We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chobe boulders” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chobe Safari Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kasane
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chobe Safari Lodge
Save
You added Chobe Safari Lodge to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   border of Chobe National Park | PO Box 10, Kasane, Botswana   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kasane
Perth, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Chobe boulders”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

This was our guide's description of hippos and is apparently a local joke. Dodging mongooses (?mongeese) and monkeys on the lawns and taking notice of the signs outside our rondavel suite which advised one not to go over the wall because of the crocodiles and hippos just added to the exotic atmosphere. The staff were extremely helpful and went out of their way to make sure we had a delightful stay. The free WiFi wouldn't get up, sadly but that was the only glitch. The Lodge is ideally situated on the Chobe River, just on the edge of Kasane and our accommodation and meals were excellent.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

594 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    194
    260
    93
    29
    18
See reviews for
129
236
29
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Co.Kildare Ireland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

What a disappointment! Overpriced with staff who appear disinterested and have no idea of the meaning of service. I stayed with my cousin for three nights and vowed never to return. To be fair the management are to blame rather than the staff as the training was painfully obviously absent. Where do I start? Counter staff were friendly and welcoming on check in, however when I couldn't connect to wifi....that was a different story. I was told the IT person was off, they didn't know and stopped conversation averting their eyes from me and busied themselves with heads lowered. when he would be back? ...best advise keep checking back!! Second evening IT person turned up only after i suggested maybe they could phone him as they just said wasn't he but somewhere in the building! He was most helpful but wifi worked only for ten minutes!. We were told by dinner staff you need to come to table, give your drinks order, room number then choose food from buffet. Food was always delicious. I ordered a glass of wine and then spent 35 minutes trying to attract attention for a refill". And so it went on for all three days. Staff attended more to larger tables on each night. Only when we rose from our table to take coffee away from table did a waitress come, literally running, shouting after us....she assumed we were leaving without signing for meal...this was the only way a waitresses' attention could be summoned. As seen in photos rooms were poor, floors dirty, botched paint job in shower, peeling paint over shower tiles, dirt on tiles, no wardrobe, no storage for one person never mind two! Some with cleaning staff who were very pleasant and agreed with our complaints. They asked me would I talk to their manager because the manager wouldn't listen to them telling s/he that they couldn't clean the floor! I declined because if the manager wouldn't listen to them s/he was unlikely to listen to a transient guest. The price of room was excessive for the return. On the positive side the location is wonderful. The river cruise was fantastic, the amount if wildlife is well worth seeing and the Guides were knowledgable and good company. We couldn't wait to leave....could not recommend this place! They appeared to work on some sort of "pack 'em in don't worry about the service or rooms as most will not be returning" policy. Have photos but regrettably nowhere here to post them!! ....I wonder why? Will be trying to source how to contact the brothers who own this place, whose names I was given by staff to let them see photos and explain how they can charge their prices for such a low standard of return to guest.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaborone, Botswana
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

One of the first lodges in Botswana, and the first lodge in Kasane, Chobe Safari Lodge still sets the mark for best value when visiting Chobe National Park outside Kasane, in Northern Botswana. Situated immediately downstream from Chobe National Park, you can view herds of Cape buffalo and elephants, at a distance, while seated at the outside restaurant and bar only feet from the Chobe river. The rooms are clean and ample, and less expensive than any comparable property in the area. The restaurant buffet is good, but not the best deal unless you are famished. You should try it once however, as it offers many game dishes not often seen elsewhere. Between 2:00 and 5:00pm, and I believe between 10:30am and 12:30pm, the a la carte menu is available with well prepared food for a modest price. Check on the hours when you arrive as it is not well advertised. Prices vary from about USD $3.00 for a sandwich to $8.00 for a meal. When visiting, which I have done on more occasions than I can remember, I rarely opt for the buffet meals. The bar has a wide variety of choices, with prices way below those charged in other establishments with a beer costing about USD $2.50. River cruises are available at a reasonable price leaving from the restaurant area, for guests and non-guests alike. Game drives and other activities are also available from the activities office between the restaurant and bar area. Since visiting CSL for the first time in 1983, when it was much more modest than it is today, the feeling I have when leaving has always been the same: I'll be back again soon.

Room Tip: River rooms come either as a double, with a big king size bed, or as a family room with a side room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hopkinton, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
651 reviews 651 reviews
79 hotel reviews
Reviews in 139 cities Reviews in 139 cities
638 helpful votes 638 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

This is a very large hotel and seems to be the center of activity as they have a prime position at the start of Chobe and right on the Chobe River. We enjoyed a nice buffet lunch as the hotel was used as a base for our morning River Safari and our afternoon Land Safari. This place is great if you want a reasonable priced hotel in Chobe with all of the activities you want right there... so convenient. Nice for families. They need to refurbish their furniture in the lobby... sofas have little support they are so old.

If you desire a place that's more high end... or a more intimate experience look elsewhere... but prepare to pay a lot more for it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monrovia, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

The lodge is a fancy place and right on the river but, as a family of three, we were required to book two rooms. Our room was spacious and had four beds (a double bed and two bunk beds) but, because our child is over 18, he was not allowed to sleep in the bunk bed or stay in the room with us.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
russia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Good starting point for trips into the Chobe National Park. The nearest town (Kasane) can be reached by taxi in a few minutes. a shopping center is next to the lodge. The staff is generally friendly and competent.

Room Tip: Upper floors are louder
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

My wife and I stayed at Chobe Safari Lodge for a couple of nights at the end of an extended self-drive and really enjoyed the experience. Staff were certainly friendly and helpful. The location within Kasane is good (but know you really are in town). The lodge offers a great number of activity options (group sizes in some cases are quite large though). Our only heads-up for travellers would be that some of the rooms (e.g. chalets) are in need of some updating though the main lodge building is new and very nice, and that cost of meals (not included in our room price) are quite expensive while there are almost no options to eat out in Kasane. The lodge is in a good location to facilitate self-drive or guided excursions into Chobe Park (which is outstanding).

Room Tip: The chalets are a bit old and need of updating. Although they are in the premium locations, you may...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chobe Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chobe Safari Lodge

Address: border of Chobe National Park | PO Box 10, Kasane, Botswana
Location: Botswana > North-West District > Kasane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kasane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Chobe Safari Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Also Known As:
Chobe Safari Hotel Kasane
Chobe Safari Kasane

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chobe Safari Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.