We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and peaceful” 4 of 5 stars
Review of European Guesthouse

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added European Guesthouse to your Saves list
European Guesthouse
#0566, Group 2, Banteay Chas Village | Slorkram Commune, Siem Reap, Cambodia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Deals for groups
Ranked #98 of 364 Siem Reap B&B and Inns
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Friendly and peaceful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This is maybe the best place to stay when you hire an E-bike in Siem Reap. While in another Hostel I was not allowed to charge the battery of my bike, it was no problem at the European Guesthouse. The dorm was clean and the staff very friendly. It is rather a quiet place as it's not the same side of the river like the centre.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murray_Macmillan, Owner at European Guesthouse, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Hi

Thank you for the review. We appreciate your input.

Glad we could recharge your battery!!!

All the best

Murray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    51
    14
    9
    0
See reviews for
8
29
40
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed at European guesthouse for 3 nights and we loved it! After a few days in Pnom Penh where the people are much less friendly, and a horrible 10 hour bus journey, it was refreshing to be greeted with open arms and a nice glass of water.

We'd arranged for bus station pick up with the guesthouse and we were unsure whether the driver would still be there as our bus arrived 4 hours late, but he was patiently waiting and very understanding.

The manager greeted us upon arrival and took us through the facilities, things they can book, map of the area and best ways to get to Angkor Wat. They also have a handy introduction guide to the area. They can organise tuc tucs for you to town, and you can hire city or mountain bikes if you want to cycle to Angkor.

They also agreed for us to get a parcel delivered there from the UK, which was so helpful.

Overall, a great place to stay with nice rooms and friendly staff. The crepes are really good too!

Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murray_Macmillan, Owner at European Guesthouse, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Hi

Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review. The staff will be very pleased with this. They try very hard to keep things relaxed and simple.

Thanks again and safe travelling

Murray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heredia, Costa Rica
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I had a great time!! I booked there the tuk tuk to Angkor and floating village and they charged everything at the end!! And you can pay with a card!! (3% commission) silent place, walking distance from pub street and fair prices! (A tuk tuk from there to Angkor $15, a guy in the street try to charge me 20, from pub street $1, q guy in the street $3, they have bikes if you want to do it by yourself) the staff is lovely! Definitely they made my tripe to siem reap better!!

Stayed November 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murray_Macmillan, Owner at European Guesthouse, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Hi there

Thank you for the very nice review. I am very pleased with this review because you mention the situation with Tuk Tuks. We have now changed our set up so that guests can include Tuk Tuk charges in their room bills and pay by card at the end. This stops the guest having to worry about carrying cash and negotiating with every driver. So I am very happy that this is working as planned.

Thanks again for taking the time to mention us.

Happy Travelling

Murray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2014

We arrived late at night in Siam Reap and were let in by the night porter-a friendly guy. Rooms were large and few, so atmosphere feels very homely. Cleaning service and laundry service both great. The food in the restaurant is really good- we didn't eat elsewhere really. Staff all so, so helpful and always friendly. All the amenities you could want for a decent price and a pool a stone's throw away. Stay here!

  • Stayed November 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murray_Macmillan, Owner at European Guesthouse, responded to this review, November 10, 2014
Hi there

Thank you for the very nice review. I have posted this one on the staff notice board. It is so nice when people take the time to say that something is good.

Thank you and Best Regards

Murray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2014

Khmer staff and Nicole were so accomodating. Stayed over a week with them. They organised drivers and tours easily for us, held our luggage. Water refills were a great bonus. Liked the quiet location. Rooms were very clean and air con cold. Cant fault this great establishment will recommend to other travelers! Thanks guys

Stayed October 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murray_Macmillan, Owner at European Guesthouse, responded to this review, November 5, 2014
Hi

THis is a very nice review and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you also for referring us to other travellers. We always like to hear about past guests and where they have travelled on to.

So once again thanks and safe travelling

Regards



Murray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isla Vista, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2014

What a refreshing hostel! Is is small but very homely and the staff were beyond nice. After a long day at the temples, this is exactly the type of place you want to come back to. The hostel is run by an English lady and a couple of locals. All speak very good english and are helpful. Stay here!

Room Tip: If you are staying downstairs in the doubles, just be aware that there is a nice deck area upstairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murray_Macmillan, Owner at European Guesthouse, responded to this review, November 5, 2014
Hi there

Thank you for your very nice review. This is exactly how we want people to think of the European Guesthouse. Quiet, friendly, peaceful and relaxing.

Thanks again and safe travelling.

Regards

Murray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2014

We stayed there 3 nights while visiting Angkor. We chose it because of the price, it was really cheap. We found that there was no mirror in the bathroom when we arrived so we told Nicole and it was fixed really quicky. Nicole the owner was very nice and helpful all the time. There is a local staff at the bar cant remember his name, but he was super helpful. The food was nice, we ate here most of the time, the price is avarage Siem Reap prices. The garden is really lovely, you can relax there watch TV or play with the cat, who is really cute. Its close to the main streets of Siem Reap however you need a tuk tuk but its not far, and its good that its not in the middle of the noisy oub street area.

Negatives: One day some animal was in our room, making noise in the garbage bin, it sneaked in probably thru some hole. The shower's water presssure is really weak and you literally shower on the toilet, they are too close,( however i noticed its quite common in Cambodia). They arranged a tuk tuk driver for us for the entire stay who didnt speak English except a few words. It was such a drag, as we couldnt discuss anything with him not to mention any answer to our questions about Angkor or the area. ( We met some other tuk tuk drivers who spoke very good english.) The road leading to the guest house is really bumpy, which gets filled with paddles in the rainy season so makes it difficult to access from the main road. Walls are thin so it can be quite noisy, you can hear anything in the neighbouring room.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murray_Macmillan, Owner at European Guesthouse, responded to this review, October 25, 2014
Hi there.

We have taken a bit of time to look at your review and discuss with the staff. Overall the review is good but there are a couple of areas where I want to comment.

First of all you said that there was an animal in your waste paper bin. As soon as you mentioned this at the time our staff came to your room and did a full inspection and as you know nobody could find anything. You also told our staff that you never actually saw anything you heard a rustle of papers. Our rooms are sealed because of the AC and I just cant see anything walking in the door. I think you probably had a ghecko. These are everywhere in Cambodia and we encourage them because they are harmless but they eat mosquitoes.

I have looked into the Tuk Tuk situation and we are not sure which driver you are talking about so we are not actually sure it was one of our drivers. However I want to point out that regardless of where the driver is from these drivers provide a service of dropping you off at temples on a preset route. If you really want to get an interactive service then you have to hire a tour guide. These are expensive.

Your comments about water pressure and the toilet apply to pretty well all of the Asia budget travel. That is why it is so cheap.

Anyway we have some things to look at and I hope you enjoy the rest of your holiday.

Regards


Murray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to European Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about European Guesthouse

Address: #0566, Group 2, Banteay Chas Village | Slorkram Commune, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #98 of 364 B&Bs / Inns in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
European Guesthouse is a cosy, clean and affordable guesthouse located in the backpackers' heart of Siem Reap - surrounded by vibrant Cambodian culture and enriched with magnificent temples and ancient history. Conveniently located in the popular Wat Bo area just a 10 minute walk from Pub Street. Whether you are looking for an adventure or just a place to unwind after long days in the temples, there is a friendly ambiance at the European Guesthouse. The bar is a popular hang-out place where you will meet other travelers as well as expats and long-term volunteers. Here you will have the chance to read a book, whilst you enjoy an ice-cold beer or a refreshing fruit shake. For those who want to go and see the spectacular sunrises at the Angkor temples, both bicycles, motos and tuk-tuks can be arranged, and breakfast can be prepared for you to go. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your European Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage European Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.