We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy veg food!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chamkar

Chamkar
The Passage (mid way along) | Old Market,, Siem Reap, Cambodia
+855 (0)92 733 150
Improve this listing
Ranked #37 of 425 restaurants in Siem Reap
Cuisines: Vegetarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Yummy veg food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

Had dinner here last night and it was yummy. A great change from all the amoks/curries/pho's we've been eating for the past 6 weeks. Would highly recommend the Mad Eggplant Lovers dish.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

86% Recommend
    222
    89
    31
    11
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great..Must try...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

We visited this place on our first evening, so good went back for our 2nd evening...I rarely do this in a new destination as I want to try as much variety as possible..but ...it was so good, food is just simply outstanding! There are a few hit/miss dishes on the menu, some Items are a little too basic, but others are outstanding which is the reason i give 5!

I am NOT vegetarian, but value/ taste/ service and location...and taste again...made me return..

Recommend to sit outside, people watch...there are only 2 tables outside, if taken, reserve and come back later!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Excellent food and great ambience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Staff were lovely and the food was absolutely delicious. It was so refreshing to stumble upon this place which did traditional Cambodian food and without the frogs on the menu.

I was thoroughly impressed by the speed and service and want the recipe book for everything I tried!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“See past the vegetarian only menu..”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

..and give this a go. My fiancé and I went based on a loose recollection that one of us had read about it, and we were delighted. The fresh spring rolls and wedding dip were great to start. We kept the wedding dip - which I can only describe as a satay meets lemongrass and a little spice. The Cambodian secrets curry with potatoes and cherry tomatoes was to die for and eclipsed the fried tofu stuffed with pumpkin and onion chutney.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siem Reap, Cambodia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Fusion with a twist”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Stunning flavours at the cutting edge of culinary perfection. If Chamkar were relocated in NY, London, Paris, Tokyo or Sydney it would be an international senstion. If you are remotely interested in modern cuisine you must visit Chamkar, end of story.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chamkar also viewed

Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 

Been to Chamkar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chamkar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.