We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very interesting” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Biocentro Guembe Mariposario

Biocentro Guembe Mariposario
Km. 5 Camino a Porongo | Zona Del Urubo, Santa Cruz, Bolivia
+591 3370070
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 35 things to do in Santa Cruz
Attraction details
Wichita, Kansas
Top Contributor
239 reviews 239 reviews
76 attraction reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Very interesting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

I do not like butterflies very much but this place was very close to my hotel, Camino Real, so I decided to visit it ... and I was really, really pleased. When you enter the place, you immerse in to rain forest.
Place is well designed and well maintained.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    237
    114
    18
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Cruz, Bolivia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Birds!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Check out the aviary and the butterfly cages. It's a nice place to spend the day if you want to enjoy "nature" and sit by a pool, maybe paddle around in a canoe.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gunnison, Colorado
Top Contributor
175 reviews 175 reviews
49 attraction reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
179 helpful votes 179 helpful votes
“A little cheesy but great for Kidd”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

The property has a nice aviary, an ok butterfly cage, and an interesting group of tortoises. The restaurant is ok and the pools refreshing and interesting. Best for adults,hoping to entertain kids for a day.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, Bolivia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Butterflies, Bees, Birds and Biodiversity”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Beautiful semi jungle with a real biodiversity including an enormous aviary with Parrots, Peacocks and Toucans, all rescued from people ignorant enough to try to keep wild birds as pets. The butterfly house is small but that tends to concentrate the butterflies together so that they are easy to see. There is a small display of 'Lady Bees', very tiny and nesting in hollow ceramic castings of frogs. In addition to all this nature there is a reasonable restaurant (buffet lunch included in the entry price), swimming pools, a boating / fishing lake and also accommodation.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Bumpy road to birds and butterflies”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Well, I'll say this much: güembé is a pretty interesting place to visit and it had better be, because the road to getting there - the literal 'road' - is abominable!! Hopefully, that is now a 'was abominable', but. . . add in a taxi with no shocks and almost no transmission, and let's just say I needed the calm and semi-natural beauty that is güembé (yeah, I don't get the umlaut or the accent or the spelling either!)
OK, so the place: yeah, it's is a little weird like the guidebooks say. Man-made pools and aviary and butterfly cage and resort all rolled into one. It also says it's a great place for people watching which was not true the very gray, slightly rainy day I visited this past July. But I can see how this would get crowded on a sunny weekend.
The highlight was definitely the large, semi-Jurassic Park-like aviary (aviario/mirador). (I did come face to face with a sloth hanging on a branch over the foot path on the way in. . . cool!) This enclosed but large cage/netted in area features numerous and loud parrots, many that you can see very close up. Plus toucans, peacocks, ducks and many other birds I didn't recognize. The parrots and toucans are gorgeous. There is also a spiral staircase that takes you up and above the netting to an observation deck with great views of the park and all the way back to downtown Santa Cruz.
The butterfly cage (mariposario) is a little underwhelming, but a little patience and you will see quite a few colorful butterflies about. Many are quite small, so you have to really look, but we were treated to some beautiful neon blue flits and flights of fancy of the larger butterflies as well.
The 'orquideario' is probably very beautiful when the orchids are in bloom, which unfortunately, they are not in July.
Do make sure to make it all the way back to the Island of Monkeys (Isla de Monos) where there are, of course, monkeys!!! Large and small. Entertaining to watch, even from a safe distance.
This place is also and eco-resort with cabins and swimming pools and kayaks. . . might be fun on a nicer day.
There are also a couple of museum rooms that I did not spend a lot of time in, but looked to be somewhat interesting and informative.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Biocentro Guembe Mariposario also viewed

Santa Cruz, Santa Cruz Department
Santa Cruz, Santa Cruz Department
 
Santa Cruz, Santa Cruz Department
Santa Cruz, Santa Cruz Department
 

Been to Biocentro Guembe Mariposario? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Biocentro Guembe Mariposario, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.