We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT day trip, a bit pricey + questionable use of funds by management” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kompong Phluk

Kompong Phluk
On the Tonle Sap, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Improve this listing
Ranked #40 of 79 Attractions in Siem Reap
Type: Cultural
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Kompong Phluk is a village on the Tonle Sap Great Lake.
New York City, New York
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“GREAT day trip, a bit pricey + questionable use of funds by management”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

very good eye opening day trip to see the cambodian way of life on the river ($20 entry, 45 min outside of siem reap).
hundreds of homes built on stilts 10+ meters in the air. tour guides and boats are local. highly recommend with this disclaimer: it appears the company that runs the tours Sea Pac Investment Co Ltd barely pays the tour guides, which is especially disgusting considering they charge $20/person and the villagers who truly need the cash see less than a fraction of it. we tipped our boat driver / tourguide when we were out of site of anyone else, so he could hopefully directly pocket it and use for his family.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    136
    104
    21
    25
    35
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“See Tonle Sap Lake”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

This tour felt like a complete scam, not worth the trip out there or the money spent. I have reviewed this under Tonle Sap Lake.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
42 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Great afternoon!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012 via mobile

Took an afternoon trip out to Kompong Pluk with someone I just met at the guesthouse. We hired a tuk tuk driver for $15 and he drove us to the boats. The ride to the boats is picturesque. When you drive on the dirt roads it can be bumpy and a little dusty but it's not horrible. The boat tickets for two people was $30. Our driver came on the boat with us too. Balance on the boat is key :) there were 5 people total (boat and tuk tuk driver, boat driver's kid and us ladies). Sudden shifts may feel like the boat is going to capsize but it won't. The ride was magnificent. Kompong Pluk was awesome and the boat driver slowed down so we can witness life in the village. We also (anchored) in the lake which was very tranquil. Watching the sun setting over Kompong Pluk and from the road in the tuk tuk (so cool our driver stopped so we can take pictures) was breathtaking. After reading negative reviews about the floating village (chong kneas), I'm so happy we came to Kompong Pluk. It wasn't "touristy" and our boat driver was good. We didn't stop anywhere or interact with locals aside from waving to each other so I can't comment on that experience. Overall Kompong Pluk is a fantastic way to spend any time of the day.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maroochydore, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“interesting afternoon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

It was so nice to get out on the water and see how the other half live.. Amazing.. its a must do.. jump off the boat and walk around the village the people are lovely

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siem Reap, Cambodia
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Worth it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Heard bad things in regards to scams and over priced boat rides here and at the floating villages. Decided on here as thought would be a less hassle filled trip and was proved right. Cycled out there (60k round trip) $2 mountain bike, $15 boat ride, $2.50 paddle through the mangroves. Swam in Tonle Sap lake too and chilled there on the boat for about 1/2 hour when our captain had a nap.
Cool experience overall I would recommend. They will charge you what they think you can pay, I light negotiated on costs. Bring drinks before you go out in the boat, the cafe out in the village our boat stopped at had a large water for $2 on the menu!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kompong Phluk also viewed

Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 
Siem Reap Province, Cambodia
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 

Been to Kompong Phluk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kompong Phluk, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.