We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Butterflies Garden Restaurant

Butterflies Garden Restaurant
535 Wat Bo Road, Siem Reap, Cambodia
855 017 95 71 61
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #198 of 425 restaurants in Siem Reap
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Brisbane
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Having read all the reviews I thought that this would be a great place to go while in Siem Reap. While it is in a tranquil setting we hardly saw any butterflies (much to our son's disappointment) and the food was not that great. We took a tuk-tuk to get there (it is a short ride away from Pub Street - approx $1) and on arrival were a bit surprised at how basic it was inside. I had a mango salad which was average. The gift shop has seen better days and the service was not great (we had to point out that they had forgotten to charge us for a drink). Personally I don't think it was worth the effort to go there. I would much rather recommend Old House Restaurant (my favourite in Siem Reap), Haven, AHA or Soria Maria any day. For kids you may even want to try Little Italy just off Pub Street. The pizza's there were lovely.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

60% Recommend
    41
    72
    50
    19
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Lovely quiet restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

A small haven of peace although very near the main tourist street in Siem Reap. Set in pretty garden. Excellent authentic Cambodian food. Nice staff.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nice concept but tired and poor service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We liked the idea of this restaurant for the butterflies and also the fact that profits are shared among employees. However on our visit the staff were all huddled on a rather tired looking stage/children's play area watching something playing on a phone. It was the worst service we had during our whole week in Cambodia which was very surprising given that profits are shared. The grounds are very tired looking and butterflies did not seem numerous at all - we only saw one or two and the gate was left open - have they flown away? While we were eating one couple walked in and straight out again as they were not greeted and obviously were put off by the surroundings. The shop also had only a few very tatty looking items and nothing that you cannot buy in the markets. It seems that this is a restaurant on its way down and out. It is a shame as the food was nice and the lemon tart particularly was very tasty. It all needs some love and attention to bring it back to its original idea.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yokosuka, Japan
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Tasty food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

There was a nice menu here of local and western cuisine. I enjoyed a chilled carrot ginger soup, which was delicious, and some mint tea. The restaurant was encased in mesh, which made me think that we would see butterflies in there. I was surprised to see only two butterflies, however, during the hour that we were dining there.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Relaxing drink in the garden with a couple of butterflies”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Although not many butterflies in March, it was still a tranquil setting for some pre-dinner drinks in the garden (coktails for $2 during Happy Hour) and some delicious food (Khmer and Western) in the Restaurant itself. Well worth it - with or without kids :)

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Butterflies Garden Restaurant also viewed

Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 

Been to Butterflies Garden Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Butterflies Garden Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.