We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An incredible half day trip - worth every minute!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kompong Phluk

Kompong Phluk
Kdol Village, Kampong Phluk Commune, Prasat Bakong District, Siem Reap Province, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #32 of 103 attractions in Siem Reap
Type: Other
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Kompong Phluk is a village on the Tonle Sap Great Lake, a home to families who eke out a living on one of the most abundant inland fisheries in the world. A visit here by boat gives an insight into another world and way of life. The flooded forest around Kampong Phluk is also fascinating, submerged for half the year, the trees have learned to adapt and are an invaluable part of the extraordinary ecosystem here. Beware the toll booth as the fees tend to change. It should be $12, but a commission may be added for your driver.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“An incredible half day trip - worth every minute!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

Yesterday we spent the day exploring the Kompong Phluk floating village. Having read a few previous reviews, we were a bit reluctant to go as we were worried about being ripped off and not getting a full experience. We decided to hire our trusty guide to join us and we had the most incredible day!! We were told that it would cost $20 per person to hire a boat to reach the village - having our guide with us, meant that we paid $20 for the boat - between 5 of us!! The amazing drive to the point of departure set the scene for what was to come - taking us off the beaten track and allowing a peak into how the locals live. The boat ride was serene and none of us were prepared for just how beautiful the floating village really is! When we arrived at the village - we hired two smaller canoes and were taken on a tour of the village where motor engine boats could not enter. I highly recommend hiring a guide and taking a trip to see this incredible little spot!! :)

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    123
    83
    13
    17
    25
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Malaysia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Beautiful sunset”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

Tonle Sap Lake is Southeast Asia's largest freshwater lake, produce a lot of fish and rice in Cambodia. We came to Kampong Phluk of floating village, many unscrupulous naked children playing in the water lake, presumably already familiar with waterborne; bigger boys squatted propped tall pole sub-bow, skillfully manipulated the boat . When our boat passing the floating village, we came to the lake viewing platform, Dry season has started, the water level began to decline, the viewing platform shabby little ladder has been high from the horizontal plane, we gingerly climbed the observation deck in the case of a ladder dangling. At dusk, the sun is shiny red half of the sky, the sunset at Tonle Sap was just fantastic !

洞里萨湖(Tonlé Sap)是东南亚最大的淡水湖。湖滨平原辽阔平坦,河道纵横,土地肥沃,是柬埔寨重要的鱼虾及稻米盛产地。我们驶出暹粒市,沿途看到一望无际的水田,高大挺拔的糖棕树竖立在稻田中,好似一支支绿色的大伞,煞是好看。来到Kampong Phluk的水上人家,许多光着身子的小孩肆无忌惮的在湖里划水嬉戏,想必早已谙熟水性;大一点的男孩则撑着高高的篙子蹲在船头,熟练地操控着小船。小船驶过水上人家,我们来到湖中观景台,眼界顿时开阔起来。时至旱季开始,水位开始下降,观景台简陋的小梯经已高离水平面,我们在梯子悬空的情况下战战兢兢的爬上观景台。黄昏时刻,眼前夕阳映红了半边天,落日余晖,尽入眼帘。

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic boat driver made it worthwhile”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

Having read some bad reviews of Kompong Phluk and other floating villages I had fairly low expectations for the day. We took a tuk tuk driver from our hotel at 2pm taking about 45 mins to reach the port where the boats leave from ($15 for the tuk tuk for the return trip), the journey out was really interesting going through villages, although be warned the road is very bumpy for the last ten or fifteen minutes. Once at the 'port' we went to a ticket booth and paid $40 (for two people) for the boat and driver (private boat). Some have commented that this is a substantial amount in Cambodia, and I guess it is quite high, but that's what you would pay to hire a vehicle and driver for a similar trip, so it's not too bad. If this is not in your budget, you can do the trip from a company called Tuk Tuk Tours who charge $15 per person including tuk tuk and boat - obviously you are sharing the boat with many more people. Once on the boat, it took about 40 mins to go out to the village (this was in October, I think the time would vary a lot depending on season and water height). The village itself was fascinating with everything from temples, police station, medical centre, school etc, build on the water on stilts. It was really interesting to see people go about their daily chores on the water. However, we did feel that some of the villagers were not happy about the presence of tourists. It seemed to be very divided, those who may have been making money from the tourism were friendly, smiling and waving, but others seemed angered by our presence and the children wouldn't wave back to us, which is unlike elsewhere in Cambodia. The boat first stopped at an 'Eco centre' or something where a man got on the boat and told us it was about $15 to stop here and it was money for the villagers or something. I felt like it was a bit of a scam, and said we didn't want to stop there - the man looked very angry with me, got off our boat back onto the main platform and kicked our boat away from the side with his foot! I'm not too sure what the place was about but I'm very pleased we didn't get off and pagan extra $15. We instead stopped at a restaurant where we had a snack and a beer. You could also take a smaller boat and row into the mangroves from here, although we chose not to. Once finished at the restaurant our boat driver took us out to the end of the village where we saw an amazing sunset, before making our way back through the village, and towards the port. The driver stopped on the way back through the village, and a small rowing boat with his mother and perhaps nephew pulled up alongside and gave him his dinner to take back! We then made our way back to the port, and got caught in a huge storm as it was getting quite dark which we enjoyed and thought was the most exciting bit! Definitely worth a visit out, although it is expensive by Cambodian standards

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“There is not any”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

It doesn't have a price and they are always try to over charge for the boat. Theu must make a price list for it. The villige was soso not that fantastic. $10 to $15 is the right price for a tuk tuk to go and return from the city areas(2 ways)

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kadena-cho, Japan
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
61 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“A step back into the past”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013 via mobile

I'm glad we took in this area. It was somewhat interesting to see villagers, away from the cities, and how they live & work the same as they have decades (or centuries). The poverty level was a little depressing though. The visit to the major temples was much more enjoyable than this excursion.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kompong Phluk also viewed

Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 

Been to Kompong Phluk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kompong Phluk, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Kompong Phluk to your Saves list