We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Let's Have Some Perspective Here, Folks” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Super 8 Absecon/Atlantic City Area

Save Saved
You added Super 8 Absecon/Atlantic City Area to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Super 8 Absecon/Atlantic City Area
1.5 of 5 Motel   |   229 E. Whitehorse Pike Rt 30, 1/2 mi off Garden State Pkwy, Absecon, NJ 08205   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 24 hotels in Absecon
Parsippany, New Jersey
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Let's Have Some Perspective Here, Folks”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

It's a Super 8, not the Ritz Carlton. We first went here in the summer of 2011 because a loved one was hospitalized in Atlantic City and we didn't feel like selling our own organs to afford a hotel in the city. Much to our pleasant surprise, this Super 8 served as a clean, comfortable and convenient base of operations from which we were able to get to and from the city. The microwave and refrigerator allowed us to store our own delicious home cooked meals (for our own consumption and for that of the above mentioned loved one). The continental breakfast is a nice perk to get the day started. If you're looking for a pampering and luxurious experience at a Super 8, perhaps you should bite the bullet and spend more. The Super 8 is merely an inexpensive place to crash for the night, not a place to be spending all of your time.
We subsequently stayed here on two other occasions as it was a great home base for enjoying the New Jersey wine trails during the "Wine and Chocolate" weekends. As the motel is outside of AC itself, it allowed for extremely easy access to the Atlantic County wineries, as well to the wineries in the surrounding counties. Again, we have encountered no problems concerning the motel's cleaning. The hot tub was clean. Our bed was clean. The bathroom was clean.
Is it perfect? Of course not. But there were no fatal problems. The worst thing that happened was that perhaps the cleaning staff was a little too zealous in their mission (which is not something we seek to dissuade by any means) and tried to come in early one morning. We learned that in the future we would simply leave the "do no disturb" sign out before going to bed. Again, this is nothing that would prevent us from staying again if we were looking for a cheap crash pad.

Room Tip: Cheezy but relaxing heart shaped hot tubs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    7
    12
    11
    13
    19
See reviews for
16
23
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
UNIONDALE
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

My boyfriend and I went to AC to see Chaka Khan in concert and instead of staying in the heart of AC for 1 night, we decided to look for a cheaper place. It was decently clean, there was a microwave and a mini fridge as well as a TV with a remote. The bathroom was clean and the water was nice and hot. It was a cheap stay and we actually will consider this place whenever we are doing a quick stay at AC. We arrived around 1130 and the man at the front office was very helpful and informative. We went to Dennys, which was right across the street from the motel. There is also a WaWa near by as well as a liquor store, and supermarket (i think it was shop rite). Overall this wasnt a palace but it was clean and it got the job done. Im usually VERY picky when it comes to places I stay in, but in general, this was a good stay...The only issue I had was that the chairs were a little dingy and soiled but other than that, have no complaints!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LAKE HOPATCONG
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

When Sandy hit the Lake Hopatcong area with 60mph winds we lost power Monday night and didn't come back on until Friday about 12 days later. I ahd to leave my home and business and drive to Absecon NJ where my son lives. Though it was just 15 minutes outside of AC there was no power problems and NO GAS LINES! The last I was on the previous week took me 4 hours. Not only was Super 8 a clean comfortable and accommodating Motel but making reservations on line proved to be a great deal. I highly recommend this property with a great staff who will go out of their way to make your stay weather for business, pleasure, or in my case a life saver as pleasant as possible.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
COLLINGSWOOD
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

the room and the bed was very clean. we was very satisfied with everything i would recommend this hotel to everybody.

.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

First of all let me say...you're staying at a Super 8. Don't expect it to be the Taj Mahal.
Stayed here a little over a year ago (In Sept. 2011 - wasn't able to choose that time frame) for a quick trip to AC. Was close to the Boardwalk without paying a million dollars. The room was average and was clean. Didn't notice any of the smells described in other reviews. Can't say the stay was spectacular, but I can't say it was horrible either. Just your normal, run-of-the-mill motel. Remember, you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Super 8 Absecon/Atlantic City Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Absecon/Atlantic City Area

Also Known As:
Super 8 Absecon
Absecon Super 8
Absecon Super Eight
Super Eight Absecon
Address: 229 E. Whitehorse Pike Rt 30, 1/2 mi off Garden State Pkwy, Absecon, NJ 08205
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Absecon
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 24 hotels in Absecon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Super 8 Absecon/Atlantic City Area 1.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Super 8 Absecon/Atlantic City Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Super 8 Absecon/Atlantic City Area, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.