We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pre Rup

Pre Rup
Siem Reap, Cambodia
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 79 Attractions in Siem Reap
Type: Ancient Ruins, Religious Sites, Cultural
Attraction details
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Visited Pre Rup twice. Once for my second day of the tour, where I took my sweet time in exploring the small but beautiful temple, and the second to view the sunset. Definitely a must see

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

402 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    180
    165
    55
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“On route to Bantey Srei”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

This was a stop off to Bantey Srei and we enjoyed the break -have to climb to top but the views are good-lot of details on temple-breaks up journey to bantey Srei some 35-37km from Siem Riep

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
73 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“The View Rewards The Climb”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

The last of the temples visited during my visit, Pre Rup is a pretty much classical temple mountain with the unusual feature of having large towers just inside the outer enclosing wall (the only temple I recall having this feature). Due to tiredness, I almost didn't stop for this temple but I'm glad I did. The climb is steep and a little treacherous in wet weather but the view at the top is a fair reward and it must offer a magnificent sunset view although it was cloudy on the day I visited.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SGF, MO
Top Contributor
225 reviews 225 reviews
105 attraction reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
428 helpful votes 428 helpful votes
“Lesser visited but worth the stop”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013 via mobile

We stopped in on our way from Banteay Samre to Ta Prohm after a morning visit to Bantreay Srei and the Landmine Museum. The towers are awesome but its a steep climb. Our son climbed to the top and was given access to the "no admittance" area by a guard and took some awesome photos.
The only thing I didn't care for was that some touts were allowed to carry their wares inside the entrance which made photographing the area a bit more difficult but they were not aggressive peddlers.
Overall, a very worthwhile, much less crowded stop.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
“Awesome, one of my favourites”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Pre Rup was also awesome, it's gorgeous walking around, it makes you wonder how it would have looked when it was built. A good one to add to the list. We loved this one.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pre Rup also viewed

Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 

Been to Pre Rup? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pre Rup, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.