We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Try the fondue!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Cupula Restaurant

La Cupula Restaurant
Michel Perez 1-3, Copacabana, Bolivia
(2) 862 2029
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 24 Restaurants in Copacabana
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Helena, Montana
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Try the fondue!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We went to this restaurant one night and had to go back. It was one of the best restaurants in the country. Even our kids loved it. The fish dishes were also delicious. The service was outstanding. we highly recommend it.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    48
    18
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Nice meal!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

We shared the trout fondue for two, which was very large (could easily feed 3 people). Service was good, and it's in a nice location with nice views.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Try elsewhere”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012 via mobile

Although the restaurant looks lovely the food unfortunately was cold. You have to walk down an unlit path to get here which made me feel very uncomfortable and although the service was good I ate better elsewhere in Copacabana.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Nice food but really slow.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

This is among the more expensive places to eat in Copacabana, but in my opinion the food is worth the price. The food is far better than most of the other meals we had in Peru or the Isla del Sol.

Be prepared to settle in though, it took us about an hour or so to get our food!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“just alright”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

To be honest, we didn't find too much inspiring food in Bolivia (Las Velas in Isla Del Sol was an exception!), and this restaurant wasn't outstanding by any measure. It was, however, the best food we found in Copacabana, so take that for what its worth. Good views of the town and good trout dishes. Ho hum.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Cupula Restaurant also viewed

Copacabana, La Paz Department
Copacabana, La Paz Department
 
Copacabana, La Paz Department
Copacabana, La Paz Department
 

Been to La Cupula Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Cupula Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.