We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Resort Stay for the Price of a Hotel Room” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Rosario Lago Titicaca

Save Saved
You added Hotel Rosario Lago Titicaca to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Rosario Lago Titicaca
Rigoberto Paredes and Av. Costanera, Copacabana, Bolivia (Formerly Hotel Rosario Lago Titicaca)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 12 hotels in Copacabana
Denver, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A Resort Stay for the Price of a Hotel Room”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2009

It was a very enjoyable place to stay in Copacabana. While cheaper places can be found the value of the hotel showed in its service, clean rooms and relaxing courtyard overlooking the lake. Like its sister hotel in La Paz the attention to every detail provided us a warm and inviting place to stay. Several PCs and wireless access were part of the price. It felt more like we were staying at a resort instead of a hotel. Additionally, the restaurant was on of the best we experienced during our three weeks in Bolivia. Since the hotel is so close to the lake don’t miss the chance to try the fish.

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

308 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    210
    81
    11
    1
    5
See reviews for
50
137
26
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
424 reviews 424 reviews
299 hotel reviews
Reviews in 312 cities Reviews in 312 cities
356 helpful votes 356 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2009

We were never able to see were the Cupula was, so we can´t compare to that one. Overall I think is the best. The restaurant simply looked better than any other. They are adding rooms and will expand the rooms at a latter date. We took the compleat package from the hotel Rosario in La Paz. We paid a lot more but it was all included, meals, transportation, room and a guide just for us for the isla del Sol and the village tour.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karpathos Town (Pigadia), Greece
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2008

We booked Rosario del Lago and Rosario La Paz through Internet, directly. As I mentionned in my review of Rosario La Paz, you can catch the bus from there directly to Rosario copacabana. When booking I was asked for a desposit, something they did not ask in La Paz, which I paid via pay Pal as this was the only way to do it through the net.
Ok, when you leave copacabana Rio and you arrive in copacabana Bolivia a couple of weeks later you get a bit dipressed with the difference but eventually you learn to live with the idea of it!!! The hotel was very fine, so was the staff, though I found the ones in the capital more friendly... Breakfast was the same as in Rosario La Paz: Only one cheese, no salami or ham but TWO eggs no matter whether you order one! Restaurant prices we found too expensive so we did not have dinner there.
Much to our surpize wi-fi was not for free (unlike Rosario La Paz) which I did not find ok at all.... I also mentionned it to the reception staff that it was not fair to get this service for free in the brother hotel in La Paz and pay 10 bolivianos a day in copacabana.... The excuse they came up with was that internet in copacabana was much more expensive than in La Paz.... The hotel was near the "coast line"- ok dont expect a coast line a la copacabana Rio but it is still called a coast line, quite close to the point of departure to Isla del Sol and isla de la luna. My advice: Book directly at the "harbour" and dont do it through a local travel agent.... On departure we left directly from the hotel direction La Paz but the company was kind enough to drop us off to La Paz airport at an extra charge.

  • Liked — direct connection with rosario la paz, near the lake, amazing sun sets, hotel has ecological concern
  • Disliked — wi-fi on payment, no fridge in the room
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2008

We booked this hotel again based on the reviews on TA and the price. We were not disappointed. The staff couldnt have been better, giving us a full briefing on what there was to do in the area and day trips etc They even lent us there library copies of maps and books to look through. They even stored our luggage for us for free when we stayed overnight at the island del sol.

The room was lovely, well furnished in teak, with a mezzanine floor and a huge picture window overlooking the lake.

Breakfast was included and consisted of fruit, yoghurt. cereals, pancakes and french toast (eggs on request)

The location is literally a minute from the water edge and just around the corner is a row of waterfront cafes (the hotel restaurant does lunch and dinner but its pricey compared to local eaters and dont expect fine cuisine anywhere in Bolivia its basic and alot of trout)

The only downside, well two actually, you have to walk up a hill to get from the lake side into the hotel, which is a killer if you are suffering from altitude sickness and because the hotel is about 10 min walk from the main street i was a little concerned about walking back late at night (as all the cafes close about 9) from along the water front as there is no one around (nothing ever happened though)

  • Liked — The view
  • Disliked — A bit off the main action
  • Stayed November 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uppsala
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2008

Me and my husband loved our stay at the Hotel Rosario in Copacabana. The room was clean, the bed comfortable and the view of the lake stunning, especially at sunset! The restaurant at the hotel was way above average ( in bolivian standards) with a chocolate mouse to die for and a good breakfast buffet. The tour agency at the hotel might be on the more expensive side, but their full day trip to Isla del sol was great and with a really good guide.

  • Liked — the view and the comfortable room
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2008

You get what you pay for at the hotel Rosario del Lago. There are cheaper places but you do not get the stunning views and excellent service. The location is ideal is you want to wander down to the main high street where there are many bars and restaurants. We felt totally safe in the town and overall the town is a very, very cheap place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamakura, Japan
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2008

We had originally intended to stay at La Cupola instead of this property, but we had heard it was quite a hike to get there and since we were traveling with a lot of luggage we chose Hotel Rosario instead.

We're really glad we did.

This place was really fantastic. The service was excellent - they really went out of their way to help and even made some telephone calls for us as we don't speak Spanish, booked our next hotel for us and booked our bus for us. Our room was huge (it even had an upstairs loft!) and had a fabulous view of the lake, there were free coca teas and snacks available in the lobby, breakfast was great... really, it was hard to find any fault in the place. The only thing that comes to mind that was not perfect was the shower. The hot water was fine, but the shower head was not functioning 100%, so you got 1/2 water and 1/2 air. It wasn't a big issue though.

Our only regret was not having tried the restaurant. We had read that La Cupola had a great restaurant with some good vegetarian options so we ate our dinner there instead. This was a mistake. The service was slow, reluctant and forgetful, the food was inedible (we seriously left 90% of it) and to top it off we got food poisoning from the food we did eat (TIP: avoid salads whilst in Peru unless you're somewhere you really trust!).

Copacabana is a great little place - we wish we had have spent more than one night there, as you can just relax and unwind. In my mind Hotel Rosario is definitely where you want to be staying.

Stayed January 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Rosario Lago Titicaca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rosario Lago Titicaca

Address: Rigoberto Paredes and Av. Costanera, Copacabana, Bolivia (Formerly Hotel Rosario Lago Titicaca)
Phone Number:
Location: Bolivia > La Paz Department > Copacabana
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 hotels in Copacabana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently renovated, this hotels offers you quiet rooms, with amazing views of Titicaca Lake and its sunsets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Rosario Lago Titicaca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rosario Del Lago Hotel
Rosario Del Lago Copacabana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Rosario Lago Titicaca, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.