We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location and setting are great” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chobe Marina Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Chobe Marina Lodge to your Saves list
Chobe Marina Lodge
3.0 of 5 Lodge   |   Chobe River, Kasane, Botswana   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 16 Specialty Lodging in Kasane
Certificate of Excellence 2014
St. Petersburg, Florida
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Location and setting are great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

The Chobe Marina Lodge is a very nice hotel in a wonderful location. We stayed in a suite that had a really big living room attached to a nice sized bedroom.

The air conditioning in the bedroom was very inadequate, but it was Africa, not the middle of the U.S. That being said, we had to keep the bedroom closed to get any sort of cooldown in there which made the living room basically unusuable. There were stunning views of the river from the living room, but we kept the drapes closed so the sun would not bake the rooms. If deciding between the suite and the regular room, I'd choose the regular room simply because the lack of air conditioning makes the living room pretty worthless.

The food was good, but not great. Keep an eye out for pesky monkeys who like to steal food! ;)

The game drives and river cruise are musts.

Room Tip: There is a grocery store a few blocks away where you can pick up some water or snacks. Go out of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malcolm R, Chief Operating Officer at Chobe Marina Lodge, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Thank you for your review, it is much appreciated. It seems you met some of our unwanted guests around the dinning area, the monkeys, good things they are not always there and only visit from time to time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    67
    26
    8
    8
See reviews for
46
65
9
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
cleveland, ohio
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

This hotel's location on the river and close to the national park are big pluses. The hotel is a bit like a tree house, and the grounds are quite nice. Our room was roomy and had a great river view from the balcony. Food was good but you would not come here for the food. Likewise the service in the hotel was lacking in some ways, although people were friendly. Some days it took a long time to get a napkin, for example. Drinks seemed to arrive halfway through dinner. Our A/C never really did work and no number of service calls from maintenance seemed to fix it. We simple gave up and slept with the balcony door open and the mosquito netting down and it was actually quite lovely. It had a rather nice gift shop. It is the location that makes the place. The sunset cruises and game drives were excellent.

Room Tip: I would advise a second floor room close to the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malcolm R, Chief Operating Officer at Chobe Marina Lodge, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Thank you for staying with us at Chobe Marina Lodge and for taking the time to put a review on Trip Advisor. We are always looking for ways to better our service levels and appreciate any constructive criticism,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

I took one star off because the dining set up and the food.The ground is gorgeous ,lodge is very spacious .Each lodge has a view of the river ,a roomy porch ,beautiful kitchen area and the living room.Really big for one bedroom lodge.
We were with Gate 1 on the last leg of the 16 days South Africa / Victoria Falls / Chobe .
The dining area facing the river which is nice but it can get nuisance by the mosquitoes at night.
Food was just OK in the buffet .
On the last day we were there,I guess they didn't have enough people to make a buffet so we were sent upstairs to dine in a la carte menu which is Ok but the service was sooooo slow .At one point we as the group of 8 actually ran out of conversations to wait for the food.
The food was very average but you know what the animals and the view were make up for it :)
We can eat good when we get home ,yeah ?
The safaris by road or by boat both were NICE.We saw everything in that 2 days .Lions/ African Wild Dogs / Birds / Hippos / Sable / Giraffe / Leopard and of course the Elephants.
I would definitely come back though .Very comfortable stayed.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malcolm R, Chief Oerating Officer at Chobe Marina Lodge, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Thank you for your response and for visiting Chobe Marina Lodge, we hope to welcome you back again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delmar, NY
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013 via mobile

This is a very nice well kept hotel with lovely grounds.
It is located in Kasane next to the Chobe River.
The rooms are spacious, clean, with lovely views of the river.
The food is good, not great.
For dinner, you have a choice of a buffet downstairs or a la carte upstairs.
Make sure to do a river game cruise - you see "tons" of animals and spectacular sunsets.
The land game drives are also great. The afternoon drive lets you see more animals, but in the morning you have a better chance of seeing a lion or leopard.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malcolm R, Chief Operating Officer at Chobe Marina Lodge, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Thank you for your review and for staying with us as Chobe Marina Lodge, it gives us great pleasure hearing from guests that have stayed with us and enjoyed it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

In early August we were in a Botswana, self drive safari with our friends and their children. After 7 wonderful nights in Moremi, Savuti and Ihaha camps, we decided to stay for one night in Chobe Marina Lodge, enjoy a bit the luxury. While the lodge is going through a renovation, it was not really disturbing, rooms were very nice, all the staff were very friendly and professional, and the food quality, choice and service was excellent, too. I also like the location, garden is very nice, well maintained. The only negative point was that for my taste the restaurant was a bit crowded, however the staff managed the situation very well, service was smooth. As we spent the previous 11 days on the road, self drive safari, we decided to try the afternoon boat cruise and see the animals from the river. It was an excellent experience, our guide was very professional, the captain found the best position to see and photograph the birds and all the animals like the crocodile, hippo, elephant, buffalo, waterbuck or monitor lizard as well as the the beautiful Chobe sunset. The crown of the boat trip was the elephant river crossing, we were in a perfect position to watch how can a few month old baby elephant follow his/her mother and the elder sisters/brothers, swimming, holding the tail, use the trunk to breath. Was simply perfect. Overall great experience, hope we will be able to come again.

Room Tip: If you are with children, the 3 room chalets are the best, bit more expensive though
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malcolm R, Chief Operating Officer at Chobe Marina Lodge, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Thank you for deciding to stay with us for the night after your mobile / camping Safari through Botswana. As you mentioned we are busy refurbishing our lodge and we try our best so it does not inconvenience any of our guests visiting us at Chobe Marina Lodge. We hope to have all the renovations completed by March 2014 and then we will have a stunning property as we can pay more attention to the gardens as well and more importantly pay attention to our guests and our service levels. We are looking at ways of extending our dinning areas to create a bit more space, but in the mean time we do what we can with what we have and it works. It would be great if you do come back and visit again in the near future after we have completed our renovations I have no doubt you will enjoy your stay even more. The Elephant crossing is a fantastic sighting, something everyone should experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thompson Falls, Montana
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

This lovely resort is located on the Chobe River and you can take off right from the dock to experience unbelievable wildlife viewing. Safari vehicles also take you into the Chobe National Park where the game drives are top notch. Our room at the lodge was clean, spacious and comfortable, but the friendliness of the staff is what made this destination outstanding. The food was great and I liked that they offered a variety of local cuisine. I loved relaxing on the deck and watching the elephants just across the river. Chobe Marina Lodge was an all around hit with us.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malcolm R, Chief Operating Officer at Chobe Marina Lodge, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
It is always rewarding to hear that a guest to our property Chobe Marina Lodge, enjoyed their stay. The game viewing is spectacular and to share that with our guests is such a privilege we love doing. The Chobe marina Lodge is perfectly situated as you have said, the sun sets are amazing everyday and we try and ensure we offer the best meals, with great service. Naturally there is always rooms for improvement and we continue to look at ways to improve our service. Thank you for the wonderful feed back it makes it all worth while!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thompson Falls
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

We had a wonderful room overlooking the river and wild land beyond. We enjoyed the river boat safaris in the evening and the game drives of the morning.
The restaurant was excellent. We had a package that included all meals which were buffets. The buffets had excellent choices and wonderful deserts. They also had a restaurant where you could order a' la carte which was open one evening. One evening meal was down on a lower deck and was eloquent.
We saw more game on our drives into Chobe National Park than anywhere else in Africa. We even saw a honey badger. How cool is that. We saw lots of elephants, giraffes, hippos, cape buffalo and antelopes. It was our first safari so we really didn't realize how good it was until we went elsewhere.
The staff was very accommodating and seemed more relaxed with guests than other places that we visited. They were very friendly. We didn't walk downtown but other guests did and said that was pleasant.
This was a wonderful experience.

Room Tip: We had for some reason the honeymoon suite. It was excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malcolm R, Chief Operating Officer at Chobe Marina Lodge, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us at Chobe marina Lodge. The area is indeed great for game viewing and as you mentioned probably the best in Africa. We are working hard at lifting our service levels and dining experience, and it is very rewarding when getting such positive comments, thank you! We hope that you will come visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chobe Marina Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chobe Marina Lodge

Address: Chobe River, Kasane, Botswana
Location: Botswana > North-West District > Kasane
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 Specialty Lodging in Kasane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Chobe Marina Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, South African Hotels and Hotels.com so you can book your Chobe Marina Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chobe Marina Hotel Kasane

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chobe Marina Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.