We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Angkor Way Boutique Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Angkor Way Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Angkor Way Boutique Hotel
Vithei Charles De Gaule, Slorkram Village, Slorkram Commune, Siem Reap, Cambodia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #180 of 230 Hotels in Siem Reap
Geelong, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Pleasant stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012 via mobile

We checked into our superior room Sat 25/8/12 it was ok, could have been slightly cleaner, the location was good close enough to the city centre and Angkor Wat and airport, however our driver did get us lost on the way from the airport. After two nights we noticed the air con was leaking so we called reception, staff member was quick to inspect, the problem continued and we requested a ro change-which was no hassle at all. We move to a room that had a view of the pool, the staff were all extremely friendly-especially the pool cleaner! Breakfast was a good selection too! Overall a pleasant stay with the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    21
    12
    2
    8
See reviews for
4
13
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

The pool was lovely and hardly anyone there! The staff were helpful and friendly.
The room was average. The beds were soft and could feel every spring. The bathroom was gross. Ewww. lots of mold on the shower curtain... and dingy lighting.
The breakfast buffet was decent - plenty of vegetarian options.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

We arrived at midnight after flight delays and were met by friendly staff who showed us the room booked as part of our package. The air conditioner was not working so they kindly moved us to another room promptly. Higher category rooms have been recently renovated. We had a standard room which could have done with updating, however it had nice pool views and was adequate for our 2 night stay.
This is not a glitzy new hotel but is a charming, traditional style building with beautiful timber work detail in the foyer and restaurant. The pool area was nice with an outside bar. There is an antiquated gym and spa area.
I note they have a new web site which claims it to be of boutique standard - however I feel it has a fair way to go. Once renovated and updated I'm sure it will fit the bill. Even though there were independent travelers staying here, it looked as though many larger tour groups also favour this hotel.
The hotel is a short tuk- tuk ride away ($1- $2) from the main part of town, and is only a short walk to the museum. Tuk-tuk drivers are always at the front of the hotel. Seek out Bol, as he was a great guy and spoke English well.
The Restaurant Manager and General Manager introduced themselves to us and were very professional and friendly. They guide an enthusiastic team who want only the best for their guests. We were invited to lunch to try the traditional dish of fish amok. This was prepared and presented to the highest standard by the head chef, who was partially trained in France.
The hotel has a charm of its own, however if staying longer try and book a higher category room with a pool view on a higher floor.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

I stayed on this hotel for four weeks in March 2012. While there the management team changed and they were very proactive in addressing any obvious weaknesses. The menus were addressed and breakfast choice improved. Staff who were always friendly from Day 1 were encouraged even more to greet guests. The pool area is a wonderful place to escape the heat and chill out especially after a day at the temples. Improving poolside service for food and drinks is another welcome development. My room was cleaned well every day. The location while outside the centre of town is not so far that you can't have a pleasant walk along the river into town or take a tuk tuk ride in. Left to be run by professional staff I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel. Reception staff were especially friendly.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philliptoh78, General Manager at Angkor Way Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, April 10, 2012
Dear Value Resident,

Firstly, I would like to thank you for sharing your comment on TripAdvisor. I am very glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with our hotel. I have sharing your comments with the whole new management team of the hotel to ensure that the excellent service is improving day by day in our hotel.

We actually having the honor having you as one of the long stay guests in our hotel and you have enjoyed your stay with us.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again to our hotel in the future.


Regards,

Phillip Toh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSW
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

We have just returned from a month long trip around Indochina and had to post a review on Trip Advisor to say how happy we were with the Angkor Way Hotel. The staff were all so polite, there was free internet, and the double room with ensuite was roomy and spotlessly clean. The pool was a real bonus and the breakfast quite adequate with eggs cooked to order. A special thank you to the restaurant manager and the general manager who went out of their way to chat to us to make sure everything was to our liking. They were keen to point out that they were the 'new team' and had lots of plans for improving the hotel still further. They even offered us a complimentary lunch, beautifully prepared and served in the pool area. Be sure to try to fish amok while you are there. The hotel is just a short ride by tuk-tuk into town. The museum is just across the road. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: We were given a room overlooking the pool - very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mekongcondo, General Manager at Angkor Way Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, April 2, 2012
Dear Value Resident,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience stay with TripAdvisor. I was very glad to read that you have enjoyed your stay with Angkor Way Boutique Hotel.

Your comments have been sharing to the entire new management team and staffs to ensure that the true Cambodian hospitality been served to our in house guests .

We all thank you and hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Angkor Temples, and to our small boutique hotel in the future.


Regards,

PHILLIP TOH
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2012

On the main road into town, only 1km or so from the centre, Angkor Way is a slightly quaint, odd, hotel but great value. While relatively modern inside it still carries a rather old-world style thats hard to pin down. Clean place with really helpful, polite staff.

Breakfast was terrible every morning but hardly a big deal in this environment. Visit the wonderful River Cafe around the corner for great meals and atmosphere.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vyrayuth, General Manager at Angkor Way Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, March 26, 2012
Dear Sir/Madam,

On behalf of the new hotel management team, Angkor Way Boutique Hotel. We would like to express our gratitude and thank you very much for your positive comments on our hotel service.

We are very glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with our hotel, We are looking forward to welcoming you again to our hotel in the soon future.

Once again, thank you for sharing your value comments with us .

Regards,

PHILLIP TOH
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

We were to stay here for 6 days but only lasted one night. First impression was that it was nice looking hotel and after our last 2 hotels we thought this would be the same...how wrong we were. Our room was at the back which was fine but when you opened the door a smell hit you again I used our spray I had bought in Bangkok but it didn't help. It was when we went to shower we found that the shower curtain was stuck together with mould and it wasn't just a little bit. The air conditioner was noisy and in the end made no difference we woke up sweaty and very tired. There was also cockroaches and mosquitos. The breakfast we found to be alright. We did complain to the manager who was happy to move us to a another room but we had decided to move hotels.Also the tuk-tuk drivers rip you off that sit outside the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vyrayuth, General Manager at Angkor Way Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, March 26, 2012
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for your feedback, sharing your negative comments about our hotel service.
We will look into this issue immediately to improve our service and standard to meet the customers expectation.

Once again, thank you for stay with our small boutique hotel. We are looking forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the soon future.

Should you need any further assistance please do not hesitate to write to me diectly.

Regards,
Phillip Toh
General Manager
gm@angkorwayhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Angkor Way Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Angkor Way Boutique Hotel

Address: Vithei Charles De Gaule, Slorkram Village, Slorkram Commune, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #180 of 230 Hotels in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Angkor Way Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Angkor Way Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.