We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice views but the staff lie” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ecolodge Copacabana

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Ecolodge Copacabana to your Saves list
Ecolodge Copacabana
3.0 of 5 Cabin/Campground   |   Av Costanera s/n a orrillas del lago, Copacabana, Bolivia   |  
Hotel amenities
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Nice views but the staff lie”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

It was a nice quiet place to stay. But the staff lied to me constently. The said the resturant would be open at night but it was not. They said that would be at recption to call me a taxi untill 9pm. They were not. I find this is how alot of bolivian hospitality staff act. They just tell you what you want to hear, even if it is lies. The bed was comfie, but the room was frezzing and full of condensation. The shower was cold half of the time. The lighting was dreadfull it was so dark. I guess this is a good place if you want to escape the world.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    16
    6
    2
    3
See reviews for
4
15
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Curitiba
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

An amazing place with stunning views. Almost a farm. The staff is very friendly, the place is great as the wi-fi did not reach the room, but in the common areas was very good. The breakfast is very good and the short walk to the shores of Lake Titicaca is breathtaking. We became friends of staff. The clean is very good, and the silence is absolut.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

We stayed at this delightful ecolodge for 3 nights. It is very basic, no TV in rooms. Large bathrooms, but hit and miss with the showers. Nice walk from town, but need a torch at night. Also, you need to inform the owners if you are staying out late. We returned to a locked gate one night, not fun waiting in the pouring rain, but they did come open it for us. Breakfast was delicious, and huge. We couldn't eat it all. Cash only payments/1

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

Booked through booking.com, confirmed, but received email one day before arrival, saying there is no room available, asking me to find other places myself. Although they said sorry, I am not going to be happy. Had to find alternative hotel on the island, actually, there are quite a few nice ones with much cheaper price.

Even worse, I got a no-show email after returning, had to argue with booking.com again.

Experience on the island and Bolivia was great, just things are not dependable there;-)

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

We were given the larger suite upon checking in so had a huge 2 room cabin. The place was clean and basic. The roof in the kitchen / dining area leaked when it rained but that was ok. we had 2 bathrooms in this huge cabin but the shower wasnt hot in one of them (the en suite) so we hd to use the main bathroom for a decent shower.As everyone has mentioned the cabins are 20 minutes walk from town, an easy walk (although take torch at night as there are no 'street' lights. Staff/ owners were friendly and trust worthy (we left our bags for 3 days, free of charge, while we visited an Isle De Sol) If you are after a quite place out of town this is ideal.Breakfast was pretty good (for Bolivia)

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

The area is close enough to walk to Copa, but far enough to feel safe and seculed. Nice rooms, clean, with no TVs or radios. Price is very good, with good breakfast and service. The gotchas: they lock to gate to get back into the hotel at 1030p so be careful not to get locked out! And, they only take cash at checkout!!!

Room Tip: Take cash!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2012

We booked this place on the internet with the intention of spending 6 nights here as it was over Christmas and we wanted somewhere nice and relaxing to spend the festive season. When we arrived the woman working in reception was caring for 2 small children, we didnt take much notice as this is quite typical in cheaper hostels that we usually stay in. We were told the wifi code and that they had movies and beer available in reception. We thought this was great, exactly what we wanted for the next few days.

That evening we walked along the "very safe road" into the town and had dinner. We began walking back to the premises at 11pm. Luckily I had a pocket flashlight or otherwise we would have fallen into one of the many holes on the pitch dark dirt track that was the supposed "safe road".

After 20 minutes of a walk we arrived into the reception area to find the woman asleep on one of the sofas and her baby asleep on another (This I might add is the common area) so we said ok we would watch the movie tomorrow night and just surf the net in our room instead.

Unusually I couldnt seem to pick up the wifi which we were told worked everywhere, so I went back down to the reception to ask the woman what was happening. At this stage the woman was awake and when I asked her she responded "The interent is turned off from 11pm to 11am". I asked could she switch it on as the router was right beside her and she refused. I was a bit annoyed at this, as they had advertised wifi, but now she and the baby were awake we decided to watch a movie. This caused the woman to get very aggitated as perhaps she lives in the reception but whatever the reason she told us to "go to bed". We responded that we would be checking out the next morning as we expected a little better service for US$42 a night, she shrugged and just went back to her "bed".

The next morning when we went to pay for the one night we stayed, there were children screaming in the reception/common/staff sleeping area, I asked why they advertised alot of services they dont offer, she refused to answer. I asked her why she treated us like children, again she refused any response.

We left with a very sour taste in our mouth from her terrible service and manners and found a lovely room in the town for a third of the price that provided the friendly service that one normally encounters in Bolivia.

I would avoid this place unless you miss being bossed around by your mother.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ecolodge Copacabana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ecolodge Copacabana

Address: Av Costanera s/n a orrillas del lago, Copacabana, Bolivia
Location: Bolivia > La Paz Department > Copacabana
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Copacabana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ecolodge Copacabana 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HostelWorld, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ecolodge Copacabana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ecolodge Copacabana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.