We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing Hotel with Great Wild-life” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chobe Safari Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kasane
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chobe Safari Lodge
Save
You added Chobe Safari Lodge to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   border of Chobe National Park | PO Box 10, Kasane, Botswana   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kasane
Nashville, Tennessee
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Relaxing Hotel with Great Wild-life”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2008

Wonderful experience at the Chobe Safari Lodge! Great Food and nice staff. Rooms were comforable. Hotel has a wonderful boat cruise that provides an opportunity to see a number of wildlife animals. Don't pass up the village trip to Namibia. Guide was wonderful and really shared his culture with us.

Monkeys may drive you a little nuts but what can you expect!

  • Liked — Everything!
  • Disliked — n.a.
  • Stayed March 2008
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

536 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    236
    80
    26
    18
See reviews for
118
211
24
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal Quebec Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2008

What a thrill to have spent time in this lovely lodge. The rooms are beautiful & full of atmosphere. They are large with a large walk-in shower plus separate bath tub. The rooms are very clean & all have a small porch overlooking the grounds.Very good amenities including bug repellant.
The el fresco dining room is very nice & the food is very good. All staff I encountered were very pleasant.
Imagine the thrill of seeing a hippo in the yard just outside of our room. They come out of the water when it's dark & the one we saw was busy eating leaves from the trees.
There is a lovely pool area & the pool was very clean.
The grounds are lovely with walking paths
The monkeys can be a problem if you are eating by the pool area but there are guards there to chase them away. I saw one monkey try to take something off of a woman's plate.
There is a gift shop which seems to have sporatic hours but is a nice place to buy some memento's
We hated to have to leave there but our tour was moving on.
I would very highly recommend this hotel to anyone & I look forward to being able to retun ther one day

  • Liked — The setting & the room
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed March 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2008

I stayed at Chobe Safari Lodge in July and thought it was fantastic from the minute I got there. As it is bordering on Chobe National Park, there is so much wildlife to be seen, even from your bedroom's balcony. The safaris are excellent. The best by far is the sunset cruise. We also did a private early morning boat cruise for two, an afternoon boat cruise and morning safari. We did have another one planned, but we felt that we were all safaried out! The guides were quite informative. There wasn't much to do outside the hotel, but we were there essentially to go on safari. We also went on a trip with Chobe Safari Lodge to the Vic Falls which was super.

The restaurant's food was excellent. In the mornings they had a buffet, which would cater for anyone. At night they had another buffet, which had a wide range of foods. On the Saturday night we were there they had an African night and had lots traditional dishes and things like crocodile stew, game stew and osterich stir fry! They even had fabulous entertainment too!

I loved the bedrooms- they were very luxurious and tastefully decorated.

The staff were wonderful and friendly and even though there were tonnes of people staying there, we were constantly greeted by our first names.

I would definitely go back!

  • Liked — Closeness to wildlife
  • Disliked — Bathroom was open in bedroom
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arlington, va
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2007

Visted at the end of April - early May. Had a great time on the river cruise (took it twice). Also, had a great day safari drive as we saw a leopard hunt an impala. Posted pictures that show the room, which was very nice.

Just a tip - make sure you bring the correct adapter for your electronics, a clock, and a hairdryer as the room did not have these items.

  • Stayed April 2007
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2007

We really liked the room, very impressive, with private balcony. The buffet was good, very nice selection of local meats like Kudu, Impala and antelope. Great location, just minutes from the national park. Good selection of activities to choose from, I especially liked the private boat tour, you really got up close and personal with the abundant wildlife. We were fortunate and saw all of the Big 5 on our safaris. The only thing we didn't like about the land safaris is that once a lion or leopard was spotted, at least 10 safari jeeps surronded the animal but they seem to be used to all the attention.

  • Liked — the rooms were very nice, good location
  • Disliked — remodeling construction work being done made you not feel quite the Afican experience
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2007

Stayed at the Chobe Safari Lodge for three nights in May 2007.

Overall a three plus star hotel immediately adjacent to Chobe River and Chobe National Park.

Location: Location is great, immediately adjacent to Chobe River and Chobe National Park. You can walk to the other end of Kasane only takes about 10 minutes (1km). Choppies Market and First National Bank is only about 2 minutes from the lodge.

Noise: Stayed on the bottom floor and could hear guest above walking around and turning on/off water faucet. Chobe Safari Lodge is also remodeling (May 2007 through October 2007) and construction noise is very annoying at times.

Service: Service is okay, but sometimes seems disorganized at times. At the restaurant food servers are everywhere. Rooms are made up twice daily.

Food: Breakfast buffet and dinner buffet are the same daily and a little bland

Electricity: Adapter is “D.”

Bathroom: There is a separate bathtub and shower but no partition between the bedroom and bath areas.

Laundry: Reasonable.

In –room Security: In-room safe.

Outside-hotel Security: There is one guard at all entrance limiting vehicle entrance.

Money: First National Bank with 2 ATMs is only about 2 minutes from the lodge. The lodge will also exchange money but rates are not great.

  • Liked — Close to Chobe National Park
  • Disliked — Service at the front desk needs to be more organized
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
currently Cape Town
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2007

Crossed border from Vic Falls in Zimbabwe and after the run down appearance of Zim ,Botswana seemed quite up market (Its all relative!!) It takes about one and a half hours from VF airport.
CSL is ideally located on the Chobe River and is well established and well used. We stayed 2 nights in a Safari Room which are the superior rooms, very new and pretty good spec.
Breakfast was a buffet which was ok whilst the evening meal was also a buffet but outside near the pool- a beautiful location overlooking the river. The evening buffet was very good with freshly cooked BBQ, roasts, stews and stir fry as well as the usual salads, cold meats, fruit soups, bread and deserts. drinks were not included but reasonably priced. (There is also a supermarket just outside the lodge on the main street if you wanted to stock up). It is easy and safe to walk along the main street in Kasane where there are several small craft and art shops plus a decent coffee shop as well as Spar, Choppies supermarket, internet cafes and several banks. Although it says that you will need Pula (Botswana currency) lots of places will accept or change US $ and SA Rand.The Botswanan people were really friendly and always greeted you as you walked along the street .
The CSL organises many reasonably priced trips. In our package we had 2 river cruises and one game drive included.
The river cruise from 3.30 - 6pm was excellent and many animals were easily seen on the river banks and we got very close to elephants, hippos, crocodiles, baboons, water buffalo, kudu and impala. Bird life was also excellent.
The game drive 6- 9 am. saw all of the above plus giraffes and lions who were tracking impala.
Because the river was quite high there were warnings about crocs and hippos in the lodge grounds. From the deck of our safari room we had visits from banded mongooses, warthogs and velvet monkeys .
Weather at this time of year (1st-3rd May 2007) was superb with clear skies and temps around 30 celsius. No mosquitoes either!!

  • Liked — safari room
  • Disliked — breakfast organisation
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chobe Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chobe Safari Lodge

Address: border of Chobe National Park | PO Box 10, Kasane, Botswana
Location: Botswana > North-West District > Kasane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kasane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Chobe Safari Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Also Known As:
Chobe Safari Hotel Kasane
Chobe Safari Kasane

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chobe Safari Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.