We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely oasis and remarquable value for money” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pavillon d'Orient Boutique-Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Pavillon d'Orient Boutique-Hotel to your Saves list
Pavillon d'Orient Boutique-Hotel
Road no 60 (rd to Angkor), after Psah Leu market, Siem Reap, Cambodia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Tuk tuk with driver
Ranked #4 of 230 Hotels in Siem Reap
switzerland
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
178 helpful votes 178 helpful votes
“Lovely oasis and remarquable value for money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

The only reason anyone might have to go to Siem Reap is to visit Angkor and the only good place to stay while there is Pavillon d'Orient. All has been said about if from various Tripadvisor fans and all is correct. Avoid the superluxurious 300+ USD a night hotels, unless you are the kind of person that cannot travel without her diamond necklace or a 50.000 dollar watch. Very friendly staff, good service, reasonable prices, in a city where monthly salaries are lower than the cost of a hotel night.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,375 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,226
    132
    13
    4
    0
See reviews for
262
778
86
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012 via mobile

Just completed three night stay at Pavillon and it was excellent. The staff was incredibly friendly and helpful. The room was nice and the grounds were nice and quaint. We took the option of three nights including a private car driver and it was well worth it. Opted for an English speaking guide for the three days as well and very useful. From pickup at airport, through all temple stops And airport drop off the driver and guide were very engaged. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

Like many other reviewers, picked this hotel on Trip Advisor's recommendation and couldn't be more satisfied. The place is a smaller boutique hotel, with lots of charm - think French colonial style, with large airy rooms, good a/c - and super friendly service. Exceptional value for money with unlimited access to tuk tuk driver around town and temples. Hired Sochem who went out of his way to make the trip comfortable, good English and very friendly explaining historical details and countryside along the way - went out for a day out to some far away temples, incl Beng Mealea (highly recommended). Did not make it up to the pyramid-style temple called Koh Ker (but that could also be included in 1 day trip)..Hundreds of temples abound in the area, but with 2 days could only see the highlights, so would love to go back for an extended stay - avoid the major temples on Sundays if possible due to the large number of tourist groups visiting. All in all had a fab stay and can highly recommend the Pavillon to anyone visiting Siem Reap / Angkor area.

Room Tip: #9 on second floor gets you panoramic view of pool and lovely sunny mornings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

I chose this hotel because of its very high TripAdvisor recommendations, and I was quite pleased with it. The hotel is in impeccable condition, with large rooms and I had a great balcony/porch with my room. The staff were tremendously good. The air conditioning worked well, which is very important in July in Cambodia. They provide free car transport to and from the airport, and free tuk-tuk's. The hotel is about 3-4 kM from the active area around the OldCity/Pub Street, which has an advantage in being quiet. I didn't stay in those areas, but I expect that they were louder.

However, we sometimes had a difficult time explaining the location of the hotel to tuk-tuk drivers. So I recommend this hotel highly, and I also recommend the food served at the hotel. If you stay there and take a tuk-tuk into town, you should either plan ahead for a return tuk-tuk (provided by the hotel), or bring one of their cards with directions to a driver.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jindera, New South Wales, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
237 helpful votes 237 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

This is a wonderful place to stay. The staff are all really warm and welcoming, and they love to have a good laugh. Fresh tropical fruit in your room everyday: mangosteens, tiny bananas, longans was a real treat. i loved the contemplative bedtime story left on your pillow every evening. Our personal tuk-tuk driver was a real treasure, he was funny, he was always there on time and he really looked out for us. i would recommend this place for lone travellers, couples and families, they catered really well for all types of travellers

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinay Traveler
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012 via mobile

I picked this hotel purely on Trip Advisor's recommendation and we couldn't have been more delighted! The Pavillon Orient whisked us away to a more romantic time and place. The staff was the epitome of friendliness and service. The food was fantastic! The room and the rest of the place was so unforgettable, we really didn't want to leave! You 'll never get a better deal than this. I am recommending this to anyone who will listen! The manager Sebastien was such a dear, it's no wonder this place is tops!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

Well, my wife and I just left Pavillon d'Orient this morning. We were sad to leave. After reading all of the glowing reviews on Tripadvisor I decided to book three nights here for our stay in Siem Reap, on our Cambodian holiday celebrating our 20th wedding anniversary. We were not disappointed at all. In fact, this hotel has now become the standard of perfection for all other hotels to attempt to attain...

From the first moment we walked through the airport's door, we experienced beautiful helpful service. We were picked up from the airport in a lovely, clean Camry. The hotel is only about 15 mins from the airport and gave us a chance to see the area. Through the hotel gates we were seated in the foyer area, given a lovely refreshing lemongrass drink and given a lovely presentation by Kunthea about the hotel. All of the workers are so gracious and friendly. It's amazing.

Our room was on the second floor with a balcony and a great view of the pool and garden area. There is an attention to detail in the rooms and the hotel restaurant that I have never seen before. For example, the two teacups and spoons are placed exactly right. The washcloths in the bathroom are folded artistically. The bed is made in such a beautiful fashion. Down in the restaurant, one of the waitresses (Sari?) is constantly adjusting the fruit, with a very attentive eye on guests to make sure every need is met. Again - amazing. The TV was good. Maybe the only negative is that the bed is a little hard. But that seems to be the style in Cambodia. The shower was powerful and huge. The bath was lovely. Water was hot. It was a lovely room.

The restaurant: the breakfast (included) is fabulous. A great choice of fresh fruits and tea and coffee, french toast, bacon, pork sausages, your choice of eggs, etc. makes it possible to eat a big breakfast and then save money on lunch. The choices for other meals at the restaurant are also good with very cheap prices (around $5 a meal). But the service in the restaurant was perfect. I have never experienced anything like that before.

The pool was lovely and warm. It was very relaxing to swim and then lay on a garden reclining chair. The whole garden area is exceptionally clean and fresh.

We loved the inclusion of a tuk tuk driver. Our driver (Saron?) was great - a lovely, friendly, young man with a great sense of humour. Very helpful. He was always available to take us wherever we wanted. It was good to not have to get another tuk tuk driver...

Mrs Philly at the front desk was a beautiful helpful young lady, with a fantastic sense of humour. We had some good conversations with her. It's great to be in a hotel where you are recognized and are able to interract on a personal level.

When we would return from our evening meal we would find a little scroll with a "bedtime story" to read. The stories are Cambodian folk tales. We loved that! Just a little detail that made our stay at Pavillon D'Orient so special.

We had massages at the spa twice. Very lovely. We were spoiled! :)

I don't know what else to say. I'm sure this sounds exagerrated, but it's not. This little hotel is perfection. We can't wait to return. Next time we'll bring our children.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pavillon d'Orient Boutique-Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pavillon d'Orient Boutique-Hotel

Address: Road no 60 (rd to Angkor), after Psah Leu market, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
#3 Spa Hotel in Siem Reap
#6 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
#22 Business Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Pavillon d'Orient Boutique-Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pavillon d`Orient Boutique Hotel Siem Reap

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pavillon d'Orient Boutique-Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.