We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth every cent!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Soria Moria Boutique Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Soria Moria Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Soria Moria Boutique Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Wat Bo Road | Salakamraok, Siem Reap 063, Cambodia   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free pickup
Ranked #90 of 276 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Oslo, Norway
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Worth every cent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

After some really sweaty days in Siem Reap and Angkor Wat me and my boyfriend checked in at Soria Moria. It was a wonderful stay! Too bad we only could stay there for one night.

The rooms are big, the roof-top bar perfect after a long day of sightseing, and the jaccuzi felt like heaven on earth. The breakfast was one of the better I have tasted on our trip to Cambodia and Vietnam.

The staff was really friendly. I like this hotel espessially for its labour "policy". It is employers-owned and a good example of how empowerment and responsible ownership should be done. Creds to the norwegians runnning this place. The staff really looked like they enjoyed working at the hotel, and managed to make a good and friendly atmosphere.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

622 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

The Very Good + reviews have pretty much said it all. We were not disappointed.

We were late booking and the Soria Moria was not our first choice, but we are glad we found it. It should be higher on the ratings list for excellence of staff friendliness, service and value for money.

Location is a little away from the heavy tourist area around Pub Street, but the Wat Bo Road area is growing and the walk home via Street 25 bridge after a visit to Pub Street area is only around 600 - 700m and is a good way to walk off a bit of the food and drink.

There are some good restaurants in the local streets nearby if you would prefer not to use their own restaurant, and there are always tuk tuk drivers waiting outside.

The added bonus is that the staff have the opportunity to become investors in the business, and it's humbling to have the privilege to support this kind of initiative.

Room Tip: Room 105 is a fantastic room if you don't mind street noise (I do, but I had ear plugs!). Great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank manarch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Hotel was well located. Room was large and comfortable, Breakfast was delicious buffet with eggs cooked to order. Guides and tuk tuk drivers associated with the hotel are excellent and speak good English.

Complimentary airport pickup was a nice tiouch.

We were very pleased.

We enjoyed the happy hour on the hotel roof. A great place to watch the sun go down.

Thr hotel does very nice meals. A block or 2 away is another nice and affordable restaurant called Viroth's. We recomment this as well.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

It is good to see employers investing in their staff and it shows as the staff here seem genuinely happy in their work and are very friendly and chatty.
Along with a good buffet breakfast offering a variety of traditional and European dishes they also have a very good restaurant menu which can be enjoyed on the very pleasant roof terrace.
We arranged our temple tour through the hotel which guaranteed a good guide and driver.
The hotel is a short walk from the main town which was a blessing as the town can get busy with loads of open markets, bars and restaurants catering for the mass of tourists.
There is also a hot tub on the roof but unfortunately not enough room for a pool

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bendles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We spent some days including Christmas eve in Siem Reap, at SM.
Spacious rooms, clean and well equipped. Very nice and efficient staff. Nice bar on the rooftop.
Excellent location, just a few minutes walk from from the old market!
Our only "disappointment" was the lack of outdoor dining facilities. While you can have your breakfast just outside, dinner is served in the dining room. Coming from a cold nordic winter we enjoy having the dinner outside in the beautiful tropic night! Actually no real problem at SM, as the excellent and charming restaurant square 24 is just 50 m away!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexander S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We were grateful to find a room in this enterprise, through another hotel, when we arrived in siem reep with no booking and were being high jacked elsewhere by tuc tuc driver on commission.
The hotel reception greeted us weary and hot travellers with a face towel and drink. The staff are trained well to take responsibility and respond proactively. A very positive experience. A cocktail included is a great gesture and helps one experience the roof terrace and take up the offer of half price food ?early sat eve. We stayed 3 nights. The Thai massage was great. New Swimming pool should be operating now.

Room Tip: The location is away from the night scene.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Londonbatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

We couldn't have been happier with our stay at the Soria Moria. The staff was more welcoming and friendly than anywhere else I've stayed EVER. They always greeted us by name, asked us how our day was, how we slept, how our meal was. They were also extremely helpful when it came to planning our daily treks—there's so much to do in Siem Reap that it can be overwhelming to decide where to start. The whole property was also extremely clean, which is particularly impressive given how dusty the roads are!

There are definitely places you can stay in Siem Reap that would be more luxurious or a bit closer to the 'action' of the Pub Street area, but this hotel was perfect for a trip where you don't plan to spend much time in the room. (And why would you, given the location?) A great value, a short walk from dozens of excellent restaurants. Perfect, perfect, perfect.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cate L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.0 mi away
Frangipani Villa Hotel, Siem Reap
0.5 mi away
Golden Temple Villa
Golden Temple Villa
#35 of 276 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 stars 1,881 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kiri Boutique Hotel
Kiri Boutique Hotel
#97 of 276 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 stars 412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Memoire d' Angkor Boutique Hotel
0.6 mi away
Angkor Pearl Hotel
Angkor Pearl Hotel
#84 of 276 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 stars 1,289 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Villa Siem Reap
The Villa Siem Reap
#95 of 276 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 stars 687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Soria Moria Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Soria Moria Boutique Hotel

Address: Wat Bo Road | Salakamraok, Siem Reap 063, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Business Hotel in Siem Reap
#37 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
#56 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Soria Moria Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Soria Moria is a small cheerful hotel in the center of Siem Reap, with 38 bright and spacious rooms, establish by a Norwegian couple. Being a small intimate hotel, the Soria Moria Team is able to provide its guests with personalized service. It’s a 15 minute drive to Angkor Wat, and walking distance to the old market & the hustle and bustle of town. The hotel as an international restaurant and a Rooftop bar with great views, and there is also an open-sky Jacuzzi and a sundeck available. The initial idea behind Soria Moria was to combine a business opportunity with a strong focus on helping the community in which we work through various means. Through Soria Moria Educational Development Program the local employees have recently become majority owners of the business – an initiative to empower locals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Orbitz, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld and Ctrip TA so you can book your Soria Moria Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Soria Moria Boutique
Soria Moria Boutique Siem Reap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing