We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful and well restored” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Banteay Samre

Banteay Samre
Banteay Srei | Angkor, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 78 Attractions in Siem Reap
Type: Ancient Ruins, Architectural Buildings, Historic Sites, Landmarks/ Points of Interest, Cultural
Attraction details
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Peaceful and well restored”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

The temple is a little off the standard round - about 3 km east of the East Mebon. This means that you stand a good chance of having it to yourself.
The impressive surrounding wall is about 6m high. The gopuras have some good deep relief carvings of scenes from the Ramayana. There are more relatively well preserved carvings on the lintels and pediments of the inner enclosure surrounding the single tower.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    161
    85
    23
    3
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Texas City, Texas
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Not worth the time”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

When we went here,we were surprised that the ruins are too smalls.
We spend much time to visit here,but no amazing and we think Angkor wat is enough.
There are many ruins in Siem Reap,but almost ruins are similar and we cannot visit all ruins.You should think and go where you really want to go.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcestershire, UK
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
57 attraction reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
“My favourite temple”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

This is a little off the beaten track and when we arrived there we had the place to ourselves. As well as the temple building there is an impressive terrace outside with an elevated walkway leading off into the jungle ... I wondered what it led to when the temple was in use. This is a special and serene place.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Too short time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

We did not have enough time to visit this temple to its full extend, but were there long enough to experience the intimacy that is created through the fact that the temple has two moats (as the only one in Angkor). It closes at 5pm (we thought at 6pm, hence why we were late)

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Overlooked gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

This place is gorgeous. It's off the beaten track and very quiet so you can appreciate it in peace. It's smaller than the well-known temples, but with beautiful carvings that are very deep and relatively well-preserved.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Banteay Samre also viewed

Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 

Been to Banteay Samre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banteay Samre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.