse. The dorm was clean and the staff very friendly. It is rather a quiet place as it's not the same side of the river like the centre.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murray_Macmillan, Owner at European Guesthouse, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Hi

Thank you for the review. We appreciate your input.

Glad we could recharge your battery!!!

All the best

Murray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed at European guesthouse for 3 nights and we loved it! After a few days in Pnom Penh where the people are much less friendly, and a horrible 10 hour bus journey, it was refreshing to be greeted with open arms and a nice glass of water.

We'd arranged for bus station pick up with the guesthouse and we were unsure whether the driver would still be there as our bus arrived 4 hours late, but he was patiently waiting and very understanding.

The manager greeted us upon arrival and took us through the facilities, things they can book, map of the area and best ways to get to Angkor Wat. They also have a handy introduction guide to the area. They can organise tuc tucs for you to town, and you can hire city or mountain bikes if you want to cycle to Angkor.

They also agreed for us to get a parcel delivered there from the UK, which was so helpful.

Overall, a great place to stay with nice rooms and friendly staff. The crepes are really good too!

Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murray_Macmillan, Owner at European Guesthouse, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Hi

Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review. The staff will be very pleased with this. They try very hard to keep things relaxed and simple.

Thanks again and safe travelling

Murray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heredia, Costa Rica
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

I had a great time!! I booked there the tuk tuk to Angkor and floating village and they charged everything at the end!! And you can pay with a card!! (3% commission) silent place, walking distance from pub street and fair prices! (A tuk tuk from there to Angkor $15, a guy in the street try to charge me 20, from pub street $1, q guy in the street $3, they have bikes if you want to do it by yourself) the staff is lovely! Definitely they made my tripe to siem reap better!!

Stayed November 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murray_Macmillan, Owner at European Guesthouse, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Hi there

Thank you for the very nice review. I am very pleased with this review because you mention the situation with Tuk Tuks. We have now changed our set up so that guests can include Tuk Tuk charges in their room bills and pay by card at the end. This stops the guest having to worry about carrying cash and negotiating with every driver. So I am very happy that this is working as planned.

Thanks again for taking the time to mention us.

Happy Travelling

Murray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2014

We arrived late at night in Siam Reap and were let in by the night porter-a friendly guy. Rooms were large and few, so atmosphere feels very homely. Cleaning service and laundry service both great. The food in the restaurant is really good- we didn't eat elsewhere really. Staff all so, so helpful and always friendly. All the amenities you could want for a decent price and a pool a stone's throw away. Stay here!

  • Stayed November 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murray_Macmillan, Owner at European Guesthouse, responded to this review, November 10, 2014
Hi there

Thank you for the very nice review. I have posted this one on the staff notice board. It is so nice when people take the time to say that something is good.

Thank you and Best Regards

Murray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2014

Khmer staff and Nicole were so accomodating. Stayed over a week with them. They organised drivers and tours easily for us, held our luggage. Water refills were a great bonus. Liked the quiet location. Rooms were very clean and air con cold. Cant fault this great establishment will recommend to other travelers! Thanks guys

Stayed October 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murray_Macmillan, Owner at European Guesthouse, responded to this review, November 5, 2014
Hi

THis is a very nice review and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you also for referring us to other travellers. We always like to hear about past guests and where they have travelled on to.

So once again thanks and safe travelling

Regards



Murray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isla Vista, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2014

What a refreshing hostel! Is is small but very homely and the staff were beyond nice. After a long day at the temples, this is exactly the type of place you want to come back to. The hostel is run by an English lady and a couple of locals. All speak very good english and are helpful. Stay here!

Room Tip: If you are staying downstairs in the doubles, just be aware that there is a nice deck area upstairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murray_Macmillan, Owner at European Guesthouse, responded to this review, November 5, 2014
Hi there

Thank you for your very nice review. This is exactly how we want people to think of the European Guesthouse. Quiet, friendly, peaceful and relaxing.

Thanks again and safe travelling.

Regards

Murray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to European Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about European Guesthouse

Address: #0566, Group 2, Banteay Chas Village | Slorkram Commune, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #94 of 370 B&Bs / Inns in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
European Guesthouse is a cosy, clean and affordable guesthouse located in the backpackers' heart of Siem Reap - surrounded by vibrant Cambodian culture and enriched with magnificent temples and ancient history. Conveniently located in the popular Wat Bo area just a 10 minute walk from Pub Street. Whether you are looking for an adventure or just a place to unwind after long days in the temples, there is a friendly ambiance at the European Guesthouse. The bar is a popular hang-out place where you will meet other travelers as well as expats and long-term volunteers. Here you will have the chance to read a book, whilst you enjoy an ice-cold beer or a refreshing fruit shake. For those who want to go and see the spectacular sunrises at the Angkor temples, both bicycles, motos and tuk-tuks can be arranged, and breakfast can be prepared for you to go. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your European Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage European Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.