We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Lovely Soria Moria” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Soria Moria Boutique Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Soria Moria Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Soria Moria Boutique Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Wat Bo Road | Salakamraok, Siem Reap 063, Cambodia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #47 of 231 Hotels in Siem Reap
Tempe, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“The Lovely Soria Moria”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

We chose to stay at the Soria Moria after hearing about it on NPR. We could not have picked a better place! Our flight arrive into Siem Reap late in the evening and tuk tuk driver was at the airport ready to whisk us away. He was also our driver for the next three days of our adventures. The staff at the Soria Moria are welcoming, friendly and always available for questions. The staff even packed up a boxed breakfast for our sunrise trip to Angkor Wat. The Soria Moria is simple, charming and a great value for the location.

Room Tip: Be sure to check out the roof top bar for a drink after a long day at the temples...the sunset view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

522 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    347
    139
    28
    6
    2
See reviews for
53
189
95
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Siem Reap, Cambodia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

I recently stayed at the Soria Moria boutique hotel in Siem Reap, Cambodia. I just loved the experience. The staff were so friendly and welcoming and couldn't do enough for me to make my stay so pleasant. The room was very clean and beautifully decorated. Simple yet elegant. I will be staying there again for a week very soon and know it will also be a wonderful experience.

Room Tip: I stayed in a front room that overlooked the main road and there was no problem with noise. So I wou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

The heart of this hotel is not only its social business model, but exudes in the friendly, quality service. Nothing was too much for the team here to help you enjoy your stay with them and in Siem Reap. They were there for you all the time. And great value for money. The only recommendation for the hotel as we told the was to do up the bathrooms; they look tired. Otherwise great.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

I really like this hotel a lot. The location, the room, the price, and the concept of responsible tourism. The staff are so friendly and extremely helpful. Great food at their restaurant too where they offer $1 for all drinks and tapas every wednesday night.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

A nice hotel to stay at in Siem Reap. Nice, clean rooms, lovely service. The breakfast was nice and had lunch there a few times. In a good location, a quick walk to the markets. Would definitely recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Top Contributor
297 reviews 297 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

We have booked this hotel only on account of its demonstrated social business model; avowed spirit of building the capacity of the locals with vocational skills and entrepreneurial mindset. We have stayed from 5th thru 9th September at Room 202.

While we did have a overall OK experience, it could have been a truly great experience if only little attention and improvements are addressed. Let me enumerate.
Location: fantastic; well within the walking distance yet calm, serene & lovely locale
Reception: folks are great, specially Ms.Meredith and Mr.Poncha( guess I got it correct); but the service levels and customer orientation of AM needs definite improvement
Ambiance: nothing to rave about akin to a typical boutique hotel. Just simple and unpretentious clean lobby invites the guest
Room: this is the best part of the deal. Very large spacious, well appointed, clean rooms. Definite USP of this property. However housekeeping needs improvement interms of cleanliness, attention to detail.
Breakfast spread: simple just fine; but the spirit of service is great.
Travel arrangements: can be made better with absolute professionalism with its vendors/tuk tuk drivers; to ensure that its brand equity is maintained.
Room is also loaded with information booklets on tours, prices, etc., which is very welcome.
Staff in general are quite warm, helpful, proactive and efficient.
But the property needs a good round of refurbishment to be called as Boutique hotel and customer orientation of AM needs improvement.

Room Tip: All the rooms are very large, spacious, well maintained in general.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

If you what to stay in a hotel (budget to mid range) that Ticks all the boxes Soria Moria is the place to stay in Seim Reap.It's an awesome place to relax and sleep after exploring the temples and markets.The staff are extremely friendly and can help you with everything you need to make you stay in Cambodia an enjoyable one .eg bike- hire ,tours ,massage , etc .They even have a Swimming pool and spa .The Fusion Restaurant has special nights and entertainment so you don't even have to leave the hotel to have a delicious meal plus there is also a roof top bar with surreal views at sunset where you can enjoy a few yummy cocktails !!! It's a easy 10min walk to Pub street and the markets .We have stayed there 3 times in the past 5 years and every year they are improving and are bursting with pride on achieving the highest standard for such a unique little boutique hotel

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Soria Moria Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Soria Moria Boutique Hotel

Address: Wat Bo Road | Salakamraok, Siem Reap 063, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Siem Reap
#52 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
#53 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Soria Moria Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Soria Moria is a small cheerful hotel in the center of Siem Reap, with 38 bright and spacious rooms, establish by a Norwegian couple. Being a small intimate hotel, the Soria Moria Team is able to provide its guests with personalized service. It’s a 15 minute drive to Angkor Wat, and walking distance to the old market & the hustle and bustle of town. The hotel as an international restaurant and a Rooftop bar with great views, and there is also an open-sky Jacuzzi and a sundeck available. The initial idea behind Soria Moria was to combine a business opportunity with a strong focus on helping the community in which we work through various means. Through Soria Moria Educational Development Program the local employees have recently become majority owners of the business – an initiative to empower locals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, HostelWorld, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Soria Moria Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Soria Moria Boutique
Soria Moria Boutique Siem Reap

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Soria Moria Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.