We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pure elegance and luxury service amidst a dramatic backdrop” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pavillon d'Orient Boutique-Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Pavillon d'Orient Boutique-Hotel to your Saves list
Pavillon d'Orient Boutique-Hotel
Road no 60 (rd to Angkor), after Psah Leu market, Siem Reap, Cambodia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Tuk tuk with driver
Ranked #4 of 231 Hotels in Siem Reap
New York, NY
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Pure elegance and luxury service amidst a dramatic backdrop”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2009

I have just finished my three night stay here and couldn't wait to write a review of this hidden treasure. From my initial contact with the hotel to my final farewell, every step along the way was a delight. It was truly the closest thing I've experienced to perfection yet in terms of a welcoming and genuinely friendly staff, beautiful decor, little touches such as a Khmer traditional story left on your pillow every night, a departure gift when you leave! The thoughtfulness put into every aspect of this fine boutique hotel was something you rarely experience - unless you are paying the price of a 5 star place - and even with that price you don't necessarily get the kind of service you'd expect. I've stayed at them all - hostel to Leading Hotels of the World - and this is one of my favorites.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,378 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,229
    132
    13
    4
    0
See reviews for
262
781
86
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2009

My work leads me to travel extensively throughout Africa, Asia and Europe and I spend an average of 150 nights a year in hotels for professional reasons. This time, I decided to spend a few days in Bangkok and Cambodia for some romantic vacation with my wife. We selected our different hotels according to reviews displayed by TripAdvisor. We were looking for hotels with charm, of human- size and in the range of 80 – 140 USD a night.

We stayed at the Pavillon d’Orient in April 2009 for five nights. We booked a room through their website. A taxi was waiting for us upon arrival and took us to the Pavillon d’Orient. The hotel’s neighborhood has nothing special to note and is not particularly glamorous. However, as soon as we entered the vicinity of the hotel, we were in a different world, greeted by very friendly staff members and by Sebastien the hotel’s manager. The check-in procedure was effective, professional and very pleasant with some drinks and fresh napkins offered to us while writing our details.

Our room (as all the 18 rooms of the Pavillon) had a correct/decent size and volume. It was well furnished with a nice bed, comfortable mattress, pillows and bed sheets, a mosquito-net, flat screen TV and all the amenities you can expect from such hotel’s category (fridge, safe, boiler, drinks, etc.). The bathroom is large, very clean and very functional. We also particularly enjoyed the private balcony overlooking a luxurious tropical garden and a very large swimming pool with a cascade. Our climate control system was working perfectly fine. Yes, indeed the A/C turns off when one leaves the room with the key as it was noted by one of the reviewer, but that is always the case in hotels in Asia. I personally find it a smart and logical energy cost saving system. This was in any way not a problem as the room cooled down in no-time when the A/C was on.

The room price included the cost of a tuk-tuk for the full day until 10:00 p.m. This was a great pleasant surprise as there was no need for lengthy price negotiations or explanations to be given for itineraries (our tuk-tuk driver had a rudimentary but sufficient English level).

The room price included as well a very complete breakfast (buffet). We also had a few lunches and dinners at the restaurant. The restaurant area is open and has ceiling fans. The food in terms of quantity and quality was totally fine but the choice of Asia food was somewhat limited.

What specially stroke us were the exceptional friendliness and effectiveness of the staff with everybody (despite some rather limited English skills for some of them) and the professionalism of the manager Sebastien who had remained discreet but present and helpful throughout our stay. The staff has made a huge difference among all hotels we went through and contributed to the memorable stay we had in Siem Reap.

Among all the hotels I have known so far, I have no hesitation to rank the Pavillon d’ Orient as an incredible and best value for money. I do therefore confirm the highly positive reviews made by previous contributors of TripAdvisor on this specific hotel. I therefore highly recommend this charming and small-size hotel for a romantic and relaxed vacation.

Johann and Valerie

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2009

We chose this hotel based on trip advisor reviews and the advertised proximity to Angkor.

We arrived at Siem Reap airport after dark and we expected the included transfer to the hotel. After 30 minutes of waiting and no ride materializing, we hired one of the many eager cab drivers for a ride to the hotel. At the hotel, we were greeted warmly by the owner. He apologized for the lack of a ride and explained that it was because we did not send him our flight information. We didn't think this was true but we accepted the explanation because we were not really sure at the time. We checked our email when we got home and we had indeed sent our flight info. The hotel's mistake was really not a big deal, but the subsequent denial was annoying. To their credit, and despite their denial, they gave us $7 of the $10 it cost us for the cab ride without us even asking.

The hotel common areas are quite charming. All of the common areas, including the restaurant and lobby, are sheltered from the rain but are not air conditioned. We ate at the included breakfast every morning and it was good.

The room was acceptable but certainly not exceptional. The bathroom was nice and big but the shower drains out onto the floor which made for wet, slippery trips to the toilet. The bed was very hard and the sheets thin. The door to our room was paper thin and so poorly constructed that you could actually see light through it in several places. The air conditioner was undersized for the room. The A/C turns off when one leaves the room with the key. The room got quite hot while we were off exploring the temples and took hours to cool down to a comfortable temperature when we returned. Furthermore, the A/C would turn off when the temperature got down to the desired temperature. It did not cycle on and off to maintain a temperature. So, we either had to turn the A/C on again in the middle of the night if we got hot or set it to an obscenely low temperature that it would never actually reach.

The hotel is about 3.5 km from Old Market and this journey takes about 10 minutes in a tuk-tuk. There is no advantage to this remote location. The map on the hotel website is deceptively not-to-scale: the hotel should be about four times further East than their map indicates. The Old Market area of Siem Reap is actually about 1 km closer to Angkor Wat and Angkor Thom than the hotel. The "neighborhood" around the hotel has no redeeming qualities. This is probably not a place you will want to walk around and explore. You might want to check out the relative locations on Google Earth before deciding to stay here: Pavillion D'Orient (--------------------), Old Market ( --------------------), Angkor Entrance Station (--------------------).

My wife and I are puzzled by the glowing reviews on Trip Advisor. According to the ratings, Pavillion D'Orient is the best hotel in all of Asia! This is amazingly inconsistent with our experience and opinion
.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, AZ
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2009

First, let me say that Angkor Wat is amazing! My wife and I have traveled extensively and we have this sight on the top of our lists. Just as impressive as the temples was the Pavillon d'Orient Hotel. We loved our stay there. The rooms are well-decorated and the grounds are so peaceful. The food was fantastic and the service was amazing. The staff was the most helpful of any place that we have EVER stayed, including 5-star hotels in the US and Europe. They organized english-speaking guides, unlimited tuk-tuk service (included in room price), a couples massage, had a bottle of wine waiting for us, and had turn down service every night. Their smiles greeted us at every corner. Basically, it was the perfect stay. We did not want to leave. I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough. If you are anywhere in Asia, get to Cambodia, get to Angkor Wat, and get to the Pavillon d'Orient. You will not regret it.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2009

These are lovely lodgings and great value. Well-sized room, comfortable beds and modern bathroom. Staff do everything to be helpful. Generous breakfast – try some of Cambodian honey and home made tomato jam. Try the restaurant for other meals – the chicken amok was delicious.
Consider the three day package – it is nice to have an air-conditioned car – a tuk-tuk can lose their romance quite quickly on the longer hauls.
We had a great massage after the days climbing the temples.
Remember the dollarisation of the economy. Everything is quoted and converted in USD so you may as well just take them. Get plenty of singles.

  • Stayed April 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
93 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
359 helpful votes 359 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2009

Just a short review of my stay at this establishment. It is simply one of the best accommodation I had over the many trips to Cambodia. The people, place and atmosphere were all different from even the poshy hotels. There was plenty of personal touches and every bit of the service you can think of was delivered promptly to the doorstep. They even remember guests' names! I think if I were to summarize my praises for this establishment - I would say, try this little quaint hotel. Afterwhich you will never want to stay elsewhere. I had a brilliant time in Siem Reap for 5 days and this accommodation plays a huge part.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex UK
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2009

We were really surprised to find this Oasis. Is 10 minutes out of town on a fairly uninhabited bit of road. But as long as yt'ou use the free tuk-tuk its not a problem. Indeed we were allocated a driver when we arrived and he was with us wherever we went. Having taken us to every Temple we asked from the crack of dawn, he was there in the evening to take us to the restaurants or the amazing Swiss cellist - you will know what I mean if you go there. This is a very luxurious hotel for the price, with a wonderful pool.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pavillon d'Orient Boutique-Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pavillon d'Orient Boutique-Hotel

Address: Road no 60 (rd to Angkor), after Psah Leu market, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
#3 Spa Hotel in Siem Reap
#5 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
#23 Business Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Pavillon d'Orient Boutique-Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pavillon d`Orient Boutique Hotel Siem Reap

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pavillon d'Orient Boutique-Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.