We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only stay here if you can get a good deal!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Mirador

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Copacabana
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Mirador
Save
You added Hotel Mirador to your Saves list
Av. Busch esq. Costanera, Copacabana, Bolivia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Copacabana
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Only stay here if you can get a good deal!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

We stayed here about a week ago and paid 45 bolivianos each for a matrimonial with a private bathroom. I wouldn't pay any more, definitely not worth it. Rooms were huge and overlook the lake but they are freezing cold so make sure you have lots of warm clothes. Our shower didn't have hot water, just lukewarm but with no water pressure so it was almost pointless showering. Staff were really rude and inappropriate though, when we first arrived a guy and girl were wresting/dry humping behind the reception desk and they didn't want a bar of us. Breakfast was great though- real coffee, breads and jams, fresh fruit and fresh juice.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    36
    45
    29
    23
See reviews for
12
56
17
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Marsais-Sainte-Radégonde, Pays de la Loire, France
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

This hotel has large rooms overlooking the lake. On the surface it is most impressive.

However, dig a little and things start to go wrong. Customer service is almost non existent. The front desk is often not occupied, and if it is then by someone who can't help and who has to shout down into the dining room to attract someone who can. Excuse me, is this a tramp steamer or a hotel?

We only stayed for 2 nights, thank goodness, but had no water for much of that time. Internet connection was poor and the router was switched off over night - bad luck if you got up before the staff in order steal a march on the day (which is not difficult since the staff didn't start to appear until what seemed to me very late).

The front door was locked and unattended overnight. You CAN get out for an early morning run, but don't close the door behind you or you won't be able to get back in!

The sheets were too small for the bed. I'm told this is not unusual in South America, but this is the only time we experienced it. Our room had 2 double beds (with single sheets), so we stole the sheets off the second bed and put 2 pairs on the first bed, sideways. That worked. Thankfully the hotel service was so bad that no-one came to remake our bed, clean or tidy our room during the day so our "adaptation" lasted our stay.

Frankly, I'm sure you can find a better place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Copacabana hotels

Lima, Peru
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

I am surprised to see this hotel at place number 7 on trip advisor. Maybe too many people who travelled via Copacabana from Peru have been spoiled by peruvian hospitality and service. Bolivia is different!!
We had a room exactly like in the picture. Spacious, warm from the sun, clean, cable TV with HBO. There was always hot water, breakfast was (despite all the bad reviews) a lot better than other hostels/hotels/hospedajes.
A double room for 40bol a night for two people (weekends 50), all rooms got huge windows with beautiful view over lake titicaca, breakfast included and for what it is it is pretty good: banana + 2 types of melon, hot water, coffee, tea, milk, bread, butter jam (and as much as you want of all of that) We have been to places where you get bread butter jam and tea and stay in a 6 bed dorm and no hot water for 56bol per night - so those folks who wrote that this places was horrible might need to check their list of expectations and check with other hostels throughout Bolivia - can't think of a place for 40bol a night that clean and that filling of a breakfast. Copacabana out of season is a lame place - yes the doors of hotels close early - but that you could have asked up front. A little asking does not hurt and it is only for your own safety that they shut the gates at like 10pm. Same applies for towels and toilet paper - you gotta ask for everything. Admittedly, the bathroom was very simple but we stayed here for 6 nights - as we both got ill with the flu and there are far worse places out there to get sick at. There are better, there are worse - our experience was great!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valras-Plage, France
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Admittedly, the whole of Copacabana, Bolivia, has scarred me. Our coach driver abandoned us in the Andes at night, so we had to get on a random boat across the lake, as it slowly began to sink and was pouring with rain. As we pulled up on the beach, we just ran to the nearest hotel hoping there would be rooms!

The Mirador did have lots of rooms, and the day after I realised why!

Firstly, it is like going back in time. If you've been to the Tower of Terror at Disneyland, you can probably relate to the decor and atmosphere. The staff were rude and very glum and they locked the front door at 10.30pm, which we were not aware of on the first night!

Additionally, the rooms are very simple. The bed was similar to a plank of wood and there was no hot water... I had the coldest shower I have ever had in my life.

The one positive is the general cleanliness, I would have expected a cockroach or two but didn't have anything to moan about in that department!

It wasn't pricy, however I think the price paid was still too much for this dated, and somewhat freaky, hotel on the beach.

(If it had been nice weather my review may have been less negative, as from other reviews I see the view from the hotel was apparently good!)

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

Hotel is located in a lovely position in front of Lake Titicaca. The place seems unfinished and building is shabby. The rooms were barely acceptable and the bathroom smelt of dank and mold. Shower was freezing cold however the hand basin had hot water. I decided to soap up and use the bathroom as a shower unit by splashing water from the faucet in the hand basin all over me and the bathroom. I didn't care !!
We hadn't had a shower for 2 days due travelling.
Breakfast was very poor. Bread rolls, awful coffee and overripe bananas. Wifi was available in the foyer however slow and sometimes non existent.
This place really ticked me off. I will say that the Isla de Sol is magnificent.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

This is the first review I have ever written and I have stayed in many hotels and hostels all over the world but this hotel is so bad I thought it was necessary.

The rooms were filthy with mould hanging from the ceiling so if you have asthma this hotel is definately not for you.

The doors close at 12.30am which sounds quite late but the bars in Copacabana dont really liven up until 11pm so if you stay here you will not be able to experience this. It doesn't seem to matter if you are already outside the hotel and arrive back after 12.30am you will not be allowed back in! (there are no signs stating this rule so you just have to find this out by chance).

The staff behind the reception desk are very unhelpful. I tried to speak to the gentleman behind the desk at 10.30pm (well before lock down) and had to persuad him to stand up out of his sleeping bag on the floor, he grunted and groaned and certainly did not want to speak to me or answer any questions I had. This hotel feels like a prison!

I certinaly would not have chosen to stay here however I booked through a travel agency in La Paz and did not have a choice in the matter...I will not be booking my travel and accommodation like this again.

Point is...DO NOT STAY HERE, you will regret it!

Room Tip: Do not stay here so no reason to choose a good room (good rooms do not exist)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concepcion, Chile
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

As I read previous reviews, I wonder if one of the main problems is that the name is listed as a Hotel, when in reality this is a Hostel. When you walk into it, you can see that 50 years ago this was probably a rather ritzy hotel. Today it is rather run down and caters mostly to foreign twenty-something backpackers. It is relatively cheap which makes it a good value. I found it to be clean and comfortable. It had hot water but it did splash everywhere. Wi-fi service was bad. Staff was odd... not necessarily rude, but not very into taking care of the guests.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Mirador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mirador

Address: Av. Busch esq. Costanera, Copacabana, Bolivia
Location: Bolivia > La Paz Department > Copacabana
Amenities:
Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Copacabana
Number of rooms: 30
Also Known As:
Mirador Hotel Copacabana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Mirador, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.