We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great...considering what else is in Kasane. No Wi Fi” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Chobe Safari Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kasane
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chobe Safari Lodge
Save
You added Chobe Safari Lodge to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   border of Chobe National Park | PO Box 10, Kasane, Botswana   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kasane
Glendale, Arizona
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great...considering what else is in Kasane. No Wi Fi”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

In my view, this property scored high in some places and very low in others:
1. Rooms were modern, clean, secure and comfortable.
2. The location on the river is incredible. When you see a warning sign that says "Beware of hippos" at your hotel...you must be close to the river. And you are.
3. The property is close to the National Park and the airport so it is convenient.
4. Monkeys, warthogs, mongoose - all on property and all make for a genuine experience.

Low marks however for:
1. Speed of service in the restaurant - although this is typical of Africa
2. Friendliness of service throughout the property - also...this is typical
3. The wi-fi is quite bad. it works so slowly and in such a small part of the lobby....if I was the hotel owner, I couldn't justify checking the "Yes, we have wi-fi" box.
4. Quality of the food is poor considering the price you pay. But hey....you're in Kasane. You're not going to find French cheeses and Maple-smoked bacon.

Room Tip: If your tour guide tells you the tour starts at 7 or 8 or whatever...ask him to start at 6:45 or 7:4...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

593 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    260
    93
    29
    18
See reviews for
128
236
29
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dartford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

Stayed overnight on a two day trip from Livingstone. Great room in the Safari rooms, very modern with steps to the lawn where the Warthogs and Mongoose were resting !!! Restaurant was a buffet which was extensive and varied from Lunch to Dinner. Not much else outside hotel but we chose it for its proximity to Chobe Natonal Park- a couple minutes drive or take the boat from the Hotel grounds !! We used Bushtracks Safaris for our trips and as they operate from the Hotel everything was very convenient and well organised. Like other reviews the Wi Fi was not working and the reception could not give an idea of when it would be working !! Would return and would not hesitate in recommending as a base for a couple of days in the Chobe National Park

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midrand, Gauteng, South Africa
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

We stayed 2 nights at this camp site. There is electricity but no water at the camp sites. The bathroom facilities is neat with lots of hot water showers. Most of the camp sites is very small and more suitable for tents than trailers or caravans. Camp sites can not be booked and work on a first-come-first-serve basis. Be there early in the morning to secure a camp site. Free Wifi is available at the Lodge. A sunset cruise on the Zambezi is a well worth trip.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

1st time visiting Botswana. Spent 3 nights at Chobe Safari Lodge. We spent 2 nights in there new rooms, which was wonderful. Had to stay an extra night and they could only accommodate us in the older section. Very disappointed. Air conditioner was so old and noisy, it was like sleeping next to a factory the whole night. Lights didn't work properly. They also had the cheek to charge us the same price as for the new beautiful rooms. (be sure to request new rooms). Otherwise we had a wonderful stay. The food was not as good as we expected. Meat was tough and certainly not of a grade expected for a 4 star hotel. Service was good.The River Cruise is a must do. Signed up for the trip to Victoria Falls with a guide, which was well organised.

Room Tip: Choose new rooms. Food is buffet. Roasts were not that good
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights with a tour group. Our room was on the first floor and had a high thatched ceiling. The room was a bit tired, poorly lit and the air conditioning was noisy. Mosquito nets hang over the bed. Our block was further away from the reception, restaurant and bar. The outside lighting was very low and a torch is needed. Food at breakfast and evening dinner was buffet style with a wide variety of choice.

Of course the animals and birds are the main reason for staying at the Chobe Safari Lodge. Its location is only minutes drive to the Chobe National Park and we were not disappointed. We enjoyed an excellent afternoon safari and the next day an early morning safari, what a wonderful experience! The Chobe lodge is right on the Chobe river and we also took a river cruise and again saw many birds and animals. All drivers and guides were professional particularly the river cruise guide who was very knowledgeable.

I would recommend the Chobe Safari Lodge.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

Twin beds for couples??? Even after we requested double bed. Drinks are very expensive for South Africans. Disappointing slow service from staff. Food is plentiful but the quality is very questionable. Good for people who eat large quantities but don't care about quality. Rooms & decor is SO dated. Showers don't work properly and spray of shower has no direction to the position of the person in the shower. Game drive not worth what animals you actually see. Chobe has lost it's charm and become very commercial - worse than a Holiday Inn.

Room Tip: If u want something and u did not get it - make sure to ask - because you are paying!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stellenbosch, South Africa
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

I love this place - this is my second visit, and will return again. The staff are friendly and the facilities well appointed. More than enough choice of food at every meal. The bucket of ice in the room every night was very welcome, as well as the preparation of the room for the evening - even the mosquito net were set for us.
You will go far to find a better spot for game and bird viewing in a wilderness environment.
This is a definite choice for a visit in the Chobe environment.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chobe Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chobe Safari Lodge

Address: border of Chobe National Park | PO Box 10, Kasane, Botswana
Location: Botswana > North-West District > Kasane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kasane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Chobe Safari Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Also Known As:
Chobe Safari Hotel Kasane
Chobe Safari Kasane

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chobe Safari Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.