We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beeyoutiful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lake Titicaca

Lake Titicaca
Copacabana, Bolivia
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 8 attractions in Copacabana
Type: Bodies of Water, Beaches
Activities: Kayaking
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: This icy high-altitude lake is the legendary birthplace of the Inca civilization, and is also believed to hold precious Inca treasure. When Jacques Cousteau explored the lake for treasure, he discovered instead a large, colorful deep-water frog.
Bondi, Australia
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Beeyoutiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

A huge and picturesque lake - we stayed in Puno for 5 nights and Copacabana for 2 weeks as well as did the Uros & Amantani overnight stay.

The lake is really beautiful, and in some places sadly, polluted due to the towns (like Copacabana) so still pretty but a little smelly!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    239
    75
    13
    1
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful, but a long way for one day”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

We spent just a day heading to sun island from la Paz. We'd recommend spending at least a night if you can. Great vibe, cool shops and lovely food.
Easy to access from la Paz with regular tourist buses, we did an organised tour - it took a few days to organise so get onto it as early as you can

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Bolivian side of the lake is worth the extra effort (and money)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Even though it is a hassle to get across the border from Peru into Bolivia, it is worth it. Copacabana is the starting point for the boat ride and it is an interesting place in its own right. Look out for the blessing of the cars and vans, there is a lot of beer involved as well as vehicles decorated with fresh flowers. The ride to Isla del Sol is very scenic with the incredibly blue lake ringed by enormous snowcapped mountains.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billingshurst, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“So big!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

I did not realise just how big the lake is, it's hugh! We went by hydrofoil first to the sun island, where we had a lovely lunch with fish from the lake, we then went to the moon island and then to a floating island, a real lovely experience, we were very lucky with the weather, with bright sunshine and blue sky, seeing the snow capped mountains in the distance was a bonus.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston MA
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
34 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“One of great views of world”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

No matter where you are, as long as you are away from large towns, the views are incredible. It is like having the greatest views in Switzerland to yourself. Go before it gets spoiled by stupid five story buildings and garbage. With a little urban planing this could be one of the greatest destinations in world. Right now stay away from anything urban....

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lake Titicaca also viewed

Copacabana, La Paz Department
Peru, South America
 
Copacabana, La Paz Department
Copacabana, La Paz Department
 

Been to Lake Titicaca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lake Titicaca, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Lake Titicaca to your Saves list