We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't get the hype guys” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Pavillon d'Orient Boutique-Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Pavillon d'Orient Boutique-Hotel to your Saves list
Pavillon d'Orient Boutique-Hotel
Road no 60 (rd to Angkor), after Psah Leu market, Siem Reap, Cambodia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Tuk tuk with driver
Ranked #4 of 232 Hotels in Siem Reap
Brisbane
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Don't get the hype guys”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

Booked this accomodation as always based on recommedations from my fellow TA's.( It's my bible when travelling) I would say that 9 times out of 10 they are spot on. However on this occasion I just don't get it. Firstly all the staff were great, really friendly, genuinely helpful just lovely people. and our Tuk tuk driver was brilliant. My gripe is with the quality and standard of the rooms. Our newly refurbished well "partly" refurbished room felt grubby and well used, this is probably due to the fact that the tiles are probably original from when the hotel was bulit and where chipped and badly stained and didn't look at all clean the standard of the tiles continued throughout. Breakfast wasn't great, infact we only ate there once as it wasn't worth the effort. The service and the standard of food was no more than OK. The bread was in a basket, and refilled and " hand" squashed down to fit in, without gloves! Cleanliness of the room and balcony left a lot to be desired. The furniture on the balcony wasn't swept or cleaned behind! There was a bulit in table in the room with a glass top, underneth the glass were dead mossies and strands of human hair. I knew that this wasn't 5 star accommdation and that's not was I was expecting, but I was expecting "boutique style and clean". One of the pools was very nice the other one not so much maybe that's why no one was around it. I know that I am in the minority here but I wouldn't stay again this was our 3rd trip to Siem Reap and I know for a fact that there are much, much better places to stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
POManager, General Manager at Pavillon d'Orient Boutique-Hotel, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Dear Client,

We, at the Pavillon d'Orient Boutique-Hotel provide a comments form to each client the evening before check out in order to collect a maximum of information about their stay and we do read carefully all comments post on the net because we always rely on feedback from our customers to maintain or improve our property and services.

Unfortunately this time we regret that we cannot use this review constructively, because there are several points that make us wonder what really motivate your decision to come to stay in our property during your third trip to Siem Reap.

Upon check in you have started to give us some negative comments (eg: you told us that our hotel was ugly and you did not understand our ranking on tripadvisor…) despite the fact that at that time you only saw the reception and did not see the rest of our property. Furthermore you were staying in our newly opened Junior suite (the rooms and buildings are completely new and have been opened on 16th October 2013). Finally upon check out you even mentioned to us that you were unable to fault our services and staff!

Please note we even sent a letter to tripadvisor and attach the comments form you have filled up before check out because there were some discrepancies with what you posted on tripadvisor (eg: service and cleanliness at breakfast that you noted good on our comments form and that you noted respectively just ok and bad on tripadvisor!).

Our team will continue to try is best to bring our clients an unforgettable souvenir of our wonderful country and people.

Warm regards from Angkor,


Sebastien and Pavillon d’Orient team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,381 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,231
    133
    13
    4
    0
See reviews for
263
782
86
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
kidderminster
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

My wife and I booked this hotel based on the reviews and ratings from Trip Advisor and we were were not disappointed. The appearance from the road looks somewhat disappointing but once inside the hotel is excellent. It offers excellent accommodation, extremely helpful staff,a personal tuk tuk for your stay, a guide for the temples, airport transfers, massage and good food. We visited the main temples in the morning and got back to chill out around the pool in the late afternoon which was ideal. The staff decorated our room with rose petals and flowers for our wedding anniversary and could not have been more helpful. They even checked a query on our departure flight with the airline and airport as they did not recognise the departure time and flight number. I would recommend the hotel for anyone visiting Siem Reap it offers all the facilities and extras that will make your holiday complete, trust the positive reviews it will be worth it

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island, Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

I think some people need to realize that a "5 star review" does NOT mean that it is a "5 star hotel". Most people on trip advisor rate hotels and attractions based on the experiences that they have had at these particular places. My husband and I had an absolutely wonderful experience at the Pavilion d' Orient. The pick up service was great, the reception was really nice and they explained a lot about the hotel and area. The fact that you have your own personal tuk tuk driver the entire time is unbeatable, the hotel and rooms are beautiful and clean, the pool is great, the night market and Angkor Wat are a short tuk tuk ride away, the food is good, we loved the daily fruit baskets and fresh flowers in our room, and the staff were all phenomenal. This hotel deserves it's high rating and we would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

Chose Pavilion on Trip Advisor reviews. Was not disappointed. Very nicely appointed room with many extras to make guests feel welcom and comfortable. Staff are extremely helpful with any requests you have and willingly arrange taxis, tuk tuks etc. Drivers chosen are careful and ensure the sites you want to visit are done in the best order to maximise your touring. We did not eat dinner at the hotel but breakfast and lunches offered an excellent choice. A not too big, very caring hotel in a lovely garden setting. 10 out of 10 - ticks all the boxes. Highly recommend this hotel to anyone planning to stay in Siem Reap.

Room Tip: We had room 17 up one flight of stairs overlooking one of the two swimming pools. No disturbing nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gliwice, Poland
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

We spent two nights in this hotel.The standard is good three stars (european).Food was good,fresh and tasty.Two swimming pools have enough sun beds.We had our own tuk-tuk driver who went with us on a trip to the town and next day with a tour guide to Angkor complex.Be aware of pickpockets in Angkor because we heard that many mobile phones and wallets were stolen there.We had also 30 minute massage for free,it was ok.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014 via mobile

The Pavilion d'Orient lived up to the reviews we had read. The grace and charm of the Cambodian staff made our stay perfect. Our promised personal tuk tuk driver (Sokham?) spoke fabulous English and was endlessly helpful in our decision making in our limited time to visit Ankor Wat.

Although the hotel is a couple of kilometres from the centre of Siem Reap, this is easily overcome through the tuk tuk service and we had 2 very memorable evenings in the city.

Our balcony room was charming, spotlessly clean, had a great bathroom and room services. The 2 pools were refreshing and well kept. The complimentary welcome massage was great. We would return here if we had an opportunity.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014 via mobile

Whenever I find a perfect place to stay, I am always torn about sharing it with strangers, in case it gets too popular and the place changes. Our family of four (including two teenagers) have loved staying in this boutique hotel with its beautiful, friendly staff and lovely rooms, 2 big pools and gardens. Breakfasts were a delight, and the free massages and tuk tuk service were a lovely surprise. We stayed in a junior deluxe suite, and they put in an extra bed without charge. On our last day we asked for a late check out and they offered us another room for the rest of the day, also without charge. These touches were typical of their service throughout our time here. Keep up the good work and your 5-star rating is certainly well-deserved.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pavillon d'Orient Boutique-Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pavillon d'Orient Boutique-Hotel

Address: Road no 60 (rd to Angkor), after Psah Leu market, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
#3 Spa Hotel in Siem Reap
#5 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
#23 Business Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Pavillon d'Orient Boutique-Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pavillon d`Orient Boutique Hotel Siem Reap

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pavillon d'Orient Boutique-Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.