We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had a great romantic weekend, would definitely return!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Absecon - Atlantic City Area

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Absecon - Atlantic City Area to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Absecon - Atlantic City Area
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   655 White Horse Pike, Rt. 30, Absecon, NJ 08201   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #2 of 24 Hotels in Absecon
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Had a great romantic weekend, would definitely return!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

She and I went down for a long weekend to relax at the end of the tourist season. The jacuzzi suite was impeccably clean, comfortable, and fairly modern considering the age of most hotels in this area. There was a good mix of people, including families with kids, a wedding party, couples, and tour groups. The place was pretty quiet most of the time and we never had trouble sleeping. The continental breakfast was very good - a huge selection of hot foods as well as the usual suspects. The night before we left, I asked if we could have a late checkout the next morning and they were very accommodating. Just had to sign up for their free rewards program. All the staff were courteous and our room was well cleaned each day.

The only negative thing about this hotel is the location. It's on a busy divided highway so you have to do a lot of u-turning to get around, and you're out of luck if you ever desire to walk anyplace. However, the drive into Atlantic City is easy and it's so much better to stay just out of town instead of an overpriced casino. We also went up to LBI one night, and this hotel has very easy access to the Parkway so you're never too far from anywhere on the Jersey Shore. It's also not the cheapest place in town, but we had a wonderful trip and saved money compared with the overpriced casinos and even some of the other chain hotels, so it was a good way to go for the money. If I'm ever staying in this area again, this is the first place I'd call.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    92
    15
    6
    5
See reviews for
65
72
14
40
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Georgia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

The Holiday Inn Express in Absecon, NJ has 86 rooms on two floors of an elevator building. The hotel is located on White Horse Pike (Route30) about five (5) miles outside of Atlantic City. It is along a stretch of a busy highway that has many chain hotels and fast food restaurants.

The lobby was spotless and seasonally decorated for Halloween. The lobby has a nice seating area and small business center. Passing the fitness center, indoor pool and hot tub you arrive at another seating area with a fireplace, television and nice water feature. The ice machines and vending area for the first floor is located in this same area – neither in a room by themselves. There is a small convenience store located right off the front desk. The hallways are easily managed, well lit and pleasant. There is a self-service guest laundry and an ATM / cash machine.

The front desk person was friendly, helpful, and warm. He gave us a choice of which floor we wanted to be on.

The sparkling indoor pool has two fountains that spout water into the pool. The entire one side of the pool / hot tub atrium has sliding doors (with screens and security bars) that can be opened to give bathers the feeling of being outdoors. During the time we were there, no one else was using the pool / hot tub so we were able to make the atrium nice and cool while enjoying the wonderful clean hot tub. Also available was a clean open shower and bathrooms. The pool / hot tub atrium opens at 10am and closes at 9pm.

The (free) breakfast area is spotless and not crowded – we were there on a weekend. With the push of a button two pancakes came out within two (2) minutes – no handling / spilling of batter. We were pleasantly surprised to find hot cinnamon buns, scrambled eggs and bacon one day and sausage the next. They also have the usual hot / cold cereal, toaster carbs, juices, milk, coffee, and bananas. Trays are available to take breakfast back to your room. The breakfast room has several tables, high tables with seating, a sofa, TV and a fireplace.

The clean room has the following features:

• card key
• king bed size – we ask for this
• triple sheets
• small pillows
• fixed windows that overlooks a small courtyard with a water feature
• room darkening curtains with sheers over them
• coffee / tea maker
• mini refrigerator / freezer (that did not freeze a water bottle)
• two (2) night tables – both of us had a place for water and our eyeglasses
• reading lamps on night tables (bulbs not bright enough to read by)
• free high speed Internet – password provided with key card
• speaker telephone on one (1) night table
• alarm clock (no iPod recharging abilities)
• 32 inch flat screen TV
• desk
• lamp on desk (bulb not bright enough to read by) with electric outlet
• speaker telephone on desk
• rolling chair at the desk
• full length mirror
• smaller mirror between desk and TV
• chair with ottoman
• reading lamp next to chair (bulb not bright enough to read by)
• luggage rack
• small closet without door
• hangers, some with clips
• bathroom toiletries
• no vent in bathroom
• assist bar
• no makeup mirror in bathroom
• beautiful large tiled shower with scant amount of mildew near the floor
• assist bar in shower
• one (1) sink in shower area
• no clothes line
• hair dryer
• iron / ironing board
• in room safe
• noisy air condition that would not turn on right away – we waited about one (1) hour before it turned on but then it worked for the rest of the weekend
• no pets allowed
• no smoking allowed

Our two main criticisms about the room is that the lighting was poor and we could not read by any of the lamps, or even with all of them on and the pillows were small.

Room Tip: We enjoyed our first floor room in wing between the parking lot entrance and pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parsippany, New Jersey
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

I've reviewed this place before, back in November 9, 2011, and I needed a hotel for a couple of nights...

The hotel asked if I wanted to review them, and I figured I'd provide an update here...

True to their past performance, the place was clean, tidy, and well managed. Making an online reservation was easy, and I got just what I wanted -- a king sized bed, and free Wi-Fi for my wireless internet needs.

The indoor pool in a greenhouse area was just as clean and welcoming as ever... I even used the fitness room (adjacent to the pool) this time.

Breakfast was as yummy as ever -- mini egg omlettes, sausage patties and much more. I would still recommend this Holiday Inn Express.

Room Tip: Light sleepers may be put off by its proximity to Atlantic City International Airport and that the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claremont, New Hampshire
Top Contributor
374 reviews 374 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 187 cities Reviews in 187 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We used this as a convenient place to stay while visiting both Atlantic City and Cape May. My children loved the pool. The staff were very friendly. Even though our room was next to the rail line, the noise didn't bother us. If we are in the area again, this will be tops of my list of a place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Even though the manager was too busy to listen to me at check out. He did welcome us earlier. I prefer hotels to motor inns but I was pleasantly surprised at the quality of this one. I was going to tell him that this was the first time I booked a suite and it was well worth it. There were three of us and no one wanted to sleep alone in a room or on the sofa as the third person. Our room was huge. As the driver I got the king bed with the wet bar sitting and dining area and full bath and my own tv, They shared the two queen and half bath. The breakfast was everything you would expect on a cruise ship. My first time seeing a pancake robot. The 24hr coffee puts Starbucks to shame tea and hot coco available too. Room 228 was immaculate no rust mold or stain photos. Avoid the side of the building that the train runs by. There is no Atlantic city view from the second floor. There is only one staff person on duty at night. Some times the card key doesn't work. Try sliding it in and out. Take bottle of water with you if you don't trust the tap. There are limited handicapped spaces in the front of the building. We spent an hour trying to find the hotel finally I remembered the gps app on my cell phone and due to there being a cell tower on the hotel property it worked. There is a beautiful gym and pool. there are several lounge areas with flat screens on the first floor. The gift shop is open 24hrs but only has emergency stuff Tylenol, sun screen etc.
There are malls near and I understand the mall Chinese restaurant delivers to the hotel. The staff increases in the morning and all are warm and helpful. We were able to relax and leave refreshed the next day. Three women and two bathrooms you can't beat that. I forgot to ask for a AAA discount but the rate was reasonable for the quality of the product received. I booked with one card but paid with another so hoping there won't be any problem.

Room Tip: expect the air conditioner to hum and the refrigerator as well but that is normal. A train track run...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
147 helpful votes 147 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Excellent hotel at a reasonable price. Located approximately 15 minutes from the Atlantic City Boardwalk. They have a free bus shuttle service which takes 20 minutes. Taxies are overpriced at $40.

The hotel has a great swimming pool and Jacuzzi. Unfortunately, it closes at 10:00 pm which is way too early.

The room and bathroom are large and very clean. Another plus is the large in-room refrigerator.

The only down side is no balcony and the windows do not open.

All in all, the hotel is very good.

Room Tip: Room location is not important because the hotel is small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifton, New Jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I stayed at this hotel recently for a conference in the surrounding area of Atlantic City. It was one of the best decisions I made. The hotel was clean, the staff was friendly, there was a continental breakfast every morning, and the pool was pristine. I definitely would stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Absecon - Atlantic City Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Absecon - Atlantic City Area

Address: 655 White Horse Pike, Rt. 30, Absecon, NJ 08201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Absecon
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Absecon
#3 Romantic Hotel in Absecon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Absecon - Atlantic City Area 2.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover all that Atlantic City has to offer at the Holiday Inn Express Absecon-Atlantic City Area. The weather is getting warmer so you'd better get your swimsuit ready! Our Atlantic City hotel is located just outside of town in a quiet and safe area, yet you are only minutes away from all the fun and excitement. Atlantic City has something to offer for all ages. If music, entertainment, and shows bring you to Atlantic City, then The House of Blues is a must for you. The Borgata s Water Club is open and ready to relax your worries away or try Elizabeth s Arden Red Door Spa which is just around the corner. Party the night away at The Pool Night Club, Atlantic City s new hot spot. Other area attractions include gambling, wine tasting, beaches, golf, Stockton College, AC Medical Center and Historic Smithville.The Holiday Inn Express Absecon-Atlantic City Area features newly renovated guest rooms and suites with a modern touch and feel of elegance. Enjoy a romantic evening in one of our fully mirrored Jacuzzi Suites or make yourself at home in our spacious King Executive Suite. The experience of our rooms is comfortable and relaxing with 32 flat panel HD TVs in all rooms! It s New, it s Modern, it s HD and it s all waiting for you at our fabulous hotel. Our Atlantic City hotel is handicap accessible and ADA-approved. Let our friendly staff treat you like family and make your next trip to Atlantic City one you ll never forget! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Absecon - Atlantic City Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Absecon - Atlantic City Area Hotel Absecon
Holiday Inn Absecon
Absecon Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Absecon - Atlantic City Area, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.