We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place, friendly staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Babel Siem Reap Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Babel Siem Reap Guesthouse to your Saves list
Babel Siem Reap Guesthouse
No 738. Village: Wat Bo, Siem Reap, Cambodia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #69 of 369 Siem Reap B&B and Inns
Costa Rica
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great place, friendly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

It is very good located near the centre of town which is a very nice thing since easy to bike around in this city. The staff is very friendly and always ready to help out with anything. The bar area is cozy and cute and the food is acceptable. There's a pool next door that can be used for a couple of dollars which is very convenient.
Definitely a place to recommend.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    63
    13
    5
    5
See reviews for
11
93
33
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

As the title of this review may have given away, I have never felt so at home anywhere I have travelled. When I first arrived I adored the cosiness of the bar area straight away. The colours, the setting, the lighting, the furniture... We were welcomed by warm Cambodian and Norwegian smiles. Babel is owned by Europeans with open arms and a warm heart for every guest but also for their lovely staff whose personal development is highly encouraged and supported, something so needed in this country. The good vibe and wonderful energy just makes you happy and the kindness there makes that you never want to leave. I stayed for a week, loved my spacious and clean yet simple room, my cosy bathroom and the bar area where I could work without being disturbed yet be surrounded by friendliness and creativity. The alley where it is located is cute and there are many tuk tuk drivers eager to take you into town, which is about a ten minute walk away. Currently Babel is working with a great new chef and I suggest the daily special. A bit more expensive than local food, but a real joy for my taste buds. It hurt my heart to have to leave but I was surprised by the small size of my bill, which made me smile. Thinking of Babel is a reminder of the kindness of people!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Babel staff is very very nice. They have the friendliest staff. It is about a 10 minute walk to the local market. They have AC a nice shower and toilets. Even when I changed guesthouses for a few days I missed Babel and came back. Hands Down a great place to stay.

Room Tip: The 3rd floor rooms have more light shine in them and a bit hotter even with AC on
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Hard to find as no one has heard of it. Friendly staff. Very clean guest house. Very spacious rooms, nice bathroom that is clean and well maintained. Clean white fresh crisp linen. Nice relaxing area with tv. Cheap food in the bar. No outside food allowed. Would stay here again.

Room Tip: We stayed in a private en suite, very nice with air con
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tromso, Norway
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013 via mobile

I will always return to Babel Guesthouse. The rooms, staff and owners are amazing! It just keep getting better and better. It's like home with the best friends you haven't met yet! <3 Returning home after a stay at Babel and the lovely people gives you the same feeling every time; sadness and tears! Best place to stay in Siem Reap, no doubt about that!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tromso, Norway
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Had a lovely time staying at Babel for 3 months. The staff was always helpful and friendly, and they all speak very good English. The rooms are clean and spacious, and the restaurant and bar in the garden is very kozy. It is also located only a short distance from the center of Siem Reap, and there is no trouble getting there by tuk tuk, walking or cycling. I loved staying at Babel, and I would definately stay there if I came back to Siem Reap.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siem Reap, Cambodia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Babel arranged pickup at the airport and this is where we met Khim Dara, our tuk tuk driver for the next three days! Agoda had overbooked and with great apologies we were taken to another guesthouse for the first night. but Khim came for us in the evening and gave us a tour of the night markets and took us to a very good restaurant for Amok fish , a specialty of the area! In the morning he was waiting on time for us and transfer to Babel who greeted us with included breakfast of fresh banana pancakes! our room was very large and they were kind enough to place us from a group of international school kids, as it was the kids were delightful ! The pool next door is a great respite after a day at Angkor Watt which is amazing and well worth your travel money! You should have extra after the reasonable prices of Babel and Khim Dara tour tuk tuk! Khim was gracious, informative and patience with our schedule, including leaving at 6:30am for sunrise, going to several restaurants (see peace cafe!) on my list, taking afternoon siestas and starting again at 4pm for more ruins, dinner and night markets. Babel had super afternoon shakes, and hot tea to revive and great baguettes ...Khim suggested the floating market and which temples to visit and when to avoid the crowds. He also helped with local customs, language, and kept us aware of the tourist trap side of some of these trips, and maximized our local experience per our request, stopping frequently for photography or to taste local roadside foods and fruits. alos provided a cooler of water and cold clothes! The Babel team made the stay wonderful all around with everyone at Babel being part of our day and memories . In regard to the remarks about staff on drugs. For sure this is mistaken for the joviality and friendliness and attentiveness of the staff, Babel is an ecotourism guesthouse with interests in local efforts and in teaching English. Everyone speaks English, it is Norwegian owned and managed. While I was there, a delightful Norwegian girl was filling in for the owner and though it was her first time she did a super job keeping everything tip top especially with the 20 school kids
There plus others! Great place, fab tuk tuk driver khim Dara who made our trip a breeze, even in the hottest part of the day!

Room Tip: Please ask the staff for help, they really want to satisfy ....
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Babel Siem Reap Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Babel Siem Reap Guesthouse

Address: No 738. Village: Wat Bo, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 369 B&Bs / Inns in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Babel Siem Reap offers you beautifully designed, comfortable, spacious and clean rooms. All the rooms are air-conditioned with cable TV and have bathrooms with hot water showers or bathtubs. Tropical garden with outside Bar and Restaurant serving local and western food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Babel Siem Reap Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Babel Siem Reap Guesthouse Hotel Siem Reap

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Babel Siem Reap Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.