We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“From good to bad” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Senyati Safari Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kasane
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Senyati Safari Camp
Save
You added Senyati Safari Camp to your Saves list
Nata Kazangula Road, 8km From Kazangula | 10 Km From Chobe National Park and 10km from Kasane, Kasane, Botswana   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 16 Specialty Lodging in Kasane
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Centurion, Gauteng, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“From good to bad”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Things have gone badly wrong since our last trip in December to now. The camp sites and accommodation is still very good as well as the bar and watering hole but the admin side has gone to the dumps. Nothing was as we booked it and our group was scattered all over the camp. The staff were very unfriendly and rude at times. They have no proof of payments and bookings in the book were chopped and changed while we were standing there. Senyati will def not see us again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    28
    12
    9
    6
See reviews for
42
47
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We spent 3 nights here from 25th September.
The good. Lovely new spacious, clean Chalets. Water cooler AC units and Fans. Kitchen fully kitted out with fridge/freezer, crockery, cutlery etc. Fabulous on-suite bathrooms.
Ablutions per camp site with hot and cold water, clean shower with basin and separate toilet.. Free firewood for the braai and donkey boilers. Mostly shaded, the trees are maintained and growing.
Nice elevated pub with great views of the watering hole.
Elephants and other animals all day and night, lovely sightings.

The bad. Administration
On arrival, we were 5 of our group of 10 vehicles.
We had e-mail confirmation that there would be 6 campsites for us to share, but this was not to be. There were 3 campsites set aside in the 'register' which was changed 3 times while we were trying to check in. On getting to the campsites, one was occupied by strangers that decided to stay an additional day.(we had to fend for ourselves in trying to make do to fit us all in)
Some of our group that had book Chalets were told there were now none for them and they would have to upgrade to bigger units, at additional cost.(which we did as there was no camping available anyway, but not what one would expect after being given confirmed bookings, one of our party had to move chalets on the last night)
Payment collections was a shambles, we had to provide our own proof of payment, and then confirm multiple times that we had paid the balance.

All in all a great experience(ignoring the admin) Be prepared for bookings to be wrong/missing/changed and have patience to get things sorted.

Room Tip: try to get a chalet close to the water hole, the view from most camp sites is blocked by the chalets...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paarl, South Africa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We just finished a camping trip across Botswana. We spent some nights that made Senyati look like luxury. It is nice to sometimes still have power, hot water and showers and see such great sightings as we did at Senyati. We enjoyed it very much here and would come back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Be careful with your expectations based on all excellent reviews: these come from the unique experience and atmosphere offers, not from overwhelming high-end luxury: the good thing is that that doesn't matter! The campsite is a lovely place with nicely decorated bathrooms, each campsite has it's own including a convenient veranda and fire pit. The best thing is the wildlife, you will shoot your best elephant & buffalo pictures here, as you can come till 10m (bar), 3m (underground viewpoint) only! It's self-catering so take care of enough food, further you can arrive over the 4x4 road or you can take the detour for the normal cars; senyati is recommended to sign this a little bett, because only the 4x4 road is well signed currently. Great place with lovely owners!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

The lit waterhole at Senyati was created by the owner, it now attracts large groups of elephant at night, sometimes buffalo and occasionally other species. You can very occasionally be disappointed though! (that's wildlife).
The campsite is well thought out, the ablutions are clean, the bar area is raised above the waterhole to give good viewing. the owners are friendly and on-site. There is good free wifi.
The cost of camping is high (300pula/night for 2 people and apparently it's going up) though.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

What an amazing place to be so close to so many elephants! Their chalets are beautifully furnished and fully equipped. The staff are very friendly and helpful. This place is a hidden Gem! Please note you will need a 4 x 4 to get there.Will come back again

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

If you like elephants then I would highly recommend staying here! The elephants come to the waterhole late evening to drink from the fresh spring the owner has drilled. It gives a great opportunity to watch elephants very close up with their handy viewing platform with its well stocked bar! We were at a camping spot on the far right of the campsite so very close to where many elephants approached from, had one less that 10 metres from our braai site, it was nice to have the late night security guard at that point though the elephants never seemed interested in us at all, just in the trees and water! Facilities are great with a handy outdoor sink for washing up and a warm shower and toilet all under cover with a concrete floor. Definitely need to beware of the baboons though, turn your back for a minute and they will be in your car looking for food (I speak from experience!) Only spent one night there so didnt do any of the trips and didnt really get chance to know the staff so cant comment there but I would definitely recommend staying here, great to be up close and personal with the local wildlife with great facilities and a nice quiet location tucked away from the main Kazangula strip.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Senyati Safari Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Senyati Safari Camp

Address: Nata Kazangula Road, 8km From Kazangula | 10 Km From Chobe National Park and 10km from Kasane, Kasane, Botswana
Location: Botswana > North-West District > Kasane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 16 Specialty Lodging in Kasane
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Senyati offers Self-catering as well as camping. All campsites have private ablution blocks, 220V electric points, cooking areas and private braai areas. All campsites also have hot water. Free Wifi internet and free entrance to the elephant hide for all guests at Senyati. Our chalets are fully equipped with stove, microwave, fridge, crockery, cutlery, mosquito nets and much more. Senyati is located around a waterhole which is lit all night long...A small Serengeti. While sipping sundowners at the bar "with the best view in the world" you will be entertained by a small Serengeti...Hundreds of elephant, giraffe, zebra, of buffalo, warthogs, roan antelope, sable and by campfire or in your bed you will have a lullaby of the cry of the hyena, the bark of the jackal and the roars of the lion... Senyati will also arrange for Vic Falls Transfers and activities, airport transfers, safari drives and much more. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Senyati Safari Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.