We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Encore, but not enough” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Encore Angkor Guest House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Encore Angkor Guest House to your Saves list
Encore Angkor Guest House
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Sok San Street | Khum Svay DongKum, Siem Reap SR1 15, Cambodia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #90 of 364 Siem Reap B&B and Inns
Berkeley
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Encore, but not enough”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

Overall: We had a comfortable stay in this centrally located, clean hotel. But given the wide variety of accommodation options in Siem Reap we'd go elsewhere in search of better value next time.

Pros:
- Centrally located: steps away from Pub street, yet relatively quiet. Quick access to local transportation.
- Pool (relatively small with not much afternoon sun, but nice to take a dip after a sweaty day out)
- Clean & comfortable Room
- Responsive and friendly staff

Cons:
- Breakfast was quite average (they went for quantity over quality)
- Decor was uninteresting.
- Price was a bit high relative to the value delivered

Of Note:
Some rooms have a view of a crocodile farm. We found this interesting (they weren't noisy or scary).

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    54
    13
    6
    5
See reviews for
20
94
37
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

We stayed here for four nights in January 2010.The hotel is so centrally situated for easy walking distance to the main places.The staff were all so helpful.I was ill at one time and I was taken to the doctor by the lady owner.Rooms were spotless,breakfast enjoyable and the pool a great addition to the hotel.Marvellous place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

We recently spent 3 nights at Encore Angkor and thoroughly enjoyed our stay.
Beautiful decor, comfortable rooms, airconditioning ( a must after a day of sighseeing) and the gorgeous pool.
Staff were friendly and the breakfast delicious.
Would definately recommend.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

We recently stayed at this hotel during our cycling holiday in SE Asia. The hotel is lovely and very clean, and the pool is a great bonus. The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful. The breakfast was also delisious. Finally, the location can't be beaten. All in all, this is a gem of a hotel which is really good value for money.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tinonee, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

I couldn't fault this small hotel in the seven days we stayed there. From the friendly, non intrusive staff, helpful and wonderful owners, to the view of the crocodile farm from our window - we all loved it from start to finish. Excellent breakfast included, spotless rooms, wi fi and free internet, lovely pool, comfy beds. Our children were well accommodated and welcomed with love. Encore Angkor has a very child friendly and safe policy - I wouldn't want to stay anywhere else!

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the crocodiles!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

Moved there from another hotel, wished we a had stayed there from the start.
Very clean and comfortable and was well priced at $30 a night. Our room had a interesting view over a crocodile farm, just be careful not to slip out the window!! Hotel had a small but ample pool at the back, great after a long day hiking round the town and temples. Our air con played up a bit, but the friendly and helpful staff soon had it sorted.

Overall a great little hotel right in the heart of the town, so on need for a tuk tuk when going out for dinner or a walk around the markets.

We will stay again!!

Room Tip: Blue Pumpkin Cafe ( Great shakes)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

A big, clean hotel. As most of the reviewers have already mentioned, the highlight of this hotel is the location. You have to take off your shoes as you walk inside the hotel, which is a good and understandable policy, I thought. The owners of the place as well as the staff are friendly and helpful.

Unless that would not not bother you, make sure to book a room that does not overlook the living crocodiles pool, owned by a neighboring property! Not only is the scene from the window not pleasant, but also the sounds they make during the night were loud and annoying to me. The room was fairly sized and furnished, but poorly lit. The TV is old-looking but was OK. You are provided with dispensable slippers and long robes (I used over the swimsuit when I went to the pool). Fridge has only bottles of water, maybe so you could buy from their bar downstairs. Bathroom is a classic and very practical one (which is a rare feature in hotel bathrooms today!) but towels do NOT smell nice, even when washed and replaced!

In my opinion, there's an overall boring/chilly feeling about this place. It's a large hotel and the corridors are too long and too quiet, and you always feel you are gasping for air there - as it's poorly ventilated. There's also a "stingy" feel about its management, which might be logical given the reasonable prices.

One last thing, If you're staying more than 2 nights, you will get bored with the breakfast. It's too monotonous.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Encore Angkor Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Encore Angkor Guest House

Address: Sok San Street | Khum Svay DongKum, Siem Reap SR1 15, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #90 of 364 B&Bs / Inns in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Encore Angkor Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Siem Reap 200m from Pub Street and old market, a beautifully presented, spotlessly clean family run guesthouse. Computers available for guest's use - some rooms with WiFi. Free coffee and tea throughout the day. Fridge and electronic safe in every room. Tours arranged free of charge. Free pick up from airport and bus station for guests of Encore Angkor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Encore Angkor Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Encore Angkor Guest House Hotel Siem Reap

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Encore Angkor Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.