We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy and affordable, with amazing views” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Las Olas

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Copacabana
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Las Olas
Save
You added Las Olas to your Saves list
Calle Michel Perez 1-3, Copacabana, Bolivia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Copacabana
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Cozy and affordable, with amazing views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Las Olas is an amazing hotel that will make the budget traveler feel like she is in a resort! The views, hammocks out on the semi-private patio area, tea and water heater in the room, and fine artistic details on the room make Las Olas a gem to stay in. The climb up all the stairs is totally worth it!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    222
    43
    9
    1
    5
See reviews for
28
162
16
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

i saw a lot of places in the world, but what Martin (the owner) of las olas did at copacabanna is just amazing!!
a perfekt place to be and relax after travelling through Bolivia or Peru.
The view is perfekt and the individuel style of each suite he designeg by himself is just fantastic..
worth every dollar you spend there and you are even able to stay with three of you in most of the two floor bungalows, with kitchen, open fire place, hammoks and deckchairs in front of the houses and did i mentioned the perfekt view on the beautiful titicaca lake from the bed after waking up
Go for it and enjoy that invidiual stay and of course life..
Thanks for everything!

Room Tip: we stayed in room number 2, but all of them are perfekt!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

This was a charming place - a little more expensive than most other Bolivian hostals but well worth it. Each room is set up as a separate apartment. Each is uniquely designed, some with hammocks. Staff was very helpful and would set a cozy fire for us at night for warmth. There is a hot tub but you need a minimum number of people for them to fill it with water. Views of lake titcaca are amazing. I would also recommend dining at La Cupula restaurant next door. Be warned hotel is up a steep hill from main bus station. It can be quite a hike with your luggage.

Room Tip: Our room called "the turtle" had 4 hammocks (2 indoor and 2 outdoor). It was a great spot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

I turned up in evening and took a chance to see if there were any available rooms. I ended up getting a suite for only $US25 a night, at this time there is scope to negotiate. An absolute bargain as it had sweeping views of the lake a kitchen and and eco style bathroom. The room even had a fire place that made the room nice and cozy at night and the shower had hot water at all hours of the day. Wilst there is no restaurant, I just went next door to La Cupola which has an excellent restaurant with yummy food.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

We stayed in room 5 and had a wonderful time, completely unique with amazing views over the lake and of the sunset. Nice and warm and we only used the heater. Loved the indoor and outdoor hammocks. The only slight negative is that reception seems to be run by a range of different young guys who are a little surly! otherwise absolutely wonderful and worth the cost.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

We are traveling for 1 year and are staying at soooo many places and have NEVER been treated so rudely as this lousy place! We stayed there for 3 nights (and paid way too much for a room in Bolivia), then left our bags for 2 nights to go to Isla del Sol and had reservations for 3 more nights upon our return. They even told us the room number we would get, #18. When we returned, they said they were fully booked. They don't care if you have a reservation or not because all they care about is getting the rooms booked when they can. On the bright side, we found a room in town that was cleaner, had a better view, and provided internet that was more reliable for a fraction of the price (we were paying $38 per night for room number #11 at Los Olas and we paid only $9 at Colonial Hotel).

Room Tip: If you want a better value, go elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
184 reviews 184 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

This adorable hotel is located high above Lake Titicaca - this will give you an amazing view to wake up to. The grounds of this hotel are so stinkin' cute too! "Magical" is how I would describe it. The front desk is also very nice and helpful, he even started our fire for us (but be careful, don't start a fire if you have altitude sickness, you wouldn't want to share what little oxygen there is). There's an electrical heater in the room if needed as well. I also loved how there was a little kitchenette so we can boil water for drinking and brushing our teeth. We stayed in #2 and loved our unit. The wifi signal was also pretty good in our room. I would highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Las Olas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Olas

Address: Calle Michel Perez 1-3, Copacabana, Bolivia
Location: Bolivia > La Paz Department > Copacabana
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Copacabana
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Las Olas Copacabana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Las Olas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.