We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded expectations” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pavillon d'Orient Boutique-Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Pavillon d'Orient Boutique-Hotel to your Saves list
Pavillon d'Orient Boutique-Hotel
3.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   Road no 60 (rd to Angkor), after Psah Leu market, Siem Reap, Cambodia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 244 Hotels in Siem Reap
Christchurch
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Exceeded expectations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

From the moment I made our booking we received outstanding service from this hotel. I had several email conversations with the manager, Sebastien, and he was always so helpful and friendly that I had very high expectations for our stay. When we got there my expectations were actually exceeded. Every single staff member was amazing, they got to know us so quickly and we felt incredibly welcome. Our rooms were beautiful, we were on the upper level looking over the main pool, and we slept very soundly indeed. Breakfast was available at any time during the day, which is a brilliant idea because some people get up early to go to watch the sunrise at Angkor Wat and it means they can get breakfast when they come back. There are some self serve items and some you can choose from the menu. They also give you different juices, home made yoghurt and warmed croissants when you arrive for breakfast. The dinner we had there was also delicious and everything was served with beautiful smiles and warm wishes. I enjoyed a free massage and then decided to have a manicure and pedicure as the women in the spa treatment area were making me feel so comfortable, it was hard to leave! We definitely recommend staying here and would like to thank all the staff once again for looking after us so well.

Room Tip: Our rooms on the upper floor of the block over looking the main pool (206 and 207) were wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,505 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,338
    148
    15
    4
    0
See reviews for
290
846
92
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

Pavillon d'Orient Boutique-Hotel is a nice hotel for sure: but does it deserve to be ranked as second in Siem Reap? I don't see why. I've just returned from four nights and thought:

Plus side:
- One of the pools is nice, the other dated. Could do with some more unbrellas though.
- Gardens are nicely done and the lobby is welcoming.
- Free tuk tuk and allocated driver for 12 hours a day: nice touch.
- Staff were friendly and reception staff helpful.
- Cleaning and housekeeping efficient and friendly.

Negatives:
- Rooms (not the suites which I didn't see) were dated: quite dark and bathrooms need renovation.
- Staff were very friendly, but lacked anticipation and pro-activity. No real sense of poolside "service" - you had to find them, not them encourage you to take that next drink.
- Breakfast was OK - poor quality sausage and a little lacklustre, omlettes very good though/
- No bar or real area to relax in the evening.
- Location quite far from town and thus a little isolated (overcome by the free tuk tuk).

In short a nice place, with good potential. But a little more encouragement needed service-wise (certainly poolside) and rooms and smaller pool could do with some renovation.

Could be excellent, but at the moment probably does not merit it's ranking on TA and needs some work to live up to this ranking.

Room Tip: Get an upper level room: ground level lacks privacy and would be dark.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
POManager, General Manager at Pavillon d'Orient Boutique-Hotel, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Dear Clients,

Thank for taking time to write a review about your stay with us. First of all we are glad to know you have enjoyed the service delivered by our receptionists and housekeeping team.

However we are very sorry that you did not fully enjoy your stay. Regarding our pool bar service we are in fact not pro-active on it by choice. If we asked our staff to go regularly around our pools and encourage our clients to get a drink or food some may feel we are too pushy and disturbing. The relaxation and peacefulness of our clients have always been our main objective and this is why we are not pushing to make extra dollars. Each pool seating area has a small wooden table where a drinks list is placed. Our restaurant employees only come to take and bring order and clear the empty glasses, plates, towels and so on (they also can be asked for another order at the same time). To call our waiter/ress from our older pool a service ring is available as our restaurant cannot be seen from there. For the other swimming pool we did not think it was necessary to have another ring as it is located just in front of our pool bar/restaurant (10 meters away). However after having read your comment we have decided to add one there too.

Regarding the others negatives points:
- Rooms (not the suites which I didn't see) were dated: quite dark and bathrooms need renovation.
Every year we are doing some renovations. Due to our high occupancy during the high season we did not have the opportunity to do it yet. However from the 8th May each room will be refurbished.

- Breakfast was OK - poor quality sausage and a little lacklustre, omlettes very good though/
We are ordering sausage from an Australian chef. Usually our clients like these sausages but we understand that some may not like them. I will pass your comment to our supplier accordingly and see what we can do about it.
- No bar or real area to relax in the evening.
Actually we do have a lounge available next to our reception where you can relax and have drink or even lunch and/or dinner.

We wish you all the bests and we hope to have the pleasure to hosting you again in the future.

Warm regards from Angkor,

Sebastien and Pavillon d’Orient team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

We just left this fantastic hotel, where the staff was so helpful and everything was just too easy with their help! The included airport transfers, and our own tuk tuk was incredibly helpful - invaluable for our stay. With our own tuk tuk, it just took away the hassle of bargaining with tuk tuk drivers that approach you on almost every corner in town. Our driver was so lovely - he would spot us as soon as we step out of various places and before you know it, he'd driven the tuk tuk over to us with a big smile on his face.

We opted to pay extra for a tour guide for two days to take us around the temples and the guide they assigned to us (Mr. Ong Votha) was absolutely a gem - he had lots of interesting stories to tell and took us to all the great photo spots - often diverting our route around the temples to avoid the crowds.

The room was very comfortable, we slept incredibly well (but I also attribute that to hours of temple sightseeing!) and the staff always had a big smile on their faces, and helped us book restaurants, transfers, and advised on good timings to go from place to place. Breakfast goes for ages, which is great so if you have a bit of a free morning, you don't have to rush down to eat, and the hotel provides two medium-sized bottles of water every day in the room - just a matter of popping it in the fridge every day for handy bottles to take to the temples with you (you'll need it with the heat!). The hotel itself was lovely - had an old-world charm to it, very cosy and quaint, and in a much quieter part of Siem Reap - away from the hustle, bustle and noise of the main town area - but still close to it all (about 10 mins by tuk tuk)! The route to Angkor Wat was also through much quieter streets, which is great - about 10 mins away by tuk tuk as well.

Apart from that, there was only one negative thing I could say about this hotel - the shower head could do with more pressure but honestly, it is such an insignificant thing in comparison to all the many positives that this hotel offers.

A highly recommended hotel and would not hesitate to stay there again!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

Stayed here for 5 nights. Plus points - good breakfast, friendly staff, good tuk tuk service and clean rooms. Two swimming pools very pleasant and nice grounds and garden. Pool service not at all proactive, which involved hunting out staff for drinks - never once asked whether we wanted anything. Can't really see why this hotel does so well with reviewers pleasant enough but definitely lacking in any "wow" factor.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
POManager, General Manager at Pavillon d'Orient Boutique-Hotel, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Dear Client,

Thank you very much for your review. As you were sharing the room of the tripadvisor user "CWH London, UK" our management response regarding our pool service can been seen on the bottom of his review: “Just don't see the Trip Advisor Appeal”.

Have a nice day.

Warm regards from Angkor,

Sebastien and Pavillon d'Orient team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014 via mobile

Friendly and helpful staff. Rooms are clean and well maintained. No hidden charges. Complimentary Tuk Tuk service but stops quite early at 10 pm. A little too close to nature lot of creepy crawlies in public areas but luckily none in the room.

Stayed May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, NL
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014 via mobile

Tripadvisor did not steer us wrong with this great little hotel. The property seems like a colonial house which has been updated and converted to a hotel. This adds to the charm, and the amenities, including a beautiful salt water, are very nice as well. We also very much enjoyed the breakfast, which combined a few a la carte items, with a nice continental buffet spread. The spa was also very reasonably priced, and we went twice during our 3.5 day stay.

The best features were the incredibly friendly and helpful staff and the included tuk tuk driver, as others have mentioned. While a little outside the heart of the city, the convenience of a dedicated driver far outweighed any inconvenience this might otherwise cause.

Just a wonderful stay, and heartily recommended!

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

The hotel is at a good distance between the temples and city centre. The tuk tuk provided to us during the stay was the best feature of our stay. This hotel gets full marks for the convenience factor. The Junior Suite was a spacious room that looked thoroughly used. Came with a balcony facing the pool, however we were not comfortable using the balcony with other guests petting in the pool. The bed was comfortable and the furniture well kept. The toilet was clean, though I would have preferred one without any scratches on the seat cover. However the staff makes a good attempt in the upkeep of the rooms.
Apart from the homemade cakes and jams, breakfast was average.
The smiles were so wide, and the giggles so very often, it made me wonder. I suppose I'm spoilt by my experiences in Thailand and Bali where the smiles are genuine, and not required of the job. I was not able to opt for the free spa voucher because of my packed temple schedule. When I finally did try the "free" massage on the last day of my stay, it was half-heatedly and hurriedly delivered. I suppose a free massage for a departing guest doesn't have to be the best.
The Junior Suite that I was booked in had only a shower, while the Deluxe room that I was given after check out for a couple of hours, had a bath tub in it. The Junior Suite was definitely more spacious than the Deluxe Room.
Check in, check out were smooth. Airport transfers were efficient. The resort, the room and the food were pretty satisfactory. No bathroom slippers or body lotion in the bathroom. Enough water was provided on a daily basis. Bed was turned down on some days not others. Housekeeping forgot to clear food trays upon turn down, on one occasion.
Nothing to complain about, but nothing that wowed me. Would not return again.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pavillon d'Orient Boutique-Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pavillon d'Orient Boutique-Hotel

Address: Road no 60 (rd to Angkor), after Psah Leu market, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
#5 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
#6 Spa Hotel in Siem Reap
#28 Business Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Pavillon d'Orient Boutique-Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Despegar.com so you can book your Pavillon d'Orient Boutique-Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pavillon d`Orient Boutique Hotel Siem Reap

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pavillon d'Orient Boutique-Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.