We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kubu Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kasane
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kubu Lodge
Save
You added Kubu Lodge to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Lodge   |   | Chobe River, Kasane, Botswana   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 16 Specialty Lodging in Kasane
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Johannesburg
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

We arrived in Kasane, a group of 12. Sharon, the owner, accommodated 6 of us and went to trouble to find accommodation elsewhere for the rest. The rooms were clean and very comfortable, the food excellent and the gardens and views of the river gorgeous. Sharon organised a dinner for all twelve of us, and went to extra trouble to decorate the table for our friend's birthday. She and her staff could not have been more helpful and kind. To top it all she gave four of us a lift into Kasane the next day for no charge! Amazing! Thank you Sharon! We will definitely recommend your lodge to all.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    47
    22
    4
    1
See reviews for
30
57
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

We enjoyed the guided game drive, the sunset river cruise and the Victoria Falls excursion. The activities were teed up impeccably by the front desk staff and we were picked up and dropped off at our property. Zimbabwe had dramatically increased their visa fees while we were there to $75us each for Canadians

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
limassol
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

Extremely pleasant and helpful staff. The comfortable en-suite wooden chalets overlook the Chobe River. The entrance to Chobe National Park is only 10 minutes away and the game drives and the boat cruise were fantastic. Herds of elephants wading or swimming in the river, pods of hippos wallowing in the mud, herds of buffalo, two lions eating their kill, honey badgers, lots of crocs, two mating monitors, giraffes, warthogs, antelopes, kudo, impala, banded mongooses and, of course, many beautiful kingfishers. The food at the restaurant was great - especially the home made chicken liver pate.

Room Tip: go for the en-suite wooden calets
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

The rooms are not as the appeared on the website, instead being in need of a thorough clean and update (particularly given the price). Spiders, dirt, old sheets and outdated accommodations. We packaged accommodation with breakfast and dinner and this was the highlight of staying here - the meals were excellent. Although, like the rooms, the restaurant is also in need of updating and a good clean.

We did a boat drive and morning game drive organised by Kubu Lodge. Puku Safari delivers the activities booked through Kubu and they were terrible. Car broke down on transfer, boat drive was overcrowded and therefore didn't provide good views/photo ops for any of the animals seen. The game drive was an incredible rush around trying to find a lion. We did not stop to appreciate any of the other animals or views. When we did find lions, we only stayed for a couple of minutes before the driver said we had to leave or he'd be fired (another tour had been booked which started before ours was due to finish - unbelievable). Driver was on his mobile at least 5 times during the drive and caused us to be 'shushed' by people in other cars when we were in vicinity of the lions.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

Located just outside the town of Kasane and on the banks of the Chobe, you can't ask for a better location. Sadly we only had one night there but could happily have spent a few more. The service was very friendly, the rooms were great and the food was very, good.The Lodge also organized a sunset cruise on the river for us which was also fantastic and I would certainly recommend it, you'll see more wild and bird-life in 2 hours than in an average day of game driving.
Next time I'm in kasane and need a place to stay, this is where I'm headed.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henley on Klip, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Great management, beautiful and private accommodation, excellent food and very friendly service. We had a wonderful stay for a very good price. Thank you to Sharon and staff - we will definitely be back!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

Upon arrival, the reservation area scared me. Circa 1970, spiders crawling on the walls, dust everywhere. The cabins are much nicer, but the bedding - actually everything fabric based at the entire Kubu lodge could use to be updated. It just appeared a little shabby.

The food was all included and we found it to be very good. Lunch is whatever they are cooking and dinner is a choice of 2 entrees. Drinks are extra - alcohol or no alcohol.

The help I found to be nice to my face with a twist of f' u. If you asked questions they would answer, but seem so annoyed you asked. Get what I'm trying to say?

The lodge is a 20 min drive from the park and at 6AM in an open jeep at 80km's an hour, you are a miserable block of ice. They give you blankets but its just not enough. I had on winter attire day 2 and was still freezing. I think it would pay to stay closer to the camp to avoid that drive. However, our tour guides were always great and knowledgeable and we saw pretty much everything we wanted to see. There is great diversity in the animals you will see in Chobe. No Zebras and no Rhino's though.

Overall this is probably the only place we stayed I wouldn't recommend with flying colors. I wouldn't chase someone away though either.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kubu Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kubu Lodge

Address: | Chobe River, Kasane, Botswana
Location: Botswana > North-West District > Kasane
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 16 Specialty Lodging in Kasane
Hotel Class:3 star — Kubu Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
Kubu Hotel Kasane

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kubu Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.