We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Improperly maintained and serviced” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Red Roof Inn & Suites Atlantic City

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Red Roof Inn & Suites Atlantic City to your Saves list
Red Roof Inn & Suites Atlantic City
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   405 East Absecon Boulevard (Route 30), Absecon, NJ 08201 (Formerly Fairfield Inn Atlantic City North)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 24 Hotels in Absecon
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Improperly maintained and serviced”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

I have written a couple of reviews motivated by positives but this review is the opposite.....we stayed at the Fairfield Inn for two nights the weekend of September 15th. A couple of moments after entering our room, my husband bumped into an object pertruding from the bed - it was a wood slat that had 4 large nails in it .... This could have been much worse if he had fallen onto it, but he didn't. I do not know how to attach a photo to this review but wish I could because that would show the sheer unbelievability that no one caught this before we arrived. Then, when my husband went to take a shower he almost slid in the bath tub which was very slick and apparently the tub floor grips had become worn down. We reported both of these instances to the Front Desk....it took two times to get a bath mat....the wooden slat with nails was removed the next morning. Then we discovered it was difficult to adjust the air conditioning as the knob was missing - again we reported this and it was adjusted. I did ask to speak with the manager who was supposed to be there that day but apparently was off....he emailed me to ask if my husband required medical treatment for the wood plank incident - I wrote him back saying that thankfully no medical assistance was needed and also explaining all of the other issues and have not heard from him. I guess he was satisfied knowing that he would not receive a hospital bill. No adjustment was made to our stay and the management seemingly doesn't care. All in all a place that seems to need an upgrade and where customer safety seems not to count for much. I would highly recommend that you avoid ever going to this hotel.

Stayed September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    102
    42
    29
    20
See reviews for
57
94
13
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Myself and my husband being very picky people were very pleased with the accommodations at the FI in AC.....very clean, the staff was very pleasant, the breakfast provided was very reasonable and we would definitely stay at this hotel again if in the area. Not to mention the 24hr availability of coffee in the breakfast area was wonderful!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fairfieldinnacnorth, General Manager at Red Roof Inn & Suites Atlantic City, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments regarding our hotel. We appreciate your feedback and hope to see you again in the future.

Warm Regards,
Laurel DeViney
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

You get what you pay for - though the hotel has been recently renovated, you can tell that it was just a re-do of an old building and there are remnants of the "oldness" there. That being said, it doesn't cost much to stay here, so I think the price is fair.

It's not too far from AC, however, the trip is a bit arduous at night, and the hotel is off of a little highway so you have to make sure you're approaching from the correct direction in order to turn into it.

The breakfast was OK, not particularly fresh or diverse, but for free breakfast my expectations were low. We stayed here because we had a certificate for a free Marriott night categories 1-4, though I wouldn't rate this as a category 4 hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fairfieldinnacnorth, General Manager at Red Roof Inn & Suites Atlantic City, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding our hotel. We ar sorry that you did not enjoy the breakfast. We have recently revamped our breakfast offering which now includes scrambled eggs, sausage, and waffles. If you return to our area, we hope you will give us another try.

Warm Regards,
Laurel DeViney
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin Park, New Jersey
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

This is my hotel of choice everytime I am in Atlantic City. My last visit was labor day weekend. My friends and I had a king and I must say this room was the bigest king room I have been in. I am not sure if they are all like that but wow. The breakfast is typical continental, but was great just the same. The drive to the boardwalk was about 10 mins. From Monday to Saturday, I think they have a free shuttle to Resorts. They have a pool, never used it but it looks great. I usually get a government discount when I go so I cannot speak about the price.This will continue to be my hotel of choice whenever I am in AC.

Room Tip: King size room on the 3rd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fairfieldinnacnorth, General Manager at Red Roof Inn & Suites Atlantic City, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments regarding your stay with us. We strive to provide a great experience for each guest we meet. We hope the next time you are in our area, that you will choose to stay with us again.

Warm Regards,
Laurel DeViney
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington, dc
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We stayed here for a few nights over the 4th of July. It was a central location to visit the shore towns. The staff was nice, the rooms were nice. We did have a perfect view of the AC and other fireworks from our window, which was great, considering we were travelling with an infant. My only complaint is that breakfast was super-crowded, and they did not seem to account for that. We were up early too and the lines were long, and the food service low.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimBrogan, Manager at Red Roof Inn & Suites Atlantic City, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Good Afternoon,

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay with us. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your weekend getaway with us while in the A.C. area. I am sure the fireworks looked great from hotel as we do have some great views of the Atlantic City skyline. I understand that the breakfast area tends to be crowded on the weekends and we certainly do try to keep the lines moving by constantly replenishing our breakfast items throughout the morning. We look forward to having you return as our guest in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Audubon, New Jersey
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

I had a free night certificate that was about to expire so my boyfriend and I decided to come down over labor day weekend. While I would have preferred to stay at the beach, it was an easy 15 minute ride to Ocean City and even quicker ride to AC. It was a free stay so you can't really complain about that.

At check in, they were able to switch us to a room with a king bed, which was nice and much appreciated. The room was wasn't anything special, but it was very clean and the bed was comfortable. It was basically what you would expect from a Fairfield -- clean, comfy, but no extra bells and whistles.

The only real complaint we had was that it was really hot in all of the common areas -- hallway, lobby, etc. Our room was fine, but stepping out into the hallway was like going into a sauna. The hotel also had free breakfast, but we skipped out on that because it was way too crowded and too hot to be in the lobby.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimBrogan, Manager at Red Roof Inn & Suites Atlantic City, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Good Afternoon,

Thank you for your recent comments regarding your stay with us here at the Fairfield Inn Atlantic City North. It is always our intention to provide our guests with the best possible service and accommodations in the A.C. area. We are very please to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to having you return as our guest in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

Stayed here 2 nights. Close enough to Atlantic city to drive but without all the noise and such of the island. The pool wasn't heated so didn't use and no hot tub. The room was very nice, beds were comfy. Hotel staff were very helpful with directions and information. There was some chili and cornbread when we arrived in the evening which was awesome! Breakfast was good and lots of seating. Liked that the sink was outside of the bathroom/shower/toilet area. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimBrogan, Manager at Red Roof Inn & Suites Atlantic City, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Good Morning,


Good Afternoon,

Thank you for your recent review and comments during your stay with us at the Fairfield Inn Atlantic City North. I am very pleased to hear that enjoyed your stay with us during your visit to the Atlantic City area. As you stated we are only about 5 miles outside of the high prices and crowds of Atlantic City. Sometimes on the weekend and occasionally on the weekdays we do put out a nice little welcome meal which is the chili and cornbread (which our guests love during the cold winter months.) Thank you again and we hope to have you return as our guest in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Red Roof Inn & Suites Atlantic City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn & Suites Atlantic City

Address: 405 East Absecon Boulevard (Route 30), Absecon, NJ 08201 (Formerly Fairfield Inn Atlantic City North)
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Absecon
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Absecon
#3 Business Hotel in Absecon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Red Roof Inn & Suites Atlantic City 2.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Red Roof Inn Atlantic City welcomes you to our pet friendly, family friendly hotel with free WiFi. Located in Atlantic City, New Jersey with easy access to shopping, dining and entertainment. We are located just 8 miles from the Atlantic City International Airport! Enjoy gaming in the casinos, a stroll along the Boardwalk or a tour of the Atlantic City Aquarium.This location offers free WiFi, Flat Screen TVs, business Center, on-site fitness facility, coin laundry, free parking and an outdoor pool open from Memorial Day to Labor day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Red Roof Inn, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Red Roof Inn & Suites Atlantic City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn Atlantic City North Hotel Absecon
Fairfield Inn Absecon
Fairfield Absecon
Absecon Fairfield Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Roof Inn & Suites Atlantic City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.