We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very family friendly” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott's Fairway Villas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Marriott's Fairway Villas to your Saves list
Marriott's Fairway Villas
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   500 East Fairway Lane, Galloway Twnshp, Absecon, NJ 08201   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Rewards Members Save 25%
Ranked #1 of 24 Hotels in Absecon
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Very family friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

I stayed here over the labor day weekend. NICE!. I am glad I was here when the kids went back to school. I had the pool to myself at times. Vey close to Cape May & AC. I LOVE the fact that they had the Lfietime Movie Network becasue the weather was not the greatest. OK, enough about me. If you are looking for a place that the kids and a golfer would love this is the place.

Room Tip: Tip: go food shopping before you get here or after check in. There is a foodtown and Shoprite not to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    65
    18
    4
    7
See reviews for
120
49
4
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

As a veteran Marriott timeshare owner I've had the pleasure of visiting many terrific Marriott timeshare properties. This is the first disappointment. Relative to the expectations that I have based on other properties this one is poorly designed and maintained. The units themselves were OK but not as well equipped as other properties. We were unfortunate enough to have hyper active kids staying above us and even dealing with the parents barely tempered the problem. I'm not convinced that the construction standards in this property were as stringent as in other properties. Or maybe it was just the kids.

The grounds were terribly groomed, an almost amateur effort as far as I'm concerned. Interestingly, this property had outside contractors doing the landscaping instead of Marriott employees and it showed. The pools were poorly maintained and even more poorly managed - kids were running around everywhere with no staff supervision, the adult pool basically a joke and the barbecue area nearest our unit so infested with bugs that it was almost unusable. To make matters worse, the water quality of the one pool I was in wasn't right, the water murky and the pool itself had seen better days.

My daughter-in-law and I signed up for a nature walk. Instead of a nature walk it was a trek over a construction road with deep tractor tracks in it that ran between the Marriott property and a hotel property next door. Why they would even advertise this "experience" as an asset is beyond me.

Hey, I'm an enthusiast about Marriott properties so perhaps I'm being a bit too harsh in my judgement. The property is about fifteen minutes outside of Atlantic City and the area beaches are really terrific and within easy driving distance. Using this property as a home base to visit Atlantic City and the beaches works and it's really close to Philadelphia and not that far from New York City.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

Spent some time here because we had some 'Use them or lose them' points from Marriott, and was pleasantly surprised. The villas are very nice, spacious, and not dated. Best unit to stay in if you have kids is the EAGLE Villa. It's right next to the pool, BBQ, and Fire pits. The hotel is not large, but did do a great deal to entertain the children. They have a play ground, and a raft of activities for the kids. There is a pool for smaller children that can't swim, which allows for the parents to be at ease while the kids play. While there, we ventured to Ocean City and Atlantic City. Both of which were only about 20 minutes away. The boardwalk in OC is excellent for kids, and perfect for a day at the beach. My family really enjoyed that.
If you are a golfer, this place is brilliant. If you get an early tee time, you are home with the family before lunch time. The golf course is NOT affiliated with the hotel, but they share the driving range and practice facilities. Both courses are very nice, and not very expensive. BRING YOUR BUG SPRAY. The mosquitos are brutal.
The restaurants in the area are pretty good too, but also expensive. The Greek place, Athenian Garden has excellent food, and is BYOB. There is also a Mexican place that is good, but is also pretty expensive for what you get.
All in all, a great stay, very nice staff, and my children had an excellent time.

Room Tip: Take the villas next to the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

We spent 4 days at the Villas. We loved the mineral pool and hot tubs for the over 16 group. The villas were wonderful, good space although it was too warm to use the fireplace! Porch area was nice-screened in. Staff was very helpful and friendly. They helped us make dinner reservations. The Red Door Spa was wonderful. The three women each had a different service and everyone was very happy with them. (pedicure, facial and massage) There was a complimentary make up time also.The golfing was good with a shuttle over to the course. We had an easy ride into Atlantic City for a night out. We enjoyed the shopping area of Smithville. We also went to Cape May for a day.

Room Tip: highest floor to avoid people walking above you-close to the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We went again this year and the place looked beautiful!! The new Director was amazing and introduced himself to everyone! The check in was easy and the pool area has been upgraded and looks so nice!! The housekeeping service did a great job!

The kids activities were the same as usual.. but my kids still love them!! We had a great 9 days!! We will be returning next summer! They brought back the pizza bingo which is my kids favorite night!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

We had a pleasant time at this resort. There is one indoor pool and two outdoor pools (one is age restricted to people over 16). There were activities at all times of day--everything from poolside music to marshmallow roasts. This place is geared towards golfers, which we are not. The place is great for kids. There are places to walk around, play, and swim. We didn't think to bring bikes, but we saw several kids on bikes. There is a playground. The indoor pool has an adjacent spa.

The facilities are clean, clean, clean. Check in was simple. We asked for a first-floor room and were switched from our reservation without delay. The staff must be trained to smile at guests because we found everyone friendly. Every villa consists of two bedrooms and two bathrooms (one full bath and one shower/toilet with a hot tub close to the bed). We had a full kitchen, a television in every room, several chairs and couches, a full kitchen and large table, screen porch, and a utility room with a small washer/dryer combination. We did not hear much from other guests. Parking was easy and available.

There is free wireless on site at the resort, but it is slow at all different times of the day. It is difficult to watch streaming videos and it took awhile for some webpages to load.

One word to the wise: figure out your food options upon arrival or plan in advance. There are two large grocery stores only a few miles away. However, if you want to eat out, plan ahead. Several restaurants were too busy to accommodate us or provide take-out. We used the kitchen, got take-out, and ate out, but if we go again I would plan better.

Room Tip: The buildings housing the villas are arranged in alphabetical order. We stayed in Amelia (the furth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

We just returned from a week at Fairway Villas. We had a great vacation. Of the 8 total days, we spent 5 at the resort and 3 at Ocean City, NJ on the beach and boardwalk. The location of this resort provides quite a lot of options for the week. We also spent a overcast morning in Atlantic City in the outlet center area.

The thing that was clearly the best of the week were the great people at the resort. The GM was open to talk about anything, including comments about improvements. We also had a nice conversation at the weekly 5k that they run. The activities staff is fantastic. Our 3 year old daughter had a blast doing a number of the activities with them. The girls remembered her name each time and our daughter was so happy to see them each day.

We also spent a few nights eating at the pool area for some special programs they were running, like the BBQ luau. Being able to stay and play and also get a good meal was great.

We've owned here for 10 years and have only stayed 5 years. I think we will probably start staying more, especially with our daughter loving it so much.

Note that some of the reviews for this resort, especially the lower rated ones are actually for the Seaview hotel, which is on the same/adjoining property. But it is completely different, and not even a Marriott anymore.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott's Fairway Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Fairway Villas

Address: 500 East Fairway Lane, Galloway Twnshp, Absecon, NJ 08201
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Absecon
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Absecon
#2 Business Hotel in Absecon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Marriott's Fairway Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 270
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Marriott, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Marriott's Fairway Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Fairway Villas Hotel Absecon
Marriotts Fairway Hotel
Marriotts Fairway Resort
Marriott Absecon
Absecon Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott's Fairway Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.