We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“chobe safari lodge” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chobe Safari Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kasane
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chobe Safari Lodge
Save
You added Chobe Safari Lodge to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   border of Chobe National Park | PO Box 10, Kasane, Botswana   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kasane
New York, New York, United States
1 review
“chobe safari lodge”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Chobe safari lodge offers you the unique opportunity with luxury accommodation at Kasane river with Chobe National Park in Botswana. This lodge offers you excellent gateway location, Victoria falls so touch with our site.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

531 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    175
    233
    79
    26
    18
See reviews for
117
211
24
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Very disappointed at the overall experience of this Lodge. It is very expensive in relation to the guest experience. The food is POOR. The service on the pool deck is slow, I had to call the waiter to service us drinks. Wi-Fi did not work the entire time we were at the Lodge, this was one of the attractions. Motor boats go up and down the river the entire day, not a peaceful moment to relax. Staff are friendly when you interact with them. Will not be back.

Room Tip: Don't take a room on the river, speed boats all day up and down
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

We spent two nights here and enjoyed both the rondaval's and the second night a room in the two story newer accomodation. The Rondavals are right on the Chobe/Zambezi river and have spectacular view right from your front door. The two story complex is a litle farther away from the river and you have a partial river view. The food at the main resort was very good and the selection was very great, from sea food, to local beef, to many salads and deserts. We took a day trip to Victoria Falls and enjoyed our day their also. Transportation to the Falls is quite easy to arrainge at the Lodge office. The lodge is remote but very close to Kasane town for services like banking, fuel, restaurants, stores etc.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boone, North Carolina
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Our family really enjoyed our time here. Compared to other safari experiences, we thought the boat trips on the river made this place special - and we got to see animals and particularly birds that we didn't see anywhere else. Accommodations were excellent and the buffet dinners were extraordinary. I would highly recommend this experience to anyone. My only suggestion would be to make sure you are scheduled for the small boats - the big boats (that go out when there is a crowd) are loud and noisy and you don't get nearly the same experience. We talked to the scheduling people and they were very accommodating, so don't be afraid to ask if you want to go out later or at a different time.
Final advice - pack warm clothes if you go in June - we FROZE on the morning drives - other places provided hot water bottles that made all the difference....take your own if you go in their winter - it really does help!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgefield Park, New Jersey
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

This was our first trip to Botswana and Chobe. At first, we were a bit surprised to find the lodge set at the end of the town of Kasane rather than surrounded by Chobe Game Park, but this turned out to be a positive. The town is pleasant and offers markets, Internet cares and a handy Bureau de Change.

The lodge itself is impressive, built entirely of local wood. Authentic, if you will, but it won't disappoint anyone who has been on the Disneyland Jungle Cruise either.

The public areas were excellent, though the pool, in July, was too cold for swimming. Would suggest to the Lodge to think about adding adding an outdoor Jacuzzi/Hot Tub for the winter months.

The restaurant was quite good, serving gigantic buffets at all meals. We also took a dinner cruise that was very enjoyable.

The Lodge has an activity center where we arranged a game cruise and a game drive, both well done and good value. The cruise through the marsh was an absolute highlight. Elephants, hippos, crocs and many other animals and birds abound. The boat provides a unique platform for viewing that is different from any other game safari we have been on.

Room Tip: Our Safari room was huge with a towering thatched roof ceiling at least fifty feet above our heads...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton, Florida
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

We stayed at Chobe Safari Lodge for two nights. It is located on the bank of the river so we enjoyed lovely views from our room. From the balcony we could watch the warthogs "mowing" the lawn, the monkeys playing in the trees, and the birds welcoming the day. The room could use updating but it was comfortable. Our one concern was the monkeys in the dining area.We witnessed them crawling over tables in an effort to snatch sugar packets, jam etc. We also watched a bird pecking away at the butter on the table next to ours. There was a worker who walked around with a sling shot to scare away the monkeys but we didn't notice it had any effect.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

We spent a night en route an extended overland trip from Zambia to South Africa - we were disappointed. The rooms were not value for money - hot and an incredibly noisy air conditioner that did not allow sleep (we hit the road at 4am as sleep was impossible). Setting is good but there's no control over the monkeys that raid your food while you eat on the verandah. Dinner is an expensive buffet, but there's no menu if you just want a simple al a carte. Far too touristy and catering for busses and hoards of people.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chobe Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chobe Safari Lodge

Address: border of Chobe National Park | PO Box 10, Kasane, Botswana
Location: Botswana > North-West District > Kasane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kasane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Chobe Safari Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Also Known As:
Chobe Safari Hotel Kasane
Chobe Safari Kasane

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chobe Safari Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.