We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First visit: will not be the last” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant L

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Restaurant L
9 Franklin Tpk, Allendale, NJ 07401
+1 201-785-1112
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Restaurant L is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #10 of 20 Restaurants in Allendale
Price range: $20 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Allendale Avenue
Haworth, New Jersey
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“First visit: will not be the last”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Drive slowly lest you miss this place. Friendly, professional and attentive service. Good food, fairly priced. Attractive décor. Moderate noise level. Active bar scene. Try the lobster pizza as an appetizer. Dinner for two figure $100+/- with tax, drinks and tip.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    12
    3
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mahwah, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Lunch at Restaurant L”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

I have had the pleasure of eating lunch at Restaurant L several times and you cannot beat the price or the food. They offer a special lunch menu which features soup, salad, entree, dessert. Wait staff is excellent, drinks are delicious.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great Local Dining Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

"L" is a great place in N. Bergen Co. They have a varied menu, great daily offerings and a decent wine menu. Sunday evenings they offer dinner specials which includ yummy desserts. There is also a lively bar for happy hours.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgewood, New Jersey, United States
1 review
“Great Bartender Horrible Restaurant”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Bartender super nice and great at making cocktails. Very friendly! Once we sat at our table for dinner things went horribly wrong. After taking our order waitress disappeared to go smoke with table next to us. Came back ready to serve our meal and realized we had not had our appetizer. Therefore, our meals sat under hot lamp in kitchen while we ate our overcooked, pitiful shrimp and lobster quesadilla. clearly shrimp was previously frozen and had been sitting in kitchen for awhile. When main course finally arrived both hamburger and steak were overcooked and lacked seasoning and flavor. Owner was also on floor wining and dining her friends and doing shots. I am all for a drink or two while working, especially in this industry, but she was clearly drunk and somewhat sloppy. All in all, not a pleasant experience and will not be returning.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahwah, New Jersey
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Go to "L"!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

My husband and I have eaten in this restaurant almost every Friday since opening. The owner and staff are not only excellent, but caring and welcoming. Become a regular and you'll feel like you are coming home for dinner. Combine New York sophistication with a kind of Tommy Bahama decor, along with a beautiful, roomy bar served by excellent bartenders who will cater to your tastes, and food that is both inventive and comforting at the same time. You will love it here! You will have favorites, but try everything on the excellent menu, both the specials and standards!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant L also viewed

 

Been to Restaurant L? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurant L, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.