We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Free education” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Angkor Silk Farm

Angkor Silk Farm
Puok District | Airport Road, Siem Reap, Cambodia (Formerly Puok Silk Farm)
855 63 5555 768
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #191 of 524 Activities in Siem Reap
Type: Farms, Ranch & Farm
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Angkor Silk Farm belongs to Artisans Angkor, a social-business enterprise aiming at reviving Khmer cultural heritage while giving job opportunities to young Cambodians living in rural areas.Free guided tours through the eight hectare farm give a unique insight into the different stages involved in silk production, from the mulberry tree orchards, silkworm breeding, the spinning mills and the dying and weaving processes in the very traditional way. A shop is there for visitors as well. Tours are in English, French, Spanish, Chinese, Korean,Japanese or Khmer.
Columbus OH
Top Contributor
202 reviews 202 reviews
141 attraction reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
208 helpful votes 208 helpful votes
“Free education”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

What's not to love? The tour is free and you learn a lot. I took the 9:30 tour from Artisan's workshop. We were taken by mini van to the silk farm and had a tour of about an hour. I learned a lot about silk but it is still hard to fathom the amount of work that goes into a piece of silk. There is a lovely shop at the farm but there is absolutely no pressure to buy. There is also a café run by Blue Pumpkin. A very pleasant way to spend half a day when you have some extra time.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArtisansAngkor, Public Relations Manager at Angkor Silk Farm, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear visitor,

Thank you for your review! We are glad to hear that you found the tour of the Silk Farm to be informative and we hope you also had a relaxing time there!

All the best,
Artisans Angkor's Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    46
    16
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“So informative!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

I will never underestimate the amount of time and effort it takes to make anything with handwoven silk. This was a really nice tour that was completely free. We tipped our tour guide because he was really nice, but that was at our discretion. We started in the handicrafts shop and then took the free tour to the silk farm after our tour of the handicrafts workshop. It was a nice thing to do on one of our less hectic days.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArtisansAngkor, Public Relations Manager at Angkor Silk Farm, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Michelle,

Thank you for your review and for visiting the Silk Farm! It is good to read that you enjoyed the tour and we hope it was a relaxing and informative break during your time in Siem Reap.

All the best,
Artisans Angkor's Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
47 attraction reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“Interesting and informative”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Have visited Siem Reap many times but had never been to this place.
We were told it was free and if any guide asks for a tip or a donation do not pay. We had a lovely guide called Kry who was knowledgable and spoke well and was very friendly.
The whole tour was interesting and it made me appreciate the whole process and the time involved to make silk products.
The products in the shop were very expensive but there was no pressure to buy.
A good place to visit and the drive our is always enjoyable in a tuk tuk.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArtisansAngkor, Public Relations Manager at Angkor Silk Farm, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear visitor,

Thank you for visiting the Silk Farm and for taking the time to give your feedback on TripAdvisor. We are glad to see that you enjoyed your tour and that your guide was knowledgeable. As you said, tipping our guides is not mandatory as they receive a fixed salary from Artisans Angkor. We hope to see you again in our workshops next time you will be in Siem Reap!

All the best,
Artisans Angkor's Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Fascinating”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

We decided to go here on our tuk tuk after a trip to all the temples.

This educational tour doesnt take too long but is fascinating as you can see how silk is made from the very beginning with the caterpillars right to the end product. You wouldnt believe all the processes that you will see. The amount of work that is involved in creating a handmade silk scarf is incredible and its fascinating to see the women making the scarfs - thread by thread.

The tour is free, you only need to give a tip to the guide if you want to. Definitely recommend it if you have some spare time. There is a gift shop with many products to buy and also a nice outdoor space where you can sit down and have an ice cream.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArtisansAngkor, Public Relations Manager at Angkor Silk Farm, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear visitor,

Thank you for your review! It is good to read that you were impressed by the silk process at our Silk Farm.

All the best,
Artisans Angkor's Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“An education in the Silk process, and some nice stuff in the shop”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Looking to kill 2 hours, go see the Silk farm. You can see the process from caterpillar to end products. Some very nice merchandise in the shop at really good prices. We loaded up on Christmas gifts.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArtisansAngkor, Public Relations Manager at Angkor Silk Farm, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear visitor,

Thank you for your feedback and for visiting the Silk Farm. We are glad to see that you already purchased your Christmas gifts there!

All the best,
Artisans Angkor's Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Angkor Silk Farm also viewed

Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 

Been to Angkor Silk Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Angkor Silk Farm, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.